Star Wars: The Last Jedi (SPOILER ALERT)

Blueray

Best scene for me is seeing the red Elite Praetorian Guards (Emperor's Royal Guard) in action, and I'm impressed. Captain Phasma again a huge flop, don't see any reason for this character, big disappointment. 

Overall the movie is fine. Just lack that Star Wars magic I feel.

Can buy the lego set for the guard. Look quite nice.

Elite-Praetorian-Guard-1.jpeg

He look powerful but the way he kena killed is so lame.

If like that also can, then past sith lords can just  sneakily kill the Jedis with their light saber still hanging on the waist.  

Somehow I feel Disney is ruining it...  [sweatdrop]  [sweatdrop]  [sweatdrop]

Best scene for me is seeing the red Elite Praetorian Guards (Emperor's Royal Guard) in action, and I'm impressed. Captain Phasma again a huge flop, don't see any reason for this character, big disappointment. 

Overall the movie is fine. Just lack that Star Wars magic I feel.

Agree, but I think can be longer. Some die too easily.  :XD:

The Last Jedi - the most divisive Star Wars movie

The Last Jedi retained fairly sterling reviewer scores on MetaCritic (86) and Rotten Tomatoes (93 per cent "fresh").

Yet on those same sites, the audience reactions were resulting in low scores of 4.9 out of 10 on Metacritic, and 56 per cent "fresh" on Rotten Tomatoes. The latter is not only the site's lowest number for a live-action theatrical Star Wars film; it also is the largest Rotten Tomatoes disparity for a Star Wars film (37 percentage points), within a franchise that generally finds critic and civilian viewers far more closely aligned.

For comparison's sake, 2015's The Force Awakens had a disparity of just 5 percentage points, with an audience score of 88 per cent.

http://www.straitstimes.com/lifestyle/entertainment/the-last-jedi-the-most-divisive-star-wars-movie

Watched liao, wife nearly fell alseep lol.

I personally like it, especially the last part where the rebel cruiser is used as a missile in warp speed.

Reminds me of North Korea leh :=B:

I think it's kinda bad. The leia flying part was one of the worst.

It's obvious the director wanted luke to end like this to make way for the younger characters. Poor Mark or Luke.

What's with the Rose character? Why is it the prettier sister dies?

The casino scene was ridiculous and not necessary.

W/o the casino scene the movie wouldn't be so long.

I think it's kinda bad. The leia flying part was one of the worst.

It's obvious the director wanted luke to end like this to make way for the younger characters. Poor Mark or Luke.

What's with the Rose character? Why is it the prettier sister dies?

The casino scene was ridiculous and not necessary.

W/o the casino scene the movie wouldn't be so long.

I have been pretty quiet on my overall take of this movie so far because it was so disappointing that I am not sure where to start.

All  can say is that the moment Luke threw his lightsaber over his shoulders in a casual manner, I knew right there that  the movie is gone.

The entire movie was a total insult to the franchise and very disrespectful to the fans who have been following it for like 40 years. I normally has very high tolerance towards bad movies but this one is beyond bad.

I have been pretty quiet on my overall take of this movie so far because it was so disappointing that I am not sure where to start.

All can say is that the moment Luke threw his lightsaber over his shoulders in a casual manner, I knew right there that the movie is gone.

The entire movie was a total insult to the franchise and very disrespectful to the fans who have been following it for like 40 years. I normally has very high tolerance towards bad movies but this one is beyond bad.

worst is when u see the frigate can go lightspeed to crush into the First order fleet. shouldnt they have done that with the 2 accompanying ships earlier, since gonna die anyway???

and yes, the leia floating part is unnecessary.

kylo is another joke

Overall boring movie. Lead up is lousy.

The worst parts are leia surviving in outer space without a suit, the Chinese looking girl character and the casino which I thought is trying to suan Monaco.

All  can say is that the moment Luke threw his lightsaber over his shoulders in a casual manner, I knew right there that  the movie is gone.

This writer director Rian Johnson totally fxxked up the show.

Overall boring movie. Lead up is lousy.

