Environmental friendly or over done?

Jman888

plastic bags and other container i can understand but no straw and cup lids?

they probably need more cleaners to clean up more mess.

All 84 KFC outlets to stop providing plastic straws and lids for drinks
Charmaine Ng PUBLISHED JUN 18, 2018, 

hzkfc0618.jpg?itok=n_O_96Bn
The move will save an estimated 17.9 tonnes of single-use plastics in a year, KFC said.PHOTO: SHIN MIN DAILY NEWS

SINGAPORE - Fast-food chain KFC will no longer provide plastic straws or use plastic lids for drinks when customers dine at its 84 outlets here from June 20, in an initiative to go green.

The move will save an estimated 17.9 tonnes of single-use plastics in a year, it announced on Monday (June 18).

KFC will also review and introduce the use of more biodegradable packaging, it added.

"We acknowledge the strain that single-use plastics put on our environment and are taking steps to do our part in endeavouring a change," said its general manager Lynette Lee.

"We recognise that every little bit counts and are proud to be the first fast-food restaurant in Singapore to champion this movement, one straw at a time," she added in the statement.

However, plastic lids will still be used for takeaways. 

The move has earned KFC praise from environment-conscious Singaporeans, including Singapore Youth for Climate Action member Pamela Low. 

McDonald's will start rolling out paper straws in the United Kingdom and Ireland, with plans to phase out the plastic variety in all 1,361 locations there in 2019.

Ms Low told The Straits Times that while the announcement was "unexpected", she was happy to hear that KFC is taking steps to cut down its use of plastic. 

"I'm happy that KFC didn't just stop with plastic straws, but went further to stop using plastic lids as well," said the 22-year-old undergraduate. 

KFC is the latest business to stop using plastic disposables at its outlets, after six hotels pledged to stop using single-use plastic straws, stirrers, cutlery, toiletry bottles and plastic bags on June 1.

At least one foodcourt has also gone plastic straw-free, according to a Straits Times report in April.

The Koufu food court at Singapore Management University stopped using plastic straws and has introduced biodegradable takeaway packaging as well as reusable utensils.

Koufu's chief development officer David Yang said it will monitor the "overall response" before deciding whether to further the intiative to its other outlets.

McDonald’s told The Straits Times that it will be testing “straw alternatives” in selected countries.

“We will learn from these tests around the world to develop solutions that are feasible and scalable for us in Singapore,” it said.

plastic bags and other container i can understand but no straw and cup lids?

they probably need more cleaners to clean up more mess.

can dun fill so full to the brim?

i think its time we start to do something about 1 time use plastic.

europe is starting to ban them.

third world country is very hard to implement.

the thing is if our morning kopi packet, cannot use plastic bag and straw. and change is paper cup instead.

is it worst for the enviroment??

Edited by Beregond

can dun fill so full to the brim?

i think its time we start to do something about 1 time use plastic.

europe is starting to ban them.

third world country is very hard to implement.

the thing is if our morning kopi packet, cannot use plastic bag and straw. and change is paper cup instead.

is it worst for the enviroment??

Bring your own cup. I stopped using coffe cups and bought one from coffee bean and tea leaf, always bring my own to reduce use of disposable cups.

• Praise 15

I think its over done.

It is education of proper dispose of rubbish. Cant some scientist find a way to recycle these plastic or a way to dispose it and bury it where some bird dont lay eggs place?

Edited by Adrianli

Might as well start something like Bring Your Own Cup/Tray/Plate else dun eat. [laugh]

i think it is just marketing gimmick. Straw is hardly the biggest plastic contributor. Plastic packaging is. Just typical sensationalized article without data to back up. This sort of article just meant to create controversy and encourage discussion and debate and end up KFC brand starts to appear everywhere.

I think its over done.

It is education of proper dispose of rubbish. Cant some scientist find a way to recycle these plastic or a way to dispose it and bury it where some bird dont lay eggs place?

Not enough bird don't lay eggs place.

I think its over done.

if u watch those documentry , u will know how long plastic can stay on earth without discompose.

its exactly there is no proper way to get rid of them without harming the enviroment, thats why they come out with laws to start baning them.

anw its just a trial now at KFC , money is the most important factor,

if this trial cut down KFC income,  i dun believe they will contuine also <_<

I think its over done.

