Flyover collapses at Upper Changi, PIE

Showster

If in Japan, minister harakiri liao

Someone likes to quote harakiri many moons ago, but until now haven't even seen him holding the katana.

Don't know whose skin is so thick.

Yes, I agree that construction standards have gone down as time progressed. Paid million+ buy house, also can minor cracks and leaks here and there. My parents' first flat bought in 1970 that time old technology, i never remembered got any cracks. Now the flat is still around.

Everybody is trying to cut corners and reduce costs to increase margin...

that's quite bull lah frankly.

My parents can tell me unequivocally that my flat came in much better quality compared to their time.  [laugh]

mp tasks also not easy. Shake hand here and there, carry babies, cut ribbons listen to ltk in parly and carry the boss's balls. Not easy.......saikang warrior!

and receive $190k allowance for all the crap. poor ting ...  ^_^

Someone likes to quote harakiri many moons ago, but until now haven't even seen him holding the katana.

Don't know whose skin is so thick.

apart from scdf, jo teo also very busy these days...

transport, HR.....

like kanna reverse-midas touch

give credit when due.

kudos to the SCDF k9 that went in and searched for survivors.

They deserved a pat on the head.

Pat on the shoulder, pat on the head is rude   [laugh]  [laugh]

and receive $190k allowance for all the crap. poor ting ... ^_^

ya lor.....must salute them for sacricing their multi-million salary and easy life in the private sector for a measly sum and endless and thankless tasks.

Responsibility of this matter is under Transport / LTA correct ?

hahahahaha

LTA/PAP/Gahmen:

giphy.gif

meanwhile, kah kia and layman on the street...

tumblr_nhk8hiiHt81u6tkxro1_500.gif

Edited by Mockngbrd

PIE construction site accident: Contractor recently fined over workplace fatality in 2015

SINGAPORE: The construction company involved in the collapse of an uncompleted viaduct near the Pan-Island Expressway (PIE) on Friday (Jul 14) – leaving one dead and 10 injured – was just earlier this week fined over a safety lapse that resulted in the death of another worker in 2015.

Construction firm Or Kim Peow (OKP) was contracted by the Land Transport Authority (LTA) to build a viaduct from the Tampines Expressway (TPE) to the PIE (westbound) and Upper Changi Road East.

The project, with a contract value of more than S$94.6 million, was awarded to OKP in 2015. Work on the viaduct started in November that year and was expected to be completed by November 2019.

On Tuesday (Jul 11), the construction firm and one of its supervisors were convicted and fined over safety lapses at a work site under the Yio Chu Kang Flyover on Sep 22, 2015. One worker died and three suffered fractures and contusions after they fell 6.4m to the ground when a platform they were working on gave way.

The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) said investigations found that the company had failed to ensure that the platform the workers were on had been properly put up. 

OKP was fined S$250,000 and MOM said this was “a clear case of a company that does not take workplace safety seriously".

As of Jul 3, OKP had accumulated 25 demerit points and was blacklisted from Jan 5 to Apr 4 this year, according to a list of contractors with demerit points on the ministry's website. Companies with 25 to 49 demerit points accumulated within an 18-month period are not allowed to hire new workers for three months, although they can renew existing workers. 

Founded in 1966, OKP has up to 50 employees and describes itself as “a leading infrastructure and civil engineering group in Singapore”. It specialises in constructing airport runways and taxiways, expressways and flyovers as well as maintenance works for roads.

Public sector clients include the Housing and Development Board, JTC, National Parks Board, PUB and Urban Redevelopment Authority while private sector clients include Changi Airport Group and ExxonMobil. In recent years OKP has also expanded its core business to include property development and investment.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/pie-construction-site-accident-contractor-recently-fined-over-9030718

Or Kim Peow Contractors (OKP), the construction firm which had been working on the viaduct structure which collapsed on Friday morning, had previously been fined for another accident which killed one worker.

Just on Tuesday (11 July), the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) fined OKP $250,000 for safety lapses that caused the death of one worker and injured three others.

OKP’s safety coordinator and site supervisor Victor Tan Kok Peng was also slapped with a $12,000 fine for performing a negligent act under the Workplace Health and Safety, said MOM.

Chan Yew Kwong, MOM’s director of occupational safety and health inspectorate, had said of the incident, “This is a clear case of a company that does not take workplace safety seriously.”

i am no expert in construction.

but i think this kind of accident, dun need compare construction from wat country.

china europe japan, all have history of accident in sg.

the first person to look at should be the site safety officer.??

now , dun tell me the overall safety incharge and material quality inspectior is not from our own sg gov department,??

Should be engineer who design the struts & supporting structure

that's quite bull lah frankly.

My parents can tell me unequivocally that my flat came in much better quality compared to their time.  [laugh]

No lor. New flats look good - they have to.

So design is modern, layout is better, etc. But quality is one thing that is worse off. We stay in my parents' first (3-rm) flat in Toa Payoh for 15 yr, till i was in sec 3. No leak issue before, except basin some wear n tear rubber stopper leak.

Moved to Serangoon 4-rm flat and stayed 29 yr. First 5 yr only, downstairs neighbour complained his toilet ceiling got leak, so my parents had to re-water proof and tile the toilets. Our toilets ceiling never leaked, cos it's top floor.

By the 15th yr or so, one time my father sleeping on his bed, felt water dripping on him. It was raining. We found water dripping (lucky very slowly) from the ceiling in the middle of the room.

I moved to my place ~5.5 yr ago. Within the first year DLP, toilet window edge was leaking badly during heavy rain. One toilet bowl flushing system leaked at yr 2. 2nd toilet one flush system broke last yr. floor maybe and wall tiles got minor cracks since yr 3. Kitchen cooker top shattered in yr 3, wardrobe and kitchen cabinets had problems from yr 2 onwards. Balcony doors have problems from yr 3 onwards...

Yes, the early flats were simple and basic, and had much less bells n whistles, but i think more 真材实料...

Looking at the quality of materials or equipment misses the point.

Should look at the management values.