Facade inspection - new ruling

Victor68

Could be also due to the recent Grenfell tower fire in London 'cos of the cladding issue 

Technology has moved too fast and not time tested, last 15 years or so back was the rivet change thing for windows and was like a mad rush to change to SS rivets  

for the Grenfell tower fire, the issue seems to be the TC equivalent's approval of the use of "cheaper" cladding material which were combustible... 

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2017/jul/14/grenfell-tower-cladding-passed-by-council-officers-in-2015

he next month, samples of the cladding were erected “for the council’s planners to look at and approve”. But also in July, according to separate leaked internal emails, the council was looking for “good costs” and cheaper cladding panels were substituted, saving almost £300,000.

subsequently the UK authorities implemented a new series of combustion tests and found that another 111 buildings failed the test... 

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2017/aug/02/grenfell-tower-cladding-system-in-111-buildings-fails-latest-round-of-tests

In total, 111 high-rise blocks use a combination of material that failed the second of six new tests rolled out at the recommendation of an independent expert safety panel following the Grenfell Tower fire disaster.

agree on the SS rivet thing for windows... 

The minimum BCA should do is to list down and make public those buildings with such problems. Occupants have the informed choice if they wish to continue to occupy and expose their risks.

It is indeed a big mistake for not conducting our own tests locally but to rely on certification by others. Sampling test on 1 panel would help although the sample randomly picked from the materials sent over may have been the 'lucky' piece. I would expect those bodies issuing the certificate that failed should be barred and to check what else have they certified and being used here. :a-aggressive:

speaking of windows... 

50 cases of fallen windows in 2017; highest in 5 years

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/50-cases-fallen-windows-2017-highest-5-years

I am not sure if there is any study done on windows. How many cast iron windows (those older HDB flats) has fallen against the aluminum windows? How many of the aluminum windows that fell were sliding against swing casement?

Why would they fall off? Due to wear and tear or the design that allows a single revert to cause it to fall off? What are the difference between the windows installed here in Singapore as compared to those in Japan and Europe? Are they the same detail and material even for the same supplier?

Why then did we approve the import and installation of such windows here? Are these windows that fell all belong to just HDB? For private, aren't they subjected to BCA inspection and some even Conquas certification? So many questions [bigcry]

I am not sure if there is any study done on windows. How many cast iron windows (those older HDB flats) has fallen against the aluminum windows? How many of the aluminum windows that fell were sliding against swing casement?

Why would they fall off? Due to wear and tear or the design that allows a single revert to cause it to fall off? What are the difference between the windows installed here in Singapore as compared to those in Japan and Europe? Are they the same detail and material even for the same supplier?

Why then did we approve the import and installation of such windows here? Are these windows that fell all belong to just HDB? For private, aren't they subjected to BCA inspection and some even Conquas certification? So many questions [bigcry]

I think there was a deadline to change the old windows to the newer approved ones.

What happened?  [confused]

taken from BCA website: 

HDB designs and installs windows in HDB flats according to the prevailing industry standards set by SPRING Singapore. From 1987 to 1998, aluminium rivets were used for the installation of casement windows in HDB flats, as they were the accepted industry standard not just in Singapore, but also internationally.

Where standards have improved, HDB has followed suit. In fact, HDB has switched to the use of stainless steel rivets for casement windows since 1998, ahead of the revised industry standards that were adopted in 2000.

the deadline for changing to new windows has passed. now the responsibility is on home owners to do a half-yearly check and make the necessary changes if required. 

It is the homeowner's responsibility to check and maintain his windows regularly to ensure they are safe.

References:

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/windows_safety

https://www.bca.gov.sg/Window_safety/window_faqs.html

Edited by kdash

taken from BCA website: 

the deadline for changing to new windows has passed. now the responsibility is on home owners to do a half-yearly check and make the necessary changes if required. 

References:

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/windows_safety

https://www.bca.gov.sg/Window_safety/window_faqs.html

While the government cannot be changing for private owners, it was the government or its servants that have allowed/permitted such bad material/workmanship in the first place. Hope this can trigger a rethinking and they start to specify basic standard for approval in construction. No need to think out of the box, just copy from the European or Japanese guide if our scholars don't have the necessary experiences. :a-aggressive:

well BCA claims that they had followed international standards...

agree on the earlier designers not so focused on maintenance. i find that designers with some site project management experience will be able to have better designs with consideration to buildability and safe maintenance.

recently BCA has been emphasizing on DfS (Design for Safety)...

Bro, dfs very applicable to you leh.. Gotten your certification?

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/housing/industry-gearing-up-for-new-rules-on-facade-checks

It is rather amazing that we have introduced so many new products and designs without giving thought to maintenance. now suddenly they expect the lowly maintenance guys to be experts and be able to view defects using binoculars on the facade!

Surely these maintenance guys won't know if the product will be flammable or the internal clippers have corroded. I would have hold QP responsible for the design and approving authority to ensure adequate maintenance processes are in placed before approving them. many renown designs were never given thought on maintenance. now it is others to pick up these sh#t.

Bro, sounds like you are in this industry to have known so much.. You're from the developer side??

Bro, dfs very applicable to you leh.. Gotten your certification?

my boss and wife got the cert liao. i'm supposed to go for the safety for PM course sometime next year...

Troublesome leh.. Must have at least 2 project references right??

not very sure of the requirements, but think i can qualify as my peers already going for the course. how abt you bro? DfS?

Actually we are not the owners of the HDB flat - just the long term leasee.