The worst parts are leia surviving in outer space without a suit, the Chinese looking girl character and the casino which I thought is trying to suan Monaco.

Not a star wars fan. Coming in from an entertainment pov.

I prefer star trek (series and movies) over star wars, dc and marvel.

"I at one point had to say to Rian, 'I pretty much fundamentally disagree with every choice you've made for this character." - Mark Hamill

'The Last Jedi': An Explanation for Some Fans' Disappointment and Ire

https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/star-wars-fan-theories-led-last-jedi-disappointment-1068718

The article itself is wrong.  They are not mad because of wild theories didn't come true. 

They are mad because the legacy of Star Wars are not respected. That legacy and story that runs 40 years are thrown into the garbage bin completely and what happen then is a movie that is more Star Trek than Star Wars

It is like for 100 years we believe that Einstein was a great scientist. He was a genius at that.  You can make a movie and depict him as a mad scientist or even link his work with invention of  internet if you will, if that attracts the younger crowd.  But when you make a movie about Einstein and depict him as an artist as great as Picasso, then that crosses the line. 

This movie crosses that line.  A lot of people grew up with Star wars and they knew what Star Wars is. Because it had run 40 years, people pass down that story to their kids and to their kids' kids. The Last Jedi attempt to undo the entire story and disrespect the legacy that makes it great.  My neighbour  was telling me that his 8 and 5 year old son now look at Luke as a useless Jedi master, a bad guy who wants o kill his own nephew and so weak that he died from stress due to some mind projection games. His message to Disney...F them for ruining his 40 years hero and creating a divisive line between him and his kids.

Anyway enough said. My journey with Star Wars is done. If Disney's idea is to sell more toys and merchandise than to continue a great franchise, then time will tell if that vision succeed.

Star Wars is a galatic samurai movie full of buddhism wisdom. Yoda already said don't be attached to old books. Nothing is impermanent.

For a 40 years old franchise, change is inevitable. 

From what I read, I think the fans accept the fact that the franchise has to evolve. New characters, new story line.  But a good movie maker should do the changes in a subtle manner; still respecting the legacy, but introduce the changes in a logical fashion  That way, you will  get the younger fans while still retaining the support of the older crowd. Episode 8 on the other hand, try to shove the changes down your throat and it is just simply too hard for the older crowd to digest.

I thought Episode 7, Force Awakens did that subtle changes extremely well.  It wasn't easy to bridge Lucas Universe with Disney's new vision, and expectations on Episode 7 was huge. Still they did quite a good job, and setup a perfect platform for Episode 8 to follow.  But episode 8 seems to think it is a stand-alone movie and didn't want anything to do with all the past sequels. There is a disjoint between Episode 7 and 8 and it just doesn't work that way for a Star Wars movie that has been running for 40 years.

Edited by Icedbs

The article itself is wrong.  They are not mad because of wild theories didn't come true. 

They are mad because the legacy of Star Wars are not respected. That legacy and story that runs 40 years are thrown into the garbage bin completely and what happen then is a movie that is more Star Trek than Star Wars

It is like for 100 years we believe that Einstein was a great scientist. He was a genius at that.  You can make a movie and depict him as a mad scientist or even link his work with invention of  internet if you will, if that attracts the younger crowd.  But when you make a movie about Einstein and depict him as an artist as great as Picasso, then that crosses the line. 

This movie crosses that line.  A lot of people grew up with Star wars and they knew what Star Wars is. Because it had run 40 years, people pass down that story to their kids and to their kids' kids. The Last Jedi attempt to undo the entire story and disrespect the legacy that makes it great.  My neighbour  was telling me that his 8 and 5 year old son now look at Luke as a useless Jedi master, a bad guy who wants o kill his own nephew and so weak that he died from stress due to some mind projection games. His message to Disney...F them for ruining his 40 years hero and creating a divisive line between him and his kids.

Anyway enough said. My journey with Star Wars is done. If Disney's idea is to sell more toys and merchandise than to continue a great franchise, then time will tell if that vision succeed.

[hur]

Please let him know it is just a movie.