When PHV is mentioned, what are your immediate thoughts?

SGCMHello

I see phv I over or undertake to go in front.

Don't feel safe behind them and moreover most would road hog. However they would gave way unlike taxi drivers.

​Actually there are also some drivers switch from Taxi to U/G and then switch back to Taxi again.

​The killer part will be income tax ( car rental and petrol - non deductible) , I believe soon quite a lot of U/G drivers will either throw towel or switch to taxi.

Some taxi drivers switch from Taxi to U/G because of the 6 months low rental offer by U/G. After 6 months, they give up U/G and go back to drive taxi as Taxi companies also offer rebate to lure back some of the U/G drivers.

gahmen wants car-lite

PHV is car, apparently taxi is not a car.

Only one thing govt wants (from beginning till end of time) is more revenue collections.

They have not explain what car lite actually means. Less cars, or less car (taxi) usage? The environment and traffic situation is not going to improve if there are 50 percent less cars but 20 percent (current absolute PHV numbers roughly) clocks 7 times more mileage each.

Encouraging/allowing PHV and taxis runs contrary to their "car lite" objective.

But it sure keep COE oremium high....

First of all, I think most ordinary Singaporeans, PHV or not, aren't exactly great drivers to begin with. The proliferation of PHVs only serve to expose these behaviour more obviously.

That said, I think there needs to be more accountability from the operators to rein in their drivers and their behaviour.

My experience here in China so far with Didi (the only operator here now) is quite telling. Essentially the customer is more or less king and drivers have to comply with the rules.

At the end of every trip riders have to rate the driver. Anything less than 5 stars is a complaint, and you have to put a reason. If your reason is 'Unsafe/dangerous driving', Didi will give you a call and ask you for details. You can then choose to lodge an official complaint or let the matter go.

If you lodge an official complaint the driver will be suspended. This keeps the drivers on their toes and most of them so far have been, at the very least, very careful with their driving.

Highly reckless

and self-centered.

Cash-strapped private-hire driver who killed man in accident asks for advice online, gets blasted by netizens
car_2.jpg

FacebookTwitterWhatGoogle GmailShare

A private-hire driver who asked for help online after killing a Filipino pedestrian in a fatal accident has come under flak from many netizens. 

The fatal accident happened along Tiong Bahru Road, in front of a carpark at Block 104A Henderson Crescent at Jan 27, at around 4.45pm, reports Shin Min Daily News

The 42-year-old victim came from the Philippines and worked as an accountant at an event company. 

In Facebook user Soh Fernando’s post, he said that the victim had ‘dashed out of nowhere’ leading to the accident.

The original post is no longer visible on the Facebook user’s account but has been reposted by another Facebook user.

According to the Soh’s post, the vehicle’s windscreen was smashed during the collision, and there were also dents on his bonnet and front bumper. 

He further revealed that he had rented the vehicle and the rental company had demanded $4,300 in reparation fees for damages to the car.

To make matters worse, he was unable to retrieve his car.

He wrote:

“My car now at TP.”

He alleged that the rental company also told him that they would not provide him with a new vehicle unless he paid the sum.

In the meantime, they would continue charging him the daily rental fees.

Soh continued:

“TP took the CCTV footage already. If no $4300, no replacement car.”

The driver also added that the case was under investigation by the police and he could not afford to pay the rental company. 

Hence, he appealed for netizens will be able to advise him on his situation. 

Many of the victim’s friends and family members have responded to the driver’s post.

They accused him of being ‘self-centred' and 'vile', citing that he was only concerned about the damages to his car and not the man he killed. 

Said a Facebook user:

"The "uncle" you claimed was not an uncle at all. He was one of the sweetest, generous young man I have had the fortune to be a friend with. 

"Your post about money is utterly vile, disgusting and self-centered.

"You did not once comment on his condition, did you? Well, let me update you. 

"I hope and I know he will rest in peace. I hope you get your just deserve."

In response to media queries, the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) said that a man was conveyed to Singapore General Hospital for treatment, and the hospital was informed to be on standby to receive the man. 

A police spokesman confirmed the incident and said that the man died after getting conveyed to a hospital.

Investigations are ongoing. 

First of all, I think most ordinary Singaporeans, PHV or not, aren't exactly great drivers to begin with. The proliferation of PHVs only serve to expose these behaviour more obviously.

That said, I think there needs to be more accountability from the operators to rein in their drivers and their behaviour.

My experience here in China so far with Didi (the only operator here now) is quite telling. Essentially the customer is more or less king and drivers have to comply with the rules.

At the end of every trip riders have to rate the driver. Anything less than 5 stars is a complaint, and you have to put a reason. If your reason is 'Unsafe/dangerous driving', Didi will give you a call and ask you for details. You can then choose to lodge an official complaint or let the matter go.

