Million dollar cash in bank now and zero debt...Anyone?

LPPL

Can we as grown adults make double within 3 years???

They (inexperienced..... even at 30++++++ if I may say so ) will fall for something emotional and invest in toxic products and in the end loose everything ..... and even do more sillier things to recoup their losses

Unless your got about $4-5 million Cash to spare and if its just a learning lesson for them

I don't think its a right decision

Let them earn thier keep; We earn our keep........ seems like this is "the trend" in Singapore as its becoming more western nowadays as in the old Asian way; we used to keep money for our kids future and they inherit and it goes on for the next and next gen; Unfortunately its not so anymore;

no lei....i see more richies or wannabe-richies spoiling their kids! If the kids are brought up with good values and characters they wont mind working hard for their own keeps. But i see more grown-up kids who are over-indulgence and is a spoilt brat because of the parents excesses! And thats how the world is going to be.....

Can we as grown adults make double within 3 years???

They (inexperienced..... even at 30++++++ if I may say so ) will fall for something emotional and invest in toxic products and in the end loose everything ..... and even do more sillier things to recoup their losses

Unless your got about $4-5 million Cash to spare and if its just a learning lesson for them

I don't think its a right decision

Let them earn thier keep; We earn our keep........ seems like this is "the trend" in Singapore as its becoming more western nowadays as in the old Asian way; we used to keep money for our kids future and they inherit and it goes on for the next and next gen; Unfortunately its not so anymore;

Can double in 3mins.

All it takes is a good hand.....

Muayhahahahahah

No inflation? Should be more conservative and also estimate inflation at 2.4%

You and i know, Real inflation is probably 5%pa

Let me offer a different perspective to this million dollar story

This is the preface:

I think the happiest life is someone who:

- has a 4 room HDB flat and does not aspire to own more or bigger properties

- with a big close knit family - loving spouse, 2 to 3 kids, good relationship with parents and other siblings, uncles/aunties

- holding a stable job that neither pays too little , or pays too much (!)

- has a hobby that is fulfilling and offers a fun social circle

- is content and neither aspires or desires more wealth/recognition/fame

for someone like this, having/getting a million dollars in not important, but will be a happy thing, and will allow some nice treats for themselves and the family

---------

The truth is this - for someone who has earned a million dollars , usually means he is moving around in 'higher' (?) social circles

and is working in a place/industry where others also earn alot

such a person, with a million dollars, is less satisfied with that million dollars

because it will seem very little. Very little compared to others in the same social circles. or very little compared to what others in the industry is earning

you will think that how can someone with a million dollars debt free be not satisfied.... I can promise you this is 100% true

---------

So the one with less chance to have a million dollars is likely to be much happier than the one who will have a million dollars. Funny isn't it

I hope that my children will grow up to have the life I have mentioned in the first paragraph

which is worth a lot more than a million dollars

• Praise 16

With 1 mln $ in bank, can last a long time. If your tottal monthly expenditure is about 2K$, it should last about 40 years. Correct me if I am wrong.

You have a fabulous life with a monthly expenditure of $2k.

Your private bankers must be treating you to lunch and dinner everyday.

And inviting you to golf and lifestyle events.

No wonder you can survive on $2k a month

• Dislike 1

Let me offer a different perspective to this million dollar story

This is the preface:

I think the happiest life is someone who:

- has a 4 room HDB flat and does not aspire to own more or bigger properties

- with a big close knit family - loving spouse, 2 to 3 kids, good relationship with parents and other siblings, uncles/aunties

- holding a stable job that neither pays too little , or pays too much (!)

- has a hobby that is fulfilling and offers a fun social circle

- is content and neither aspires or desires more wealth/recognition/fame

for someone like this, having/getting a million dollars in not important, but will be a happy thing, and will allow some nice treats for themselves and the family

---------

The truth is this - for someone who has earned a million dollars , usually means he is moving around in 'higher' (?) social circles

and is working in a place/industry where others also earn alot

such a person, with a million dollars, is less satisfied with that million dollars

because it will seem very little. Very little compared to others in the same social circles. or very little compared to what others in the industry is earning

you will think that how can someone with a million dollars debt free be not satisfied.... I can promise you this is 100% true

---------

So the one with less chance to have a million dollars is likely to be much happier than the one who will have a million dollars. Funny isn't it

I hope that my children will grow up to have the life I have mentioned in the first paragraph

which is worth a lot more than a million dollars

Thank you

You have a fabulous life with a monthly expenditure of $2k.

