Today Newspaper Ceases Print Edition

Mason016

SPH to divest stakes in Mediacorp TV and Press while Today newspaper will go fully digital

Singapore Press Holdings plans to divest its 20 per cent stake in Mediacorp TV and 40 per cent stake in Mediacorp Press, the publisher of the Today newspaper, for $18 million, the firm said on Friday (Aug 25). The proposed divestment follows Mediacorp’s decision to cease the print edition of Today.

http://www.straitstimes.com/business/companies-markets/sph-to-divest-stakes-in-mediacorp-tv-and-press-while-today-newspaper-will

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/today-newspaper-to-cease-print-edition-go-fully-digital-9157872

Hopefully, SGCM and MCF aren't next on the block.

SPH to divest stakes in Mediacorp TV and Press while Today newspaper will go fully digital

Singapore Press Holdings plans to divest its 20 per cent stake in Mediacorp TV and 40 per cent stake in Mediacorp Press, the publisher of the Today newspaper, for $18 million, the firm said on Friday (Aug 25). The proposed divestment follows Mediacorpâs decision to cease the print edition of Today.

http://www.straitstimes.com/business/companies-markets/sph-to-divest-stakes-in-mediacorp-tv-and-press-while-today-newspaper-will

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/today-newspaper-to-cease-print-edition-go-fully-digital-9157872

Hmmmmm

So we wreak havoc la b4 we go

Haaaaaa

Singapore Press Holdings plans to divest its 20 per cent stake in Mediacorp TV and 40 per cent stake in Mediacorp Press, the publisher of the Today newspaper, for $18 million, the firm said on Friday (Aug 25). The proposed divestment follows Mediacorpâs decision to cease the print edition of Today.

Met a sph journalist who was the bridesmaid for my friends wedding. She mentioned they were already undergoing retrenchment.

Ya i heard they finally going to make sumiko write real news articles

I heard most of the one tio pok is the senior ones.

Sad but it's a global thing

It is inevitable with the digital edge and nobody buys hardcopy anymore

Furthermore, the general public has access to more global news that is deemed more "accurate'

Personally I only read to get a glimpse of news then compare with other sites for Authenticity. I've personally lost trust in what I read

Only thing that I still trust is the ORBITUARY. Wun lie

Furthermore, the general public has access to more global news that is deemed more "accurate'

Personally I only read to get a glimpse of news then compare with other sites for Authenticity. I've personally lost trust in what I read

Liar.

Basket, this is not the place to advertise.

I thought need to be a sponsor before can advertise.

• Praise 12

We are already digital liao leyyyy....

Jin jialat. But such is the world nowadays.

I don't think SGCM is under threat la. Nowadays everyone going online, and SGCM is the leader in automotive online in Singapore. Tio bo?

My assumption sgcarmart won't be affected. Already an online platform for carbuyer in Singapore.

Hmm to exert their incoming...Probably will do some cosmetic touch up on this website.

Those already on the online platform won't be affected.

But probably many ba gua magazines and newspapers will be affected in the next decade.

Perhaps Newpaper will take over the editorial of Lite and Eazy @ MCF and boost viewership of Jason tiko thread ?

Just add a hyperlink and voila, instant count of members

Edited by Sdf4786k

Those already on the online platform won't be affected.

But probably many ba gua magazines and newspapers will be affected in the next decade.

Agree. Probably one of the three Chinese papers will fold I predict.

Won't be surprised if TNP goes as well. After they become free paper I think their readership drop a lot, ironically.

Newspaper should print more of these

Nice. Thank yew Gahmen for setting the stage for more FT / AMDKs. 

You want the truth? Lai, i fix the by-line for you and for newspaper. 

post-26533-0-93404400-1504146991_thumb.jpg

Edited by Mockngbrd