If you lodge an official complaint the driver will be suspended. This keeps the drivers on their toes and most of them so far have been, at the very least, very careful with their driving.

they have no problem to recruit drivers, here like other industries with shortage of manpower, employee/driver have more say.

The app here also ask for 'area need to be improved' when you rate lower than 5*, but usually rider dun bother to type.

But lately I see some friendly drivers will end the trip with "thank you and have a nice day, if dun mind can you rate me 5* Ok?"

and self-centered.

9]

Cash-strapped private-hire driver who killed man in accident asks for advice online, gets blasted by netizens

9]

car_2.jpg

A private-hire driver who asked for help online after killing a Filipino pedestrian in a fatal accident has come under flak from many netizens.

The fatal accident happened along Tiong Bahru Road, in front of a carpark at Block 104A Henderson Crescent at Jan 27, at around 4.45pm, reports Shin Min Daily News.

The 42-year-old victim came from the Philippines and worked as an accountant at an event company.

In Facebook user Soh Fernandoâs post, he said that the victim had âdashed out of nowhereâ leading to the accident.

The original post is no longer visible on the Facebook userâs account but has been reposted by another Facebook user.

According to the Sohâs post, the vehicleâs windscreen was smashed during the collision, and there were also dents on his bonnet and front bumper.

He further revealed that he had rented the vehicle and the rental company had demanded $4,300 in reparation fees for damages to the car.

He wrote:

âMy car now at TP.â

He alleged that the rental company also told him that they would not provide him with a new vehicle unless he paid the sum.

Soh continued:

âTP took the CCTV footage already. If no $4300, no replacement car.â

The driver also added that the case was under investigation by the police and he could not afford to pay the rental company.

Many of the victimâs friends and family members have responded to the driverâs post.

They accused him of being âself-centred' and 'vile', citing that he was only concerned about the damages to his car and not the man he killed.

Said a Facebook user:

"The "uncle" you claimed was not an uncle at all. He was one of the sweetest, generous young man I have had the fortune to be a friend with.

In response to media queries, the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) said that a man was conveyed to Singapore General Hospital for treatment, and the hospital was informed to be on standby to receive the man.

A police spokesman confirmed the incident and said that the man died after getting conveyed to a hospital.

Actually who here have killed a person on the road before? What is the psyche or mental state, does one really feel unbearable guilt towards victim, or just a sense of oh shit? Would you try to attend the wake or make up to the victim beyond the insurance? I thankfully haven’t but Maybe should have a thread for people who had to share some of the experience

and self-centered.

car_2.jpg

The fatal accident happened along Tiong Bahru Road, in front of a carpark at Block 104A Henderson Crescent at Jan 27, at around 4.45pm, reports Shin Min Daily News

The 42-year-old victim came from the Philippines and worked as an accountant at an event company. 

In Facebook user Soh Fernando’s post, he said that the victim had ‘dashed out of nowhere’ leading to the accident.

The original post is no longer visible on the Facebook user’s account but has been reposted by another Facebook user.

According to the Soh’s post, the vehicle’s windscreen was smashed during the collision, and there were also dents on his bonnet and front bumper. 

He wrote:

“My car now at TP.”

Soh continued:

“TP took the CCTV footage already. If no $4300, no replacement car.”

Many of the victim’s friends and family members have responded to the driver’s post.

They accused him of being ‘self-centred' and 'vile', citing that he was only concerned about the damages to his car and not the man he killed. 

Said a Facebook user:

This type confirm no conscience. Sorry also don't bother to say. Care only about "how much". How come he's not being arrested? His victim died.

Actually who here have killed a person on the road before? What is the psyche or mental state, does one really feel unbearable guilt towards victim, or just a sense of oh shit? Would you try to attend the wake or make up to the victim beyond the insurance? I thankfully haven’t but Maybe should have a thread for people who had to share some of the experience

I have come across 2 cases ... not myself ...

one case is my friend langgah a cat in the carpark ... he felt bad but he could not do anything himself so he paid the hdb cleaner $200 to take care of the cat while it recovered ... and of course, he did check in on the cleaner a few times.

Second case is my ex-staff's mother was hit by a car that overtook on the left side of the road in Malaysia. the woman was pushing her bicycle on the sand path when the car overtook another car on the left and rammed right into her from the back.

The worst thing was that the driver of the car was an ex-colleague of ours !! During the funeral, the driver had to ask for police escort to attend the funeral.

just borrowing this thread to share this PHV related case.

quite funny how the driver tried to get rid of the  EHT

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/private-hire-driver-jailed-five-weeks-for-attacking-parking-warden-and-exam.

SINGAPORE - A 25-year-old private-hire driver has been sentenced to five weeks' jail and ordered to pay compensation for attacking a parking warden and an exam invigilator in separate incidents.

Brian Cai also threw into the sea an electronic handheld terminal (EHT) that the parking warden used to issue a summons to him.

