34,000 PH car drivers yet to obtain vocational licence

Roborovskii

What year was it?

late 90s...tried to remember but cant. I oni remembered i ran a redlight a few yrs before......the traffic light outside maxwell hq towards maxwell foodcentre....knn...to preoccupied with a case and didnt notice the traffic light hanging along the rows of street shops was red. Knn.....one way street and i nearly hit an old auntie who was crossing the road sia!

What year was it?

there was once i accompanied some friends to maxwell to take back their license. 7 kana 1 yr suspension and 1 kana double because he was the only guy with a pillion. The io was like screaming, shouting and scolding the whole group before he allowed them to take back their license......everyone of us were like 'yes,sir'....'yes, sir' 'thank you, sir' and before we left the office he reminded us to ride safely....

So lenient.

Those were the days life was simple.

7 kana 1 yr suspension and $1k fine....one kana double charge......last time was like a death sentence, you know....

So he gave them back the licence was to give them another chance?

Caught at night?

ya....at night after midnite show. No chance.....all kana charge in court.....licence tio gantung plus fine. We were there to collect back the license. TP was getting hard on bikers.....operation RoadRunner was in full-swing....Changi East Coast, upper changi all tio operation every week. TP dont like the way you or bike look.....they confiscate ic and license and escort you to Maxwell. I ever see 1 group of biker about 30-50 from amk kana escort by tp to maxwell.....i passed them on cte on my way to Orchard......all looked sianz.... Edited by Eviilusion

thats what the media does... haha...

waa bro so good sia... and each test $1 some more...

Edited by Yewheng

Wrong, it's 18 yr old. Why 18 yrs old it is because there are foreigners who passed their license at age 16 and come to Singapore and want to drive private chauffeur under work pass holder. They still need at least 2 yrs driving experience. Since they can optain license at age 16, so minimum age will be 18, not 21.

18 yrs old.....that young yrs is the hot and furious age. I wont want to be driven by an 18 yrs old hot-head......dangerous sia!

i took my class 3 quite late in my life.....think i was 35 when i took class 3! Was not interested to take as was more into bikes earlier in my life and bo lui to buy car.....

Wrong, it's 18 yr old. Why 18 yrs old it is because there are foreigners who passed their license at age 16 and come to Singapore and want to drive private chauffeur under work pass holder. They still need at least 2 yrs driving experience. Since they can optain license at age 16, so minimum age will be 18, not 21.

oops... even younger than i thought. i thought grabhitch then is 18 yo...

17,000 who passed are the serious one, mostly the full timers and some part timers.

The rest of part timers or "leisure" timers probably make the 34,000.

It's easy to start private hire driving earlier on.

You just need to pay for insurance and/or register a company.

Later, you need to make a little effort to get the decal on.

The last stage, where you need to go for medical, attend course and pass exam takes a lot more effort.

This is where most will drop out.

The exam is not impossible, but frustrating when you have to memorize stupid LTA fines and demerit points. What the hell does testing this kind of memory good for ? Are you going to be LTA enforcement officer ?

Nothing to test so have to think of cock and bull to test. What else do you expect from the worst stat board in Singapore.

Some test is good for regulation and control, else anyone can drive PHV and more dangerous roads ahead. 

18 yrs old.....that young yrs is the hot and furious age. I wont want to be driven by an 18 yrs old hot-head......dangerous sia!

That as of now it still stand at 18yrs old and min 2 yrs driving experience unless lta change the age requirement.

BTW singaporeans can never drive phc for business at age 18 as the 2nd criteria of minimum 2 yrs of driving experience will never be met. 18yrs old is more for foreigners who had passed their driving license at age 16 at their home country.

Edited by Yewheng

Thought even bo lui buy car, many people also go take class 3 before 30s?

bro....got other important things. Class 3 and Cars arent that important when you have a family to feed.....

That as of now it still stand at 18yrs old and min 2 yrs driving experience unless lta change the age requirement.

BTW singaporeans can never drive phc for business at age 18 as the 2nd criteria of minimum 2 yrs of driving experience will never be met. 18yrs old is more for foreigners who had passed their driving license at age 16 at their home country.

18 yrs old should be studying.....not driving for uber or the likes. They should make it mandatory for phv drivers to be 25 yo and above.......below 25 even insurance companies have 2nd thoughts of covering them hence the expensive fees for those below 25.

No money, how to study?

Maybe work PHV to pay for future school fees.

not easy to study while driving phv especially in SG where cars are very expensive......there are ang mo who says uber is the modern slave trade........the amount you get for the long hours doesnt commensurate with the returns. They did calculations (tilted to one side of course) which shows the rental for the car (including taxes), the cut uber takes per customer and the low charges for customers doesnt bode well for the drivers in the long run......some drives 12 hrs a day to be in the black.

Well, these young people have the advantage of being young, energetic and plenty of time.