Which car?

jima

i would choose either the mazda 3 or toyota alphard

Hello ............ you no Bmw M5 no talk hor  :yuush:

2L NA with CVT matched to a Lexus RX sized body........I can only imagine the amount of cursing that will be squeezed out of me if I am to live with it on a daily basis.

The only reason why Harrier is doing so well as a PI car is because no one really get to test drive one before placing the deposit.

FC was surprisingly good ... very spacious , bigger than your GLC  :a-fun:

Who cares about FC?  :D

@Radx will just change car by the next tank.... :a-happy:

Hello ............ you no Bmw M5 no talk hor  :yuush:

FC was surprisingly good ... very spacious , bigger than your GLC  :a-fun:

Who cares about FC?  :D

@Radx will just change car by the next tank.... :a-happy:

He aiming that G40 liao lor ...........  <_< Unless he wan to change to a   :D

17223330985_0c860c6d37_b.jpg

Hello everyone, I am currently driving a Kia Forte and am interested in changing up my ride.

Having browse through SG Car Mart, there are plenty of choices...

Narrowed my choices to these cars with the depreciation of $11k - $13k:

• Merc A-class - A180
  • Toyota Harrier
  • Audi A3
  • Honda Civic Turbo
Any recommendations?
I would eliminate a class immediately. Terrible rear roof space and interior. Chassis is good but the engine in a180 really cmi.

A3 is better but the puny 3 cyl engine is less than desirable.

If you enjoy driving fast. Suv might take some time to get used to. In exchange you get space and comfort.

Civic turbo might be a more direct upgrade from your koup. Too bad no manual and ugly front and rear bumpers.

i would recommend you to try to levorg if you want a sporty ride.

i was also worried about being under powered...

PI also dont allow test drives lo.

can only depend on gut feel liao.

thats exactly how i eliminated the forester and x-trail based on FC and looks.  [:p]

i'll most probably go do a test drive on the a-class and a3.

see which one has the best butt feel.

anyone knows where can test harrier??

Have you ever considered a B180 instead?

Definitely in the price range of Harrier as these are the 2 final choice cars I considered before.

Much bigger than a A class, so the comfort is there. Quite practical too.

And best is the most entry level of the B180 is already very high specs compared to entry level A class.

Hello everyone, I am currently driving a Kia Forte and am interested in changing up my ride.

Having browse through SG Car Mart, there are plenty of choices...

Narrowed my choices to these cars with the depreciation of $11k - $13k:

• Merc A-class - A180
  • Toyota Harrier
  • Audi A3
  • Honda Civic Turbo
Any recommendations?
It's difficult to recommend.

Your choices range is quite wide across category.

It meant you have not made up your mind what car type you want how long you want to drive that car.

Base on your list.

I will choose Harrier.

If you are not satisfied with the performance of forte, then choose a TC/SC car.

Why didn't short list Volvo S60?

12k plus depreciation.

Can go for Polestar tuning if you want more spirited drive.

Got safety

Comfort and quite spacious

Sufficient power

Firm planted drive

No need go back wearnes for servicing have workshop than can do good servicing too.

But don't buy one infamous yellow one

Harrier comes with 3 mode of power like Eco , normal & power . If you drive with power mode easily hit 100km/h less than 10 Sec , Eco mode really worse than 1L car and normal mode just slightly better .

Totally agree, if you really interested on speed and power. Let me shared more:

Power mode can beat Maserati ghibli any time in 400m- (0 to 100km/h in 7sec), Range Rover Sports- (Rover gives up after 3km on CTE: top speed at 168km/h)

FC: Very high due to high speed

Normal mode can beat any 2.0/3.0 cars and suvs, such as jaguar XF, evoque, 320i, 520i, e class, ml class, Q50, Civic 2.0, accord 2.0 ivtec, 130i, i40 and camry(All never catch up)

FC: Like normal sedan 1.5

Eco mode can beat picanto, attrage, vezel, spark, elantra elite, avante, K3, K5, Sante Fe 2014, Nissan latio, Nissan teana, Nissan sylphy, Honda civic 1.6, jazz, fit, bus, taxi and motorbikes. (All kena potong safety)

FC: Like hybrid prius C- 16.8 KM/l

Whole harrier has been insulated with floor and door sound proof, super solid and steady.

Just my experience- don't arrow me...

Edited by Jq1988
  • Dislike 1

It's difficult to recommend.

Your choices range is quite wide across category.

