Ridiculous office rules revealed

tudorpapa

OFFICERULES_180917_PIXABAY.jpg?itok=bXUg

LAURA FRANSEN

Sep 18, 2017

Source: http://www.asiaone.com/business/ridiculous-office-rules-revealed

Does your company have any silly or unnecessary rules in place? While management will probably say no - after all, all rules are implemented for a reason - employees may feel differently.

In a recent workplace study, 36.8 per cent of respondents said their workplace has "ridiculous" rules. The survey by UK job site CV-Library asked 1,000 UK workers whether their employer had any silly or unnecessary rules in place.

If the fact that over a third of employees think their company has stupid rules doesn't motivate you to review your policies, perhaps this will: 22.5 per cent said that workplaces with ridiculous rules can't be trusted.

When it comes to the ridiculous rules in question, according to the survey results they broadly fall into five categories:

• Bathroom breaks: Respondents reported they either had a strict time frame in which to go to the toilet (3 minutes), had to ask before using the toilet facilities, or were even searched before going to the toilet.
  • Dress code: Some respondents reported they had to wear particular coloured clothes to match the business, and women weren't allowed to wear trousers. One individual even said that they were sent home for not dressing down.
  • Talking: Some employees stated that they weren't allowed to talk out loud outside of the staff room, while others said that they weren't allowed to say "hello" to a customer, only "good morning", or "good afternoon".
  • Time keeping: One company deducts 15 minutes worth of pay if an employee is 2 minutes late. Another won't allow staff to travel further than 20 metres away from the building during lunch in case they're back late.
  • Drinks: Some workplaces won't allow their staff to drink water and another will not let workers carry drinks up and down the stairs. One company won't let employees have drinks on their desk in case they get spilt.

Commenting on the results, Lee Biggins, founder and managing director of CV-Library, said: "Every workplace needs rules: otherwise you'd simply never get things done! That said it's clear that many of the rules highlighted in our research are just ridiculous."

He added: "Employees want to feel trusted and while one workplace can differ massively to another, you have to treat your staff like adults - especially when it comes to being allowed to drink water and going to the toilet!"

A final finding from the survey provides another reason for ensuring any office rule makes sense to staff. Over half of respondents (57.2 per cent) said that if they feel a rule is silly, they'll simply disobey it.

My company also quite kecoh one. Quite stringent on dress code and such. 

my ex company has a dress code......which only applies to men. dress code set by hr manager, who is a lady. men in management level must wear shirt or polo wif pants fm mon-thur. on fri can wear polo with jeans. not tee shirts. normal level men can wear polo with jeans everyday.

but the ladies, no dress code. can see them wearing clothes as if they r going to mama shop at void deck on fri. simply ridiculous.

I had 2 ex-colleagues in my first job almost 10 years ago, both of them worked in that company for more than 10 years when I joined.

Then the company had a restructure done last year and in came an AMDL

She set such stupid and ridiculous rules that my 2 ex-colleagues both quit within 3 months of the AMDL's arrival.

Some ridiculous things I heard include, but not limited to:

1. Cannot talk loudly in office

2. Cannot use other languages except for English

3. Cannot laugh in office

So the saying which I now firmly believe is true:

People stay in companies because of their direct bosses, and not the company itself.

Office rules not easy to administrate de. If have too many rules, people would find it ridiculous, but if no rules people might treat the office like their own house.  [rolleyes]

I used to have a set of speakers in office

Those creative 4.1 one

Kena banned

So I brought it home and put inside my toilet false ceiling, use Bluetooth receiver to play music in toilet :grin:

Now I use headphone

my ex company has a dress code......which only applies to men. dress code set by hr manager, who is a lady. men in management level must wear shirt or polo wif pants fm mon-thur. on fri can wear polo with jeans. not tee shirts. normal level men can wear polo with jeans everyday.

but the ladies, no dress code. can see them wearing clothes as if they r going to mama shop at void deck on fri. simply ridiculous.

