Is alloy wheel recommended for frequent NSHW traveling?

Leo22

Tempting to change my stock wheel, but a bit (actually not a bit only) worry how the aftermarket wheel/rim can stand the long distance and Malaysia road condition.

Any input and sharing is appreciated. TIA

Most high performance cars come standard with alloy wheels and a lot of them drive very hard in Malaysia with no issues. So why the concern?

Al cheapo aftermarket wheel

i drove up to Cameron Highlands with my alcheapo rims bought from AL tyres......average speed about 130-150 and sometime drove at 170 when the steering wheel started to vibrate! No issues driving to and fro Port Dickson at 180 with stock rims when the car was new though! Was recommended to do high speed balancing but then again how often do we go beyond 130km/hr in sunny Singapore?

I see your point. It's not "alloy" but "cheapo" that matters.

Stop cheapening out on stuff that can kill you.

i drove up to Cameron Highlands with my alcheapo rims bought from AL tyres......average speed about 130-150 and sometime drove at 170 when the steering wheel started to vibrate! No issues driving to and fro Port Dickson at 180 with stock rims when the car was new though! Was recommended to do high speed balancing but then again how often do we go beyond 130km/hr in sunny Singapore?

I think the precise question that TS asking is whether the rims wohld crack if the driver miss seeing a pothole when travelling at high speed.

i read he said 'whether the rim can stand the long distance and road condition......nsh is okay le....if go by b rds or those kampung rds than it will be a problem...tio bo?

Thanks for adding in. Yes, this is one of the main concern. Worse still if hairline crack after pothole unnoticed then continue up high speed. Possible to happen to 'normal standard' rim?

And appreciate all input and replies here. May I ask much price range is considered acceptable? Is SSW, or MITaiwan brand ok? I am not looking into really cheapo counterfeit, but if really need those high end rims to do the job, I would just stay put with the stock steel wheel. Will be parked at public car park around , don't want high end brand to attract unnecessary attention.

i read he said 'whether the rim can stand the long distance and road condition......nsh is okay le....if go by b rds or those kampung rds than it will be a problem...tio bo?

Yup. Exactly. should have said HW plus rough roads plus HW plus highland plus....

Thanks

Thanks for adding in. Yes, this is one of the main concern. Worse still if hairline crack after pothole unnoticed then continue up high speed. Possible to happen to 'normal standard' rim?

And appreciate all input and replies here. May I ask much price range is considered acceptable? Is SSW, or MITaiwan brand ok? I am not looking into really cheapo counterfeit, but if really need those high end rims to do the job, I would just stay put with the stock steel wheel. Will be parked at public car park around , don't want high end brand to attract unnecessary attention.

Yup. Exactly. should have said HW plus rough roads plus HW plus highland plus....

Thanks

thought ssw is also made in taiwan? Better state what kind of rims you have in mind and your budget. There are so many out there....whats your size? I am sure many here can help you out. If budget is not a constraint you can check out those japanese ones.

SSW, inforged, advanti... and other alike, 17".

haven't checked the SG pricing yet, only checked out internet each around USD150-180, so I guess in SG should expect around $250 each? Brands at this price point is it reasonable to expect a good enough peroduct for my use?

Not for flashiness, just hope to get some improved comfort and better fc if possible.

Another noob question, I see all almost the same, besides price and specs to fit, design is just sui bo sui right?

Scare, don't change.

Dunno then scare.

That's why I started this thread. If most advice here is better not, then of course won't change.

Can give some brands considered as Al cheapo aftermarket to avoid?

If you're gonna change, spend some money on reputable brands like Rays, Enkei, BBS (list not exhaustive).

Kena pothole, rim may warp and steering will vibrate, but at least structural integrity is still not compromised.

Thanks

L O C K

N U T

the only advantage for changing from stock steel rims to alloy rims is just aesthetics

forget about lighter, better fc, better acceleration etc

That's untrue if hi quality forged wheel is used.

Hi quality forged wheel is lighter than stock wheel. Definitely better acceleration.

practically no advantage under real world driving conditions

definitely burn a big hole in the wallet