Boleh Land Election 2018

Picnic06-Biante15

wah u political analyst or malaysian?

Haha , not analyst la.

Just a malaysian chinese who lived here for more than 30 years whom is still interested in msian politics but without any political affliation.

lao ma said ... oppo can win judging from the "huge turnout in rallies" ... tsunami lai liao

haha ... people go to oppo rally is to have a "night out" fun listen to story and sarcastic remarks ... it's proven in spore liao ... lol

when come election day ... same old same old

post-7984-0-04438200-1524122818_thumb.jpg

Haha , not analyst la.

Just a malaysian chinese who lived here for more than 30 years whom is still interested in msian politics but without any political affliation.

oh u pink ic liao? or still going back to vote?

lao ma said ... oppo can win judging from the "huge turnout in rallies"

haha ... people go to oppo rally is to have a "night out" fun listen to story and sarcastic remarks ... it's proven in spore liao ... lol

the difference is they have bersih rallies. but i think compared to after 2013, the rallies are much smaller in size.

The Chinese has deserted the ruling coalition since GE 2008 . So much so that in GE 2013 , Najib attributed BN's worst ever performance ( they lost popular vote for first time ) to the Chinese , labelling it a " Chinese Tsunami " .  His remark of " Apa lagi Cina mahu " ( What more does the Chinese want ) made headlines on the local newspaper . 

MCA and Gerakan has only 7 seats from last GE and the number is unlikely to increase this GE .  DAP Perak chief Nga Kor Ming is moving to Telok Intan to take on Gerakan chief Mah Siew Kiong ,  Johor DAP chief Liew Chin Tong is going to Ayer Hitam to take on MCA No.2 Wee Ka Siong , and MCA chief Liow Tiong Lai , which won Bentong by less than 500 votes last GE , will have a hard time against DAP's Wong Tuck .

Looks like DAP is gunning for the MCA and Gerakan's chiefs this GE . It will be fun to watch .  

The thing is, while the Chinese has deserted BN, the opposition is no angel to the Chinese also.  People like Anwar and the PAS spiritual leaders are all anti-Chinese.  Look at how they run Kelantan and the Chinese have all deserted there.  That's why I say being a Chinese voter in Malaysia is in a catch 22 situation, just a choice of the lesser evil.

Edited by Ingenius

As a Singaporean, I would like Najib to win, because the relationship is so good under him, unlike before, when Singapore was always the punching bag and calls for confrontation was common.  Nowadays we have bought over the train station site, building cross strait mrt and hsr ..

we have chicken rice. I'm sure they have nasi lemak/nasi padang for the BN supporters hehe

no more abalone porridge?

lao ma said ... oppo can win judging from the "huge turnout in rallies" ... tsunami lai liao

Agree. From the last 2 GEs , the huge turnout does not translate into votes. Singapore same , msia also same.

ahjib kor is pro business

got $$ got talk

you hap me i hap you [thumbsup][laugh]

As a Singaporean, I would like Najib to win, because the relationship is so good under him, unlike before, when Singapore was always the punching bag and calls for confrontation was common.  Nowadays we have bought over the train station site, building cross strait mrt and hsr ..

oh u pink ic liao? or still going back to vote?

the difference is they have bersih rallies. but i think compared to after 2013, the rallies are much smaller in size.

Still msia ic. Have not voted before.

The thing is, while the Chinese has deserted BN, the opposition is no angel to the Chinese also. People like Anwar and the PAS spiritual leaders are all anti-Chinese. Look at how they run Kelantan and the Chinese have all deserted there. That's why I say being a Chinese voter in Malaysia is in a catch 22 situation, just a choice of the lesser evil.

In GE 94 and 99 , the chinese were strongly backing the coalition. The thing about chinese votes , they are either with you or they desert you.

When you have a split in the predominantly malay votes , the chinese votes became an important swing. So its how you play the game and get them on your side.

Divide and rule.

The chinese are not interested in policital power. They want good governance , meritocracy , fair and corruption free. Work hard and make their money. Unfortunately , with the political situation very much race and religion based , very often they will be made the bogeyman. Mahathir used to portray DAP as chinese chauvinists but is now teaming up with them.

There are no permanant friends or foes in msian politics.

The thing is, while the Chinese has deserted BN, the opposition is no angel to the Chinese also. People like Anwar and the PAS spiritual leaders are all anti-Chinese. Look at how they run Kelantan and the Chinese have all deserted there. That's why I say being a Chinese voter in Malaysia is in a catch 22 situation, just a choice of the lesser evil.

PAS no longer part of oppo coalition. The number of seats PAS will get after this GE is questionable. A lot of moderate leaders had left PAS & formed another party.

Kelantan is run by a group of Muslim clerics. These ppl only care about hudud rather than economic development. Chinese are business-minded. No biz, of course run la. For younger gen of all races in Kelantan, they left Kelantan for better opportunities.

Look at Penang run by DAP. Do you think Chinese still want BN?

Not forgetting Robert Kuok was UMNO bogeymen early part of the year. He is well respected & Chinese as a community is ANGRY.

Unlike Singapore politics, Malaysia politics is multifacet.

Agree . As the saying goes , prosper thy neighbour . 

The ruling coalition has done well for the country economically , especially at attracting FDIs . While not rated as A++ by Moody or S&P , Msia's economy has performed rather well and and is capable of withstanding financial turmoils . In the last 2008 global financial crisis , its economy did not take a severe beating unlike other countries worldwide . No issues of property bubble or foreclosures as local borrowings were tightly regulated . 

Its GDP of almost 1 trillion ringgit is about double the countries like Vietnam and Philippines , but with a population ( 30 mil ) of half their sizes. In other words , its per capita GDP is about 4 times higher than Vietnam or Philippines . Globally , its GDP ranked around 28th worldwide which is considered relatively well off for a small population . The ringgit depreciated in the past few years primarily because of the drop in global fuel price .

BUT.

Where did the wealth go ? Herein lies the problem . The wealth has not trickled down to the masses . Its concentrated on the top few . The B40 ( bottom 40% earners ) are having a hard time making ends meet . The middle class has not much disposable income after spending on necessities . A fresh graduate in SIngapore starts with a salary of SGD 2,800 and spends $5 for his lunch .  A fresh graduate in KL starts with a salary of RM 2,800 and spends RM 10 for his lunch . 

The biggest grouse in this election is the high costs of living . The opposition is scoring points on the GST issue . While Malaysia's neighbours and especially China would prefer Najib to continue for stability reasons ,  you cannot stop the masses from voting you out if eveyone finds it tough to eke out a living . 

An unprecedented huge voter turnout of 85% caused BN to lose the popular vote in 2013 and if this huge turnout occur again this election, the tussle for federal power will be a very close one .  

no party election for the past 5 years

ownself elect ownself as party president? lol

bro, we no subscription. can trouble you to post full article here?

post-7984-0-35378300-1524215691_thumb.jpg