Your private bankers must be treating you to lunch and dinner everyday.

And inviting you to golf and lifestyle events.

No wonder you can survive on $2k a month

can eat cai peng everyday what! Maybe 1-2 times a week eat fish and meat for the protein.....

..... and to sum it up...... the spoilt brats create peer pressure on the less fortunate kids whom  try to mimic their lifestyles  of spoilt brat kids of strawberry parents....... there is indeed a big divide already now 

no lei....i see more richies or wannabe-richies spoiling their kids! If the kids are brought up with good values and characters they wont mind working hard for their own keeps. But i see more grown-up kids who are over-indulgence and is a spoilt brat because of the parents excesses! And thats how the world is going to be.....

You're talking about Casino's?? Walk in already damage done @ $100/-  (GST included by govt  [:p]

Can double in 3mins.

All it takes is a good hand.....

Muayhahahahahah

You and i know, Real inflation is probably 5%pa

FD, SSB, Single Premium Insurance, Blue Chip stocks - all add up to $1M counted?

i think no one is in their right mind to keep $1M cash in bank la

keeping total $1M cash in bank means losing money every single day

hence, that’s your answer to what to do with $1M cash liao

i assume $200K total cash as liquidity should suffice for the $1M category

if sifu Enye ... $200k cash is pocket money for 1 month nia ... hehe

for T2 not even enough to buy/sell full gold Rolexes ... lol

dont play play. there are people with $1m cash in bank. and these people could be aunties you see everyday at wet markets or cleaners wiping your office table. source: I work in bank.

Let me calculate:

Per day

Cigar $30

CaiPng lunch and dinner $10

Mobile internet bill $5

Transport $5

Miscellaneous $10

Ok can survive with $2000 a month if you are 70yrs old today.

I dont know about 25 yrs later.

aiyoh.....cigars! For me Mahalbro can last me 2 days.

..... and to sum it up...... the spoilt brats create peer pressure on the less fortunate kids whom try to mimic their lifestyles of spoilt brat kids of strawberry parents....... there is indeed a big divide already now

You're talking about Casino's?? Walk in already damage done @ $100/- (GST included by govt [:p] )

ya....so true! A few weeks ago i gave my daughter a piece of my mind.......used myself, her mum and her brother to point out how lucky she is to have i-phone and complete own room. Obviously she was envious of her classmates and a 2nd cousin who travel every year to europe and other parts of the world! Really need to bring them back to earth and it is not easy , thanks to fb and ig. Edited by Eviilusion

1 Bn down there is not enough. The sheer amount of money sent every year has caused massive inflation:

Now:

1 trillion

Capture1.JPG

Then:

1 milllion

Capture.JPG

Better to send properties, cars, servants and candles.

Kao can the finance department do something about it :X

Bro,

Kua Nua Goon and top up medicine: Maybe $100-300 per month (if lucky at 70 years old), not including parent bills if they are still around.

All kinds of tax bills (property tax at least)?: $100-300 per month

Insurance?: $300 per month (let's say reduce to the minimum)

Utilities?: Unless sleep in tent everyday, it should be $200 per month.

Ang pow for relatives wedding?: Chao chao $100 per month.

Let me calculate:
Per day
Cigar $30
CaiPng lunch and dinner $10
Mobile internet bill $5
Transport $5
Miscellaneous $10

Ok can survive with $2000 a month if you are 70yrs old today.

I dont know about 25 yrs later.

Edited by Showster

Sometimes I wonder what can the ghost buy with hell bank notes..... nobody burn shops, so got money no shops in hell. People burn cars without engine. And the car so small, cannot go in. In hell, all are Rolls Royce and Benz. No service centre since nobody burn. And when people burn HP, they burn the actual size. People burn a house, inside nothing, all chopsticks structure behind.

Sometimes, I want to ask my relatives all these questions but yet seems so offensive. So iâve been keeping these questions without asking anyone.

Treat it as a redeem voucher to exchange something overthere

you forgot to add...... her  maybe 3rd lagi atas  cousin now staying at Bournemouth Road  :a-fun:    

ya....so true! A few weeks ago i gave my daughter a piece of my mind.......used myself, her mum and her brother to point out how lucky she is to have i-phone and complete own room. Obviously she was envious of her classmates and a 2nd cousin who travel every year to europe and other parts of the world! Really need to bring them back to earth and it is not easy , thanks to fb and ig.

Edited by BanCoe

Kids going for iPhone x with given allowance?