Unfair Treatment at CIQ Woodlands

Daryllim69

Hi All,

Just wanted to share the unfair treatment I received while at ICQ Woodlands yesterday.

I arranged to pick up my new passport at ICA, Lavender at 2 PM because my old passport has ran out of pages before expiry. Went down to ICA at around 1:35 PM and got by passport at 1:45 PM. Efficient I must say. Told the counter officer to check on my new passport is OK before I collect them. She did the test in my presence and says that it is ok.

After collection, me and my wife decided to head to JB to buy some mooncakes as Mid-Autumn Festival is two weeks from now.

Drove up to ICQ, Woodlands and at the counter, I was told by the Officer that he was not able to clear my passport despite several tries. Told to wait and we waited for a good 15 minutes. Ask the officer again and he replied that he was unable to process my passport and to wait for an escort to escort me to the office where they will do the back end processing. Lan Lan, continue waiting and about 10 mins later, another officer came along and ask me to park my car. Of which I did and alighted, he asked for my car keys with both the passports of me and wife already with him. Followed him to a small office of which, there were a group of 3 already there before us.

Was told to wait and to get a seat within the office which we again comply. Shortly, my wife ask to go to the washroom but was brushed aside by the officer at the door that we are to wait inside the office and not suppose to go anywhere else. This is when I start to fume up.

I walked to the officer and asked if we have committed any crime, if we have not, why are we treated like criminals and deprive of our basic needs. I must admit that I raised my voice slightly. Upon hearing this, another officer intervened and ordered the officer to escort my wife to the rest room.

At this point, I asked the Officer again, what is wrong with my passport. I have just collected my passport from ICA and show him my booking appointment slip together with my old passport. I also shared with him that at collection, the counter lady did a check on my new passport and confirm that it is already activated. If the computer systems at ICQ Woodlands cannot process my passport than it is very much an IT issue which is of no fault of mine. Even so, I rendered my co-operation to them fully but why am I and my wife being treated as if we were convicted criminals. He tried explaining to me that it is for security reasons and so on. I replied that I am fully appreciative of their concerns on security and even when my passport cannot be processed, it does not mean that I am a criminal or a terrorist. Even if they classified me as a suspect, they are not supposed to pass judgement on me until the point that I have been proven guilty.

The officer subsequently relented and attended to my case first. At the end, we left that office before the group of 3 who have been in the office before we do. But I still buay song because not a single apology was offered despite the inconvenience created. Was really pissed off by this whole episode.

• Dislike 2

Hi All,

Just wanted to share the unfair treatment I received while at ICQ Woodlands yesterday.

I arranged to pick up my new passport at ICA, Lavender at 2 PM because my old passport has ran out of pages before expiry. Went down to ICA at around 1:35 PM and got by passport at 1:45 PM. Efficient I must say. Told the counter officer to check on my new passport is OK before I collect them. She did the test in my presence and says that it is ok.

After collection, me and my wife decided to head to JB to buy some mooncakes as Mid-Autumn Festival is two weeks from now.

Drove up to ICQ, Woodlands and at the counter, I was told by the Officer that he was not able to clear my passport despite several tries. Told to wait and we waited for a good 15 minutes. Ask the officer again and he replied that he was unable to process my passport and to wait for an escort to escort me to the office where they will do the back end processing. Lan Lan, continue waiting and about 10 mins later, another officer came along and ask me to park my car. Of which I did and alighted, he asked for my car keys with both the passports of me and wife already with him. Followed him to a small office of which, there were a group of 3 already there before us.

Was told to wait and to get a seat within the office which we again comply. Shortly, my wife ask to go to the washroom but was brushed aside by the officer at the door that we are to wait inside the office and not suppose to go anywhere else. This is when I start to fume up.

I walked to the officer and asked if we have committed any crime, if we have not, why are we treated like criminals and deprive of our basic needs. I must admit that I raised my voice slightly. Upon hearing this, another officer intervened and ordered the officer to escort my wife to the rest room.