It meant you have not made up your mind what car type you want how long you want to drive that car.

Base on your list.

I will choose Harrier.

If you are not satisfied with the performance of forte, then choose a TC/SC car.

Why didn't short list Volvo S60?

12k plus depreciation.

Can go for Polestar tuning if you want more spirited drive.

Got safety

Comfort and quite spacious

Sufficient power

Firm planted drive

No need go back wearnes for servicing have workshop than can do good servicing too.

But don't buy one infamous yellow one

Volvo will have higher depreciation due to high maintenance cost .

I was looking at maz3 hatchback too. Dont understand why hb cost 3k more over sedan haha...

The rear headroom for the mz3 hb is rubbish.

Volvo will have higher depreciation due to high maintenance cost .

How can maintenance cost be affecting depreciation?

Servicing won't be much different.

If you pay $200 for 10k on Japanese Car, Paying $300 for every 15k is the same right?

Anyway TS has short listed MB , so he is prepared for higher servicing cost. Volvo parts don't cost more than MB.

Edited by Atonchia

How can maintenance cost be affecting depreciation?

Servicing won't be much different.

If you pay $200 for 10k on Japanese Car, Paying $300 for every 15k is the same right?

Anyway TS has short listed MB , so he is prepared for higher servicing cost. Volvo parts don't cost more than MB.

Maintenance cost involve repair . Con car will cost you more .

You are talking about the hybrid or 2.0NA version of Harrier? 

Rx200t already felt sluggish with it's humongous body (similar size as Harrier) despite it's 2.0L turbo engine. 

Looking at the official engine specs do not seem to suggest that it is a technologically advance engine from the toyata parts bin. 

And your experience is that you manage to "beat" many a 2.0L TC contis? 

Don't get me wrong, am not trying to dispute your experience but like to clarify and learn. 

ENGINE SPECIFICATIONS  –  2.0L CVT 2WD (151 HP)
Cylinders L4 Displacement 1986 cm3 Power 111 KW @ 6100 RPM
151 HP @ 6100 RPM
149 BHP @ 6100 RPM Torque 142 lb-ft @ 3800 RPM
193 Nm @ 3800 RPM Fuel System Direct Injection Fuel Gasoline

Totally agree, if you really interested on speed and power. Let me shared more:

Power mode can beat Maserati ghibli any time in 400m- (0 to 100km/h in 7sec), Range Rover Sports- (Rover gives up after 3km on CTE: top speed at 168km/h)

FC: Very high due to high speed

Normal mode can beat any 2.0/3.0 cars and suvs, such as jaguar XF, evoque, 320i, 520i, e class, ml class, Q50, Civic 2.0, accord 2.0 ivtec, 130i, i40 and camry(All never catch up)

FC: Like normal sedan 1.5

Eco mode can beat picanto, attrage, vezel, spark, elantra elite, avante, K3, K5, Sante Fe 2014, Nissan latio, Nissan teana, Nissan sylphy, Honda civic 1.6, jazz, fit, bus, taxi and motorbikes. (All kena potong safety)

FC: Like hybrid prius C- 16.8 KM/l

Whole harrier has been insulated with floor and door sound proof, super solid and steady.

Just my experience- don't arrow me...

You are talking about the hybrid or 2.0NA version of Harrier?

Rx200t already felt sluggish with it's humongous body (similar size as Harrier) despite it's 2.0L turbo engine.

Looking at the official engine specs do not seem to suggest that it is a technologically advance engine from the toyata parts bin.

And your experience is that you manage to "beat" many a 2.0L TC contis?

Don't get me wrong, am not trying to dispute your experience but like to clarify and learn.

ENGINE SPECIFICATIONS â 2.0L CVT 2WD (151 HP) Cylinders L4 Displacement 1986 cm3 Power 111 KW @ 6100 RPM

151 HP @ 6100 RPM

149 BHP @ 6100 RPM Torque 142 lb-ft @ 3800 RPM

193 Nm @ 3800 RPM Fuel System Direct Injection Fuel Gasoline

My experience is that attrage and vezel can beat my 2.5t from the traffic light

I think they have a special sports car mode which allow for such insane acceleration

My experience is that attrage and vezel can beat my 2.5t from the traffic light

I think they have a special sports car mode which allow for such insane acceleration

the cars r lighter and thus flooring when green light will cause the cars to surge fwd...

ur car will catch up once turbo kicks in...esp on higher speed when the torque is engaged!