Car air-con

Discoburg

Sorry once again.

I won't recommend to anyone liao.

When the aircon was down, I went to Tomika and without checking anything just tell me to do aircon flushing with the machine.

After that I went to Kim and the boss himself took the trouble to check and pinpoint the problem. He said machine aircon flushing is not necessary.

So anyone if ever want a aircon shop, can give New Luck recommended by bro kb27 next time.

Come on bro. It’s not your fault. Kim’s service is good. Just that I was taken aback when people say $530 too expensive. Maybe the new Mazda part expensive?

No la, don't feel good also.

When I do repair works at my regular wkshop, I don't ask price of parts or labour costs. Cheap or expensive is relative. maybe the bro that says $530 is expensive can reveal his price for a Mazda 2 condenser replacement and which workshop 

I'll just leave it as it is bro. Will not asked around. No point now also and i am satisfied with the workmanship of the staffs there.

When I do repair works at my regular wkshop, I don't ask price of parts or labour costs. Cheap or expensive is relative. maybe the bro that says $530 is expensive can reveal his price for a Mazda 2 condenser replacement and which workshop 

:a-t2622:

No la, don't feel good also.

Yes, parts cost can vary by a huge amount. my brand new bosch alternator is $321 with GST. Surprisingly Cheaper than a brand new vios altis alternator

Just want to share my experience with aircon spolit.

I was in malaysia when my aircon suddenly started blowing hot air.  Went to the hawk tayer and they said it was due to the alternator. Changed the alternator but still cannot work.  They then refer me to the ws next door who immediately said the the compressor was spoil and the cheapest is a re-con china compressor that cost RM$1600.  WTF.  I don't buy that and came back with no aircon.  

Anyway, to cut it short, i gathered some information about car aircon down.  The easiest way for WS to fix is to change the whole compressor, so you find most WS will tell you this. But, this is not the case for most of the time.  Observe what the WS do.  Experienced mechanic should

1) Check power source, if no power, likely is relay problem.

2) Check compressor running.  If it runs and suspect compressor issue, they should check the input and output pressure.  

3) Check for broken rings and leaking hosts.

4) Check clutching area for overheating

5) Check refrigerant.  But, like what others mentioned, the system should be sealed, so leaking refrigerant means that there is problem with either the host or the coil.  

Just sharing my findings. 

I was in malaysia when my aircon suddenly started blowing hot air.  Went to the hawk tayer and they said it was due to the alternator. Changed the alternator but still cannot work.

Air con not working changing Alternator is the weirdest thing a WS can come up with the cheat.

Like changing tyres when the headlights not working.

Air con not working changing Alternator is the weirdest thing a WS can come up with the cheat.

Like changing tyres when the headlights not working.

Anyway, i got a whistling sound at the engine area that i'm not sure what happened.  It went off after they replaced the alternator.

Till now, i'm not sure whether the sound is due to that.  But, my main motivation to repair is because of the aircon.  If i know it doesn't work, I'll probably consider trading in my car since it is left with just a few months.  

Sorry once again.

I won't recommend to anyone liao. 

When the aircon was down, I went to Tomika and without checking anything just tell me to do aircon flushing with the machine.

After that I went to Kim and the boss himself took the trouble to check and pinpoint the problem. He said machine aircon flushing is not necessary. 

So anyone if ever want a aircon shop, can give New Luck recommended by bro kb27 next time. 

No worries bro, it's up to individual to decide upon recommendation. Me also had a bad experience with Tomika many years ago and I am actually glad that I went to Kim for my recent air-con repair few months ago. Air con was blowing hot air and went to a few air con shops asking me to change compressor, condensor, cooling coil etc. Kim only asked me to change control valve, compressor oil and some other stuffs for less than $300, telling me the other parts mentioned are still in good condition. He also told me the same thing, aircon flushing is useless. So I believe the boss should be trustworthy based on my overall conversation with him. Cheers. [drivingcar]

Thanks for sharing your experience.  [thumbsup]

Glad that someone backed me up else quite paiseh. 

Could be bah, I read somewhere Mazada parts quite ex. Anyway, quite easy to find out since u oredi knows the parts to be changed & gauged from there, inclusive labour charge. [;)]

I was in malaysia when my aircon suddenly started blowing hot air.  Went to the hawk tayer and they said it was due to the alternator. Changed the alternator but still cannot work.  They then refer me to the ws next door who immediately said the the compressor was spoil and the cheapest is a re-con china compressor that cost RM$1600.  WTF.  I don't buy that and came back with no aircon.  

Anyway, to cut it short, i gathered some information about car aircon down.  The easiest way for WS to fix is to change the whole compressor, so you find most WS will tell you this. But, this is not the case for most of the time.  Observe what the WS do.  Experienced mechanic should

1) Check power source, if no power, likely is relay problem.

2) Check compressor running.  If it runs and suspect compressor issue, they should check the input and output pressure.  

3) Check for broken rings and leaking hosts.

4) Check clutching area for overheating

5) Check refrigerant.  But, like what others mentioned, the system should be sealed, so leaking refrigerant means that there is problem with either the host or the coil.  

Just sharing my findings. 

Good tips. 

I go to Kim Aircon at Ubi bro.

He managed to solve all of my aircon issue.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/directory/merchant_reviews.php?MID=11500

Yes, Kim. I've been there twice liao!

The first time I was there (after searching in this forum), he checked and said that there was nothing wrong with the system, only the sensor was spoilt. He replaced it for $30/. 

More recently, my air-con was blowing hot air and I went to him again. This time, he checked and found that the coil (under the dash) was leaking. He proceeded to change it for $360, after $20 discount.

So far, with my two visits, I am satisfied with his service and charges!

Edited by Fitvip

Yes, Kim. I've been there twice liao!

The first time I was there (after searching in this forum), he checked and said that there was nothing wrong with the system, only the sensor was spoilt. He replaced it for $30/.

More recently, my air-con was blowing hot air and I went to him again. This time, he checked and found that the coil (under the dash) was leaking. He proceeded to change it for $360, after $20 discount.

So far, with my two visits, I am satisfied with his service and charges!

Glad you had good experience too.

And yes, u asked for discount...his standard discount is $20...hahaha.

How does the mechanic detect leak? use vacuum pump and gauges? and is there a need to top up compressor lubricant? i notice most people only bother with refrigerant only

it seems impossible to 100% to prevent leaks.. and those keep asking us to top up seems like con money..

Eh are my eyes playing tricks on me or my PC got problem, do you guys notice the above chinese advertisement! It not child frenly leh !

I don't think any child would be in this forum considering that they havent reach SG legal age for driving.

Anyway, its so easy to google for porn nowaday. Children dont need ads to invite them to go into such websites

Edited by Sotong1977