Environmental friendly or over done?

Jman888

Is that your friend Jibby's car or Rosie's?? ... like kenna cavity search [laugh]

Its Dr M lah. He thot Jibby and Rosie melted all the gold and hid

it inside the car.

I already carried it and put inside Jibby's yatch parked off Langkawi.

When they fly there for holiday he will slip onto the yatch and sail away.

Actually, the best is still bicycle.

My fren has a bicycle pram to ferry his young kids.

Nuke waste has life beyond human civilisation.

Rain or carry bulky items or travel long distances, etc is not practical.

so about SGD0.10 each lah ... but quality super strong !!

Well, in China I have the feeling that we are liable for paying for the plastic bags (i.e. use more pay more) ...

However, we are a tourist-friendly country ... and also going to be an environmentally-friendly country ...

which I also hope for but keep forgetting to bring my used plastic bags ...

Sometimes I feel, maybe

- 1x plastic bag = Free

- 2-4x = 10 cts

- > 5x = 50 cts (cap.)

(in future, maybe an automated machine to count dispensed plastic bag)

Just to cultivate re-use/minimize use rather than keep discarding & "since is free" would be a good next step ...

my boy still need a straw for his usual ice milo otherwise it would definitely spill all over his body.

KFC should really consider go back to the olden days of serving food.

kfc-we-do-chicken-right-1980s.jpg?w=381

Cups should use mugs like in A&W. 

100-things-in-80s-food-aw-root-beer-floa

Save a lot from paper and plastic packaging.

Well, in China I have the feeling that we are liable for paying for the plastic bags (i.e. use more pay more) ...

However, we are a tourist-friendly country ... and also going to be an environmentally-friendly country ...

which I also hope for but keep forgetting to bring my used plastic bags ...

Sometimes I feel, maybe

- 1x plastic bag = Free

- 2-4x = 10 cts

- > 5x = 50 cts (cap.)

(in future, maybe an automated machine to count dispensed plastic bag)

Just to cultivate re-use/minimize use rather than keep discarding & "since is free" would be a good next step ...

I think should have some replacement, e.g. paper straws, etc.

to be serious probably we will use my son personal cup when we dine at KFC.

To save the earth, many other things (more damaging than straws or lids) should be banned like bottled water (in glass or pet), disposable toiletries, small jar of jams (at hotel breakfast) etc.  All are extremely wasteful.

It is up to the young generation to save it for themselves.  We (most in MCF) won't live long enough to see the environment dies.

PS - has anyone noticed the disposable utensils at Boon Tong Kee?  That's like 3 times the normal weight, and sturdier than metal ones.  Now that's extreme waste.

as mentioned by some here, i think KFC just wants to cut costs. mentioning "environmental friendly" is just an excuse or afterthought...

i have not eaten at KFC in SG for the past 2 years already. too expensive...

in Hainan supermarket, I paid 50 cents(rmb) for each plastic bag ... but their plastic bag damn thick and strong !! very worth it !

so troublesome for what ??

all might as well do away with the paper cups as well .. and all serve canned drinks instead !

all the spent alum cans can also be recycled also mah ... and I can't imagine walking around with a paper cup and drinking the same time, but its doable with a can drink.

coffee shop sell $1.20 per can, so fast food also sell $1.20 lor ...

I dont mind paying 50 cents rmb for a good strong plastic bag to hold more things and can be reused a few time also. Giant making cheap lousy bags to save cost is just making it worse, they may be using more bags instead lor. 

do away with paper cups and sell canned drinks, will unlikely happen in fast food chains lor, and the answer is very obvious mah. Its about the money!!!

sell you in can for $1.20 a can, and thats 330ml of water. Next time if you happen to buy a drink from the chains, remove the ice and see how much actual drink is left in the cup. and how much is that drink? not forgetting the drinks are coming from the machine in a tank. 

Its all about the money bro!!!  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Looking forward towards using hydrogen fuel. Toyota is heading new direction towards that fuel.

Moreover battery technologies are improving. Let's hope the future of a more lasting battery (reliable and safe) that creates less wastage will come soon.

KFC can go back to the days of using cutlery.

Use those washable plates, cutlery, cups and metal straws.