Your HR manager bigger than all the other managers in mgmt level ah?

I had 2 ex-colleagues in my first job almost 10 years ago, both of them worked in that company for more than 10 years when I joined.

Then the company had a restructure done last year and in came an AMDL

She set such stupid and ridiculous rules that my 2 ex-colleagues both quit within 3 months of the AMDL's arrival.

Some ridiculous things I heard include, but not limited to:

1. Cannot talk loudly in office

2. Cannot use other languages except for English

3. Cannot laugh in office

So the saying which I now firmly believe is true:

People stay in companies because of their direct bosses, and not the company itself.

If break these rules how?

• Bathroom breaks: Respondents reported they either had a strict time frame in which to go to the toilet (3 minutes), had to ask before using the toilet facilities, or were even searched before going to the toilet.
  • Dress code: Some respondents reported they had to wear particular coloured clothes to match the business, and women weren't allowed to wear trousers. One individual even said that they were sent home for not dressing down.
  • Talking: Some employees stated that they weren't allowed to talk out loud outside of the staff room, while others said that they weren't allowed to say "hello" to a customer, only "good morning", or "good afternoon".
  • Time keeping: One company deducts 15 minutes worth of pay if an employee is 2 minutes late. Another won't allow staff to travel further than 20 metres away from the building during lunch in case they're back late.
  • Drinks: Some workplaces won't allow their staff to drink water and another will not let workers carry drinks up and down the stairs. One company won't let employees have drinks on their desk in case they get spilt.

The rules highlighted in red are quite reasonable leh.

The others could be reasonable as well depending on the company and its requirements.

Basic guidelines are necessary and logical. If your staff need to be bound by rules, then it is. a failure from top down. 

When I walk in to an office and everyone is looking down as if they ere so busy, that organization is in trouble. 

Your HR manager bigger than all the other managers in mgmt level ah?

If break these rules how?

The rules highlighted in red are quite reasonable leh.

The others could be reasonable as well depending on the company and its requirements.

we hv ops GM n ops director. but somehow, the director always listens to this HR lady. damn tulan. don understand y the ops GM nvr intervene. 

Last time, I brought in an extra monitor because I find it easier to have extended desktop

People laugh at me say I Kiang loh hold, mai geh Kiang, laugh at me :(

Knn now boss also cannot see, bring 2 kong size monitor put in office somemore for Monitor arm, they say whoa! Boss! You so high tech ah! I also want to learn from you

Knn, tomorrow I bring my 49" Dian see kee put in office, 4 split screen in one, see these porn lam pahs say what

we hv ops GM n ops director. but somehow, the director always listens to this HR lady. damn tulan. don understand y the ops GM nvr intervene. 

In some organizations, whoever speaks louder wins. those that need to protect their rice bowl tends to keep a low profile thus loose out. but my experiences tell me. the loud ones will not last but no issue, they got what they want and move on to find another opportunity. real loosers are the organization 

Last time army got one new guy come in

Quite strong one

Can do work

We call him bang bang chai

Because he talk very loud, very tua kang

Many were swayed by his bangs

But soon everyone realize these are just bangs

I used to have a set of speakers in office

Those creative 4.1 one

Kena banned

So I brought it home and put inside my toilet false ceiling, use Bluetooth receiver to play music in toilet :grin:

Now I use headphone

I have a pair of Cambridge speakers with sub-woofer on my work station. Go back work during Singapore holidays 'cos hubbing for oversea branches.

Spend some time watch movies, especially 007 ones. Shiok man! What funny rules? Where?

Edited by Count-Bracula

I have a pair of Cambridge speakers with sub-woofer on my work station. Go back work during Singapore holidays 'cos hubbing for oversea branches.

Spend some time watch movies, especially 007 ones. Shiok man! What funny rules? Where?

Roooks like run and gun :grin:

dont you guys notice bosses love to listen to FM 95? If you can sell them the 'emperor new clothes' story, it would be a success. even after they realized they kanna con, also cannot tell the world mah