He was sentenced on Monday (July 9) on three charges - voluntarily causing hurt, using criminal force to deter a public servant from their duties and intentionally perverting the course of justice.

The court heard that on Sept 16 last year, Cai had parked his car illegally on Kadayanallur Street.

Parking Warden Chan Hing Wai, 46, took photographs of the vehicle with his EHT.

When Cai returned, he pleaded for leniency and asked Mr Chan to delete the photos.

Mr Chan explained that there was no such function on the EHT and Cai then asked him to turn it off.

Cai then became aggressive and hit Mr Chan's left hand, causing him to drop the EHT.

Cai snatched the EHT and sped off in his vehicle.

He tried to delete the photographs but could not do so. Desperate, Cai drove to Marina Barrage and threw the EHT into the sea.

He surrendered to the police the next day and made full restitution of over $2,200 for the EHT.

The parking summons could not be retrieved.

In an earlier and separate incident, Cai punched the examination invigilator at Kaplan Higher Education.

The court heard that while taking an examination on May 13 last year, Cai used his mobile phone to send a text message to his girlfriend even though he knew this was not allowed.

When an invigilator asked him to hand over the phone, he refused and decided to leave. The invigilator followed him as Cai went to the front of the examination hall to get his belongings.

Chief invigilator Terence Lim, 41, then approached the two and was informed of what had happened.

He held onto the door handle when Cai tried to leave. Cai then punched Mr Lim and fled.

Mr Lim broke his glasses and suffered blunt trauma on his right eye. His medical fees and the cost of replacing the spectacles amounted to around $1,100.

Cai, who has since been expelled from Kaplan, was ordered to pay Mr Lim the same amount as compensation.

In mitigation, Cai's lawyer T.M. Sinnadurai, said Cai had been the victim of child abuse. He also said his client felt true remorse.

District Judge Kenneth Yap, in passing sentence, told Cai: "Obviously you have a problem with respecting authority. You had an abusive childhood but that does not justify what you did. There are people who have been abused as children who grow up to be far more sensitive people as a result."

The judge added: "Think properly the next time before you act."

Cai could have faced up to seven years in jail and fined for intentionally perverting the course of justice

quite funny how the driver tried to get rid of the  EHT

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/private-hire-driver-jailed-five-weeks-for-attacking-parking-warden-and-exam.

SINGAPORE - A 25-year-old private-hire driver has been sentenced to five weeks' jail and ordered to pay compensation for attacking a parking warden and an exam invigilator in separate incidents.

Brian Cai also threw into the sea an electronic handheld terminal (EHT) that the parking warden used to issue a summons to him.

He was sentenced on Monday (July 9) on three charges - voluntarily causing hurt, using criminal force to deter a public servant from their duties and intentionally perverting the course of justice.

The court heard that on Sept 16 last year, Cai had parked his car illegally on Kadayanallur Street.

When Cai returned, he pleaded for leniency and asked Mr Chan to delete the photos.

Mr Chan explained that there was no such function on the EHT and Cai then asked him to turn it off.

Cai then became aggressive and hit Mr Chan's left hand, causing him to drop the EHT.

He tried to delete the photographs but could not do so. Desperate, Cai drove to Marina Barrage and threw the EHT into the sea.

He surrendered to the police the next day and made full restitution of over $2,200 for the EHT.

In an earlier and separate incident, Cai punched the examination invigilator at Kaplan Higher Education.

The court heard that while taking an examination on May 13 last year, Cai used his mobile phone to send a text message to his girlfriend even though he knew this was not allowed.

When an invigilator asked him to hand over the phone, he refused and decided to leave. The invigilator followed him as Cai went to the front of the examination hall to get his belongings.

Chief invigilator Terence Lim, 41, then approached the two and was informed of what had happened.

He held onto the door handle when Cai tried to leave. Cai then punched Mr Lim and fled.

Mr Lim broke his glasses and suffered blunt trauma on his right eye. His medical fees and the cost of replacing the spectacles amounted to around $1,100.

Cai, who has since been expelled from Kaplan, was ordered to pay Mr Lim the same amount as compensation.

In mitigation, Cai's lawyer T.M. Sinnadurai, said Cai had been the victim of child abuse. He also said his client felt true remorse.

District Judge Kenneth Yap, in passing sentence, told Cai: "Obviously you have a problem with respecting authority. You had an abusive childhood but that does not justify what you did. There are people who have been abused as children who grow up to be far more sensitive people as a result."

Cai could have faced up to seven years in jail and fined for intentionally perverting the course of justice

So all the other parking summons also cannot be retrieved?

Heng ah all the people that kenna summons but didn't have 

to pay!  [thumbsup]

quite funny how the driver tried to get rid of the EHT

Cai could have faced up to seven years in jail and fined for intentionally perverting the course of justice

5 weeks only?