Back to using cutlery is even more not possible as they have to hire someone to wash it. Every industry is having manpower crunch. And KFC is no longer the higher class restaurant than current fast food chains. Edited by Xers007

we are in a dilemma, on one hand, we tell people to save energy, and reduce waste on the other hand we want to boast econmy and hold F1 which is a total waste of natural resources 

I bet many will react and say we do need to do what is necessary inspite of saving this world but quewis, do we really need this? 

Back to using cutlery is even more not possible as they have to hire someone to wash it. Every industry is having manpower crunch. And KFC is no longer the higher class restaurant than current fast food chains.

They may have to invest on dishwashing machines to counter the manpower option.

I think the rest of the eatery industry is facing the same problem.

This could be the long term solution.

Actually Arnolds Chicken is still using washable cutlery. I'm not sure whether it is considered as higher class.

Edited by DACH

we are in a dilemma, on one hand, we tell people to save energy, and reduce waste on the other hand we want to boast econmy and hold F1 which is a total waste of natural resources

I bet many will react and say we do need to do what is necessary inspite of saving this world but quewis, do we really need this?

such hypocrisy happening everywhere. Build casino and set up a ngo. Remember the advert daddy bet on German! haha

Remember last week Trump Kim summit there are critics on making the skylines brighter.

And what's the point of switching off the lights on Earth Day?

All for show only.

Dr M can reduce his share of the HSR by 60% !!

but it seems our side is determined to spend the same amount of possible savings on what i think ppl call "art". Looking nice ain't gonna get ppl to where they are going ... and even worse, looking at art will not make ppl any happier if their bloody rides are going to be late.

aren't we always in a dilemma and self contradictory.

To save the earth, many other things (more damaging than straws or lids) should be banned like bottled water (in glass or pet), disposable toiletries, small jar of jams (at hotel breakfast) etc. All are extremely wasteful.

It is up to the young generation to save it for themselves. We (most in MCF) won't live long enough to see the environment dies.

PS - has anyone noticed the disposable utensils at Boon Tong Kee? That's like 3 times the normal weight, and sturdier than metal ones. Now that's extreme waste.

We always recycle the boon tong kee disposable utensils. Either we use it for foodcourt meal (we have few sets in my car

do away with paper cups and sell canned drinks, will unlikely happen in fast food chains lor, and the answer is very obvious mah. Its about the money!!!

sell you in can for $1.20 a can, and thats 330ml of water. Next time if you happen to buy a drink from the chains, remove the ice and see how much actual drink is left in the cup. and how much is that drink? not forgetting the drinks are coming from the machine in a tank. 

Its all about the money bro!!!  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

heheh ... I worked in fast food for 6 years when I was much younger ...

in 1995, the cost for a small 8oz soft drink was only $0.14 and they were selling it $0.80c.

anyway, they cud shave off a lot from their operating costs for maintaining the drink tower not forgetting to mention the time and manpower.

and if a coffeshop can make money from $1.20, I am very sure these big eateries will be able to get it from the suppliers at an even cheaper price.

Yes, those stories does seem so terrible.

But was wondering how come science cannot come out with some plastic desolving solution/chemical to melt and restore it into its natural forms? and then can re-use them!

Anyways where doew raw plastics come from??? Must be from earth and it can go back to earth... literally! 

Those chemicals that breaks down plastics are harmful to our environment as well. Just in another form which we aren't really bothered with.

In fact there are machines widely available in the market these days. Municipal/Organic waste digestors are the way to go. Some machines can digest up to 5 tonnes of wastes per day and the by-product is just ash which can be reused for other purposes such as roads, building construction, organic compost (fertilizers) for planting and landscaping purposes.. 

I suppose the way KFC is doing it is not wrong but maybe could be done in a more subtle manner. Personally support the idea of reducing plastic usage and those implementation by KFC doesnt affect me since I'm able to drink off a cup without the lid and straw. But they do need to cater for exceptions especially those whom are handicapped.

When i was in Beijing, it is the same.  I need to pay 50 cents for each plastic bag.

Only Lao Wai buy plastic bag to pack groceries.

Even our neighbours Boleh Land Tesco also no plastic bags provided upon checkout unless you pay for it.