Agree and probably easier to manage the dispose in a small island like singapore with strict rules. Such campaign would apply to other country where people dispose the rubbish all over the place and cause huge damage to the environment. 

Education and introduce alternatives with a national campaign to encourage people to switch, doing it halfheartedly by one or two companies is hard to get anywhere. I salute people who took initiative by BYO cup/container etc though. 

They have to rethink what is the definition of Fast Food. 

Fast order, fast food preparation, fast eat, fast go.

One time use stuff is what makes all these possible.

Plastic no good? Why not disposable paper biodegradable straws? 

https://www.google.com.sg/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/business/2018/jun/15/mcdonalds-to-switch-to-paper-straws-in-uk-after-customer-concern

At least i see McD making a reasonable effort rather than just taking away an essential item to less messy fast food drinking. 

I think it’s good.

A straw take 1 min to manufacture, you only use it for 10 mins and it take 100 years to degrade.

Can buy metal straws from Qoo.

Edited by Fcw75

https://www.google.com.sg/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/business/2018/jun/15/mcdonalds-to-switch-to-paper-straws-in-uk-after-customer-concern

At least i see McD making a reasonable effort rather than just taking away an essential item to less messy fast food drinking.

Yep, they can use disposable paper biodegradable straws.

Plastic covers can be optional for those taking away.

Seriously this is overdone.

I think its over done.

Yes, just like in Japan, Taiwan and Australia. Start by "enforcing" the separation of trash. Not easy, but go read up on how Taiwan did it

Dont know if this work here or not? Remember last time our supermarket also dont provide plastic bags on certain days for customers but also give up on this liao.

you know the song ... its all about the money, money, money !!

it cost more to produce disposal paper packaging or whatever over plastic disposables.

I can accept doing away with the plastic cup lid, but no straws will make it tough for everyone.

well, I guess just make the tapow-ers pay extra 20c for each takeaway paper bag and do away with the plastic bags. then after offsetting the costs, KFC can then make official donation to some sort of environmental organization with the balance.

Dont know if this work here or not? Remember last time our supermarket also dont provide plastic bags on certain days for customers but also give up on this liao.

of all the supermarts I visited, Giant is the top scorer for giving out the most plastic bags !!

What you mean Giant give out the most plastic bags? I find NTUC also give out many plastic bags lo.

Go back to the good 'ol days at least the tin can can be recycled and not harmful to the enviro too 

Singapore really scores top in plastics use , really when compared to US or for that fact even India (even though they still have to go a long way of not littering) ; Even in restaurants  here they give water in  disposable cups, plates and even when they serve chilli paste they give it in so small like 1inch diameter plates..... aiyoh so flimsy 

Restaurants / Hawker Centres cant get workers no more...... 

Where to draw the line.........          ???? 

Our lives are becoming like plastic disposables too

....... and China does not want to import waste products like paper/plastics and E-waste no more too;  I guess others will follow suit too  

What you mean Giant give out the most plastic bags? I find NTUC also give out many plastic bags lo.

All the major super markets like ShengShiong, NTUC, Giant........ not even forgetting Mustafa too....... [laugh] 

i found that Mustafa's bags are the huge- est 

post-157298-0-73424000-1529375982_thumb.png

Edited by BanCoe

I just went to the beach at ecp on Sunday. Really lot of Styrofoam and plastic things floating in the sea and beach. That was after a cleanup event done at the same part of ecp.

I told my kids "that's rubbish". Unfortunately there's more rubbish than real organic things to show them.

I think plastics are great but we really overconsume them. But I think tetrapaks also take a lot of energy to break down.

I bring my own chopsticks and reusable containers to eat my salads. Only sometimes eat oily food or soups then throw away the containers.

Plastic bags I have too many (I always forget to bring my own bag cos I go ntuc after I finished work) but sometimes ask the cashier use less plastic bags also doesn't work lol. Think I will get a big IKEA bag to bring next time.

Look like Chinaman but longer lasting than those fibre like reusable bags who tend to tear.