Got amused by Mercedes Benz

SGCMHello

haha u really sabo your friend... this BMW... buy at your own risk

He knows he is prepared that he can't sell to individuals. 

But other than the coolant, many of the parts are new. And he really take care of his car.

But I also advised him not to sell. He has spent so much money fixing the car for the past 2 years. Selling it is like making a loss. Just fix the coolant and the car can run till scrap. 

But other than the coolant, many of the parts are new. And he really take care of his car.

But I also advised him not to sell. He has spent so much money fixing the car for the past 2 years. Selling it is like making a loss. Just fix the coolant and the car can run till scrap.

true... the longer u use the car, the less costly the repairs ÷ no. of years used.

then again, maybe your friend has been burnt badly and wants to quickly just let it go...

Why not simply flush and put in new coolant? Or is there a problem with the cooling system?

He bought the 318 E90 less than 3 years ago.

Changed engine mounting 2 times. Gas casket leaked once and changed a few times. Engine oil leak. Ignition failed him 2 times and has to call the tow truck. He spent a few thousands on these repairs in just about 2 years. Now approaching 200k and the coolant is starting to show problems.

He buey tahan the costs and now trying to sell the car.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=686798&DL=1000

He will either buy another second hand car or get a new car if COE goes lower next year, but he will not touch a BMW again.

Another same friend in the same group have the same car with some problems too. What problems, I am not sure coz I am not close to the guy. But as of last year, he has changed to a new A class.

I see more W124 E class and W126 S class still running on the roads and these cars are more than 20 -30 years.

Maybe now newer cars have too much electronics and not as reliable.

Walau, dealer selling $38k he want to sell $41k! Difficult lah......

Why not simply flush and put in new coolant? Or is there a problem with the cooling system?

I'm not very sure.

Didn't ask him in detail.

Changed engine mounting 2 times. Gas casket leaked once and changed a few times. Engine oil leak. Ignition failed him 2 times and has to call the tow truck. He spent a few thousands on these repairs in just about 2 years. Now approaching 200k and the coolant is starting to show problems.

He will either buy another second hand car or get a new car if COE goes lower next year, but he will not touch a BMW again.

Another same friend in the same group have the same car with some problems too. What problems, I am not sure coz I am not close to the guy. But as of last year, he has changed to a new A class.

I see more W124 E class and W126 S class still running on the roads and these cars are more than 20 -30 years. 

Your pengyiu also must be realistic and not expect the E90 to be built like Kevlar la.  I also an E90 for 10 years.  Yes there are quite some wear n tear parts to be replaced but most of mine were replace as preventive before they fail.

Engine Mounts need to be replaced about every 5 years.  This is quite standard if you want yr car to drive nicely.

Similarly Top Valve Cover gasket will also need changing every 5 to 7 years.  These are rubber silicone material, not titanium so expect wear and tear too.

Engine oil leak can be many reasons n is always due to some areas where some other gaskets are leaking.  If oil filter housing gasket or something like that, also gotta replace every 5 years as safety measure la.  So is the heat exchanger gasket, oil sump gasket, etc.

Ignition fail?  Change the 4 coils n spark plugs lor...in fact plugs change them max every 2 years.  Coils every 5 years.

Still cannot start car? Check n replace the starter motor lor.

All these are not really expensive items.

I am sure these above items can also happen to Merc, Audi, or any Jap or Korean cars la

just that many of us used to own them for shorter period so many dont even experience these issues.

But with higher car n coe costs these days, these maintenance are necessary if u want to keep yr car for longer.

Many people still believe things should not go bad throughout their car ownership.  Very incorrect expectation.

Honestly I think the car itself was already ridden quite hard, 3 previous owners should already be a warning sign. Your pal should have taken to to a specialist workshop to get it assessed before buying.

But old Merc do tend to be more reliable.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Narrating other's' stories of their unhappy experiences with their cars are not always accurate.

Some got too high expectations of the car they bought.

New cars also have some issues, what more about a many times preowned Beemer.

Cars don't maintain themselves; it's the driver/owner who has to spot, troubleshoot, replace worn out parts as & when & also in anticipation. Replacements of worn out or leaking gaskets is normal. When a car owner kpkb about their old rides, there's always room for reasonable doubts.

If the said brand is that troublesome, it wouldn't be selling so well then.

Edited by TameDriver

rare lemons aside,

people forget , it may not be the car make but how the car has been driven that determines the problems

318 model oil leak appears common, mounting and ignition problems are generally generic problems of a very high mileage car

Honestly I think the car itself was already ridden quite hard, 3 previous owners should already be a warning sign. Your pal should have taken to to a specialist workshop to get it assessed before buying.

But old Merc do tend to be more reliable.

• Praise 10

I was introduced to the cars in showroom and salesman was professional but Little did he knew that I read in between the lines of what was said....

Did u know that the showroom is "split" into 2? On one side is the true DNA of Mercedes benz, rear wheel drive, luxuriously finished, made in Germany, the c class, e class ..... and above.

On the other side are the "cheap" ones, meant to compete with Japanese. A & B class and their variants. To cut cost, it's front wheel drive, made in cheaper countries, quite a lot more plastic being used in the car etc. Target market are the "cannot afford MB customers" but die die want to buy young buyers.

Just find it amusing. Anyway MB, are generally well engineered and SAFE.

3 financial questions to clear b4 buying luxurious car:

1) Protection: Hv u got adequate insurance ( life, hospital, accident, critical illness)

2) Retirement: Do u hv enough to retire (bet u don even know how much u need)

3) Investment & savings: what is your networth, do u make regular investments.

.... and legacy planning if u consider bequest for yr children

If people plan financially, there will far less imprudent splurge on luxurious cars.

Seriously, just a cut a paste job. C class not made in Germany.

Don't clock post count like this.

GLC (PI/CnC) in Singapore are made in Germany.

Does it really matter?

Mercedes-Benz SUVs mostly from North America

C Class from South Africa

If you truly want a car from Germany, that will be the E class and above.