Chinese New Year Lou Hei

DACH

18 members have voted

1. 1. How often do you eat Yu Sheng during CNY?

• More than 10 times
    • 8 to 10 times
    • 6 to 8 times
    • 4 to 6 times
    • 2 to 4 times
    • Only 1 time
    • None

Chinese New Year is coming.

Yu Sheng, or Cantonese as lou hei, is one of the main dishes that most people will get to eat during Chinese New Year. 

CZY8YCkUsAIC4iu.jpg

Yushengyee sang or yuu sahng (Chinese魚生pinyinyúshēng), or Prosperity Toss, also known as lo hei (Cantonese for 撈起 or 捞起) is a Cantonese-style raw fish salad. It usually consists of strips of raw fish (sometimes salmon), mixed with shredded vegetables and a variety of sauces and condiments, among other ingredients. Yusheng literally means "raw fish" but since "fish (魚)" is commonly conflated with its homophone "abundance (余)", Yúshēng (魚生) is interpreted as a homophone for Yúshēng (余升) meaning an increase in abundance. Therefore, yusheng is considered a symbol of abundance, prosperity and vigor.

While versions of it are thought to have existed in China, the contemporary version was created and popularised[citation needed] in the 1960s amongst the ethnic Chinese community and its consumption has been associated with Chinese New Year festivities in MalaysiaIndonesia and Singapore.

Today, the common form of yusheng is the qicai yusheng (七彩鱼生; “seven-coloured raw fish salad”) served in local restaurants during the Chinese New Year period. Also referred to as facai yusheng (发财鱼生; “prosperity raw fish salad”) or xinnian yusheng (新年鱼生; “Chinese New Year raw fish salad”), this colourful take on yusheng was said to be created in the 1960s by chefs Lau Yoke Pui, Tham Yui Kai, Sin Leong and Hooi Kok Wai, together known as the “Four Heavenly Kings” in the Singapore restaurant scene. The recipe included ingredients such as shredded white and green radish and carrots, ginger slices, onion slices, crushed peanuts, pomelo, pepper, essence of chicken, oil, salt, vinegar, sugar and more. To enhance the taste, the chefs began the practice of pre-mixing the sauce in order to ensure a balanced taste for each dish as compared to the past when diners mixed the sauce themselves. This new way of eating yusheng was not readily accepted until the 1970s when younger diners embraced it. From then on, the popularity of this yusheng recipe soared and spread overseas.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yusheng

So, any good recommendations for good yu sheng this year? 

And how often do you eat yu sheng during the 2 weeks of Chinese New Year celebrations?

for house gatherings, we usually just buy the instant Yusheng pack from NTUC and fresh fish separately. 

2-4 times of yusheng every year usually, depending on the number of gatherings etc... 

so did yusheng really originate from SG? 

Edited by kdash

Depends go to how many gathering lo, also depends if anyone at the gathering ''sponsor'' yu sheng. If not, normally only lou hei 1-2 times.

Edited by 13177

Family and friends - about 6 times

ah gong buy - about twice

However, above statistics can vary each year depending on bonus from prior year, how stock market is performing, how company is performing, etc [;)]

As I get older, I become more conscious of value for money. CNY Lou Hei is not one of them. However, it is a means of bringing the family together than it is all good. Some may say there are other ways to do it. I dont like the idea of business making a killing (exorbitant profit). The other is bak kwa. I have learnt to make my own bak kwa nowadays which is really simple, so simple that I shock myself.

yue is 月 lor!

I thought the in thing now is 海底捞-(月)? No?  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

What is 海底捞月?

A Chinese idiom? Want to test my Chinese here ah?  [laugh] 

Ok, let me try.

From how it reads, it probably means trying to scoop the moon from under the sea. It probably narrates something very difficult to do or impossible to do. 

Maybe I'm wrong, so hope the Chinese experts here can explain more. 

My Chinese not so good.  [blush]

What is 海底捞月?

A Chinese idiom? Want to test my Chinese here ah? [laugh]

Ok, let me try.

From how it reads, it probably means trying to scoop the moon from under the sea. It probably narrates something very difficult to do or impossible to do.

Maybe I'm wrong, so hope the Chinese experts here can explain more.

My Chinese not so good. [blush]

In short... it was the description used by a self entitled prick on a FR... all the topic in edmw past 2days...

His face is pasted everywhere liao... keke

In short... it was the description used by a self entitled prick on a FR... all the topic in edmw past 2days...

His face is pasted everywhere liao... keke

Huh?

I don't see a link to that.  [confused]

Maybe to here since have the "捞" word, linked to lou hei.

for house gatherings, we usually just buy the instant Yusheng pack from NTUC and fresh fish separately.

2-4 times of yusheng every year usually, depending on the number of gatherings etc...

so did yusheng really originate from SG?

I think Mediya one taste better... and I always ask for the fresh fish to be cut to sashimi thickness... lo hei thickness not shiok.. salmon.. maguro.. ikura.. octopus

Huh?

I don't see a link to that. [confused]

Maybe to here since have the "捞" word, linked to lou hei.

For clarity.. google insurance agent complain sq

As I get older, I become more conscious of value for money. CNY Lou Hei is not one of them. However, it is a means of bringing the family together than it is all good. Some may say there are other ways to do it. I dont like the idea of business making a killing (exorbitant profit). The other is bak kwa. I have learnt to make my own bak kwa nowadays which is really simple, so simple that I shock myself.

I need to have a taste of your DIY bak kwa to cfm this for you!  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

I think Mediya one taste better... and I always ask for the fresh fish to be cut to sashimi thickness... lo hei thickness not shiok.. salmon.. maguro.. ikura.. octopus

For clarity.. google insurance agent complain sq

I read the news but what does this Chinese idiom got to do with the guy?  [confused]

I read the news but what does this Chinese idiom got to do with the guy? [confused]

bro, come for MU and our bros here will explain everything to you