At this point, I asked the Officer again, what is wrong with my passport. I have just collected my passport from ICA and show him my booking appointment slip together with my old passport. I also shared with him that at collection, the counter lady did a check on my new passport and confirm that it is already activated. If the computer systems at ICQ Woodlands cannot process my passport than it is very much an IT issue which is of no fault of mine. Even so, I rendered my co-operation to them fully but why am I and my wife being treated as if we were convicted criminals. He tried explaining to me that it is for security reasons and so on. I replied that I am fully appreciative of their concerns on security and even when my passport cannot be processed, it does not mean that I am a criminal or a terrorist. Even if they classified me as a suspect, they are not supposed to pass judgement on me until the point that I have been proven guilty.

The officer subsequently relented and attended to my case first. At the end, we left that office before the group of 3 who have been in the office before we do. But I still buay song because not a single apology was offered despite the inconvenience created. Was really pissed off by this whole episode.

They lucky to have met you, I would say you are nice guy.

Been there, done that and the person with "tucked out" uniform and shoulders hold at least 2 piques have to come shake my hand using his both hands and apologise continuously... I think i dented their counter top. 

firstly i amend the title to small cap, i guess you are angry.

i think to be fair to the custom officer, everyone always think they are innocent (and of course we are) but to them who deal with thousands of people day in day out, it is the SOP for such practice and no reasoning can divert them from their SOP.

You received the new passport and rush to JB on the same day, the system probably hasn't got updated so fast. I went into the room a few time also due to passport issue, some time products brought in. Nobody is above the SOP when come to them doing their job.

• Praise 14

You received the new passport and rush to JB on the same day, the system probably hasn't got updated so fast. I went into the room a few time also due to passport issue, some time products brought in. Nobody is above the SOP when come to them doing their job.

cannot be not updated la! we are a 1st world country. such simple things also cannot do ah? 

maybe we are only most efficient in checking if the roofs of hawker centers are well cleaned!!

Don't let your wife pee? You should say you also need to pee.

If they don't let you pee then just pee on their floor lor. Then say call of nature, bo pian.

But I do not suggest you do this in JB customs. Only SG customs.

firstly i amend the title to small cap, i guess you are angry.

i think to be fair to the custom officer, everyone always think they are innocent (and of course we are) but to them who deal with thousands of people day in day out, it is the SOP for such practice and no reasoning can divert them from their SOP.

Jman888,

To begin with, I can fully understand the job they have in hand and I appreciated their efforts in ensuring that safety and security is not compromised. That is why I rendered my fullest co-operation to them when asked to head to the office with escort and even having my car keys impounded. What I cannot accept is that the officer wave off my wife's request to go to the restroom.

The passport while new was issued to me after they have checked their system, what do you mean that the system probably hasn't got updated so fast. A check was done at ICA Lavender and if the system indeed needs some time to get updated, I should be told not to use the passport until such time the system is updated. There were no such advise given.

To me, system not being updated is not my issue. I am inconvenienced by their issue and I should be treated fairly and nicely. Waving off my wife's request to go to the restroom is depriving our human rights which is totally unacceptable.

i say,

if you shout loud enough and bang table hard enough, they won't be able to do their job and need to apologize profusely for inconveniencing you.

but of cuz their system fault is not your problem.

and try not to use the CIQ next time.

Edited by Kb27

Actually, to look on the bright side, you are lucky to be stopped in SG customs rather than to have problems in JB customs. Imagine they die die don't let your wife go toilet in JB side and there is nothing you can do or shout to get the message across. That one would be a more traumatising experience isn't it?

What so traumatising?

Give 50RM. Sure can go toilet.

If u look down on them, they may prefer to lock u up instead of 50 buck kopi money.

I always call them ah bang and ask them to tolong.

....... subsequently relented and attended to my case first. At the end, we left that office before the group of 3 who have been in the office before we do.......

The unfair treatment is referring to you or the group of 3 ? 

I supposed their case would be attended to first, since they were there before you.

I remembered after getting new passport, was advised by the Lavender ICA person issuing me to bring along the old one too in case such incident occurs. And indeed this was a fine example.

2ndly, I believe TS was triggered by the officer for not allowing his wife to go toilet. So who you vote? Still got reservist? I feel your resentment.

In the end treated poorly by the very nation you served to protect.