COE Bidding – 1st Round of July 2018

Carbon82

OK. I only managed to TD :

Wish - Fantastic Car But Zero advanced features like VSC (Very Important), CC, SL, Hill Assist etc. Nearly bought.  SE Karen update me pricing every bid ...... FOR 1 Year !!  If buy Wish look for Karen @ Leng Kee (was in Ubi), U will get a magical deal.

GC4 - Very High Spec car except Engine always like roaring on a TD route, maybe is my driving.  I like the auto tail gate feature. But UK LTA said the emission is horrible lor when SG LTA say -20K rebate.  True enough, now a C1 car.

5008 - POA liao - Is the radiator blower fan still mounted IN FRONT of the radiator ? (Design Issue).  My Friend 5008 actually have a bad blower TWICE in 3 years.

M5 - No SE to service, too crowded.

Mobilio - Super awesome FC 4.6L/100km, Quiet.  But the body too thin, thin as in metal sheet.  My wife for the first time say the door really really too light wor.  And no advance features VSC (Very Important), CC, SL, Hill Assist etc. Got free ICE with GPS, ya right.

GS - Never TD, Fainted just looking at pricelist. And no TD at Expo, don't know why AD sell can in EXPO with No TD.

I will not consider a Nissan as it is distributed by TC, probably not within this lifetime as long as TC is distributing them.  They refused me a TD for Sheepy. As SE told me to GO HOME to think about it BEFORE coming to TD.  She probably think I can't afford a car anyway.

Anyway, Nissan offering also a bit hype lor, 1.2L-T Engine QQ, driving it is really an UPHILL Battle and Got C1, don't know what to say.

Carens is chosen because :

a) Cheapest - No Explanation Required.

b) DPF over SCR, while many forum mentioned the advanced in SCR over DPF.  I am hastened to jump into a SCR based Car as UK LTA test results shows the poorer performance in term of emission  over DPF lor. Actually, in heavy vehicle SCR is current number 1.

SCR car can smell a bit urine lor, as ADBlue is urine in blue dye .....heeeee...

c) Advanced features - VSC, CC, SL, RS, AHL, DRL, Hill Assist, VGT, Climatic Control, UWB mm position sensing of car key, It even fold the side mirror.

d) Reliability - Kia can made it leh.  My previous Kia Carens did achieve ZERO tow record for 10 years lor.

e) Diesel Engine is quite OK one.  

f) Kia Carens U2 1.7L, morning cold start don't have ANY aromatic odour lor.  

g) DCT - Dry Clutch Transmission - Kia 2nd Generation Design. From 2012 to now, not much major complain or recall in general or as of writing. Touch wood.

h) No one want to steal a Kia in Malaysia.  Anyway, Malaysia is quite safe one, so far so good.  My malaysian friend 1 month old Wish got stolen even in Tesco Indah lor ....... Wow, sure bo ?

As for those super jumbo MPVs, either Jack Neo is driving it or ....... very OK people. I can't afford it, I afraid cannot park in a CP properly, 2L drink like 2L, 2.5L drink like 2.5L.  My little Carens Diesel, always "tell" me I am not thirsty lor

Freed is a nice car since 2008, Never got a chance to TD as it is generally sold by PI lor.

Sienta also have awesome Start-Stop.

You test drive all these car? Wish, M5, GC4, 5008, GS and Carens

Not consider Toyota Noah or Honda Freed before?

• Dislike 1

Wish - Fantastic Car But Zero advanced features like VSC (Very Important), CC, SL, Hill Assist etc. Nearly bought.  SE Karen update me pricing every bid ...... FOR 1 Year !!  If buy Wish look for Karen @ Leng Kee (was in Ubi), U will get a magical deal.

GC4 - Very High Spec car except Engine always like roaring on a TD route, maybe is my driving.  I like the auto tail gate feature. But UK LTA said the emission is horrible lor when SG LTA say -20K rebate.  True enough, now a C1 car.

5008 - POA liao - Is the radiator blower fan still mounted IN FRONT of the radiator ? (Design Issue).  My Friend 5008 actually have a bad blower TWICE in 3 years.

Mobilio - Super awesome FC 4.6L/100km, Quiet.  But the body too thin, thin as in metal sheet.  My wife for the first time say the door really really too light wor.  And no advance features VSC (Very Important), CC, SL, Hill Assist etc. Got free ICE with GPS, ya right.

GS - Never TD, Fainted just looking at pricelist. And no TD at Expo, don't know why AD sell can in EXPO with No TD.

I will not consider a Nissan as it is distributed by TC, probably not within this lifetime as long as TC is distributing them.  They refused me a TD for Sheepy. As SE told me to GO HOME to think about it BEFORE coming to TD.  She probably think I can't afford a car anyway.

Anyway, Nissan offering also a bit hype lor, 1.2L-T Engine QQ, driving it is really an UPHILL Battle and Got C1, don't know what to say.

b) DPF over SCR, while many forum mentioned the advanced in SCR over DPF.  I am hastened to jump into a SCR based Car as UK LTA test results shows the poorer performance in term of emission  over DPF lor. Actually, in heavy vehicle SCR is current number 1.

SCR car can smell a bit urine lor, as ADBlue is urine in blue dye .....heeeee...

c) Advanced features - VSC, CC, SL, RS, AHL, DRL, Hill Assist, VGT, Climatic Control, UWB mm position sensing of car key, It even fold the side mirror.

d) Reliability - Kia can made it leh.  My previous Kia Carens did achieve ZERO tow record for 10 years lor.

g) DCT - Dry Clutch Transmission - Kia 2nd Generation Design. From 2012 to now, not much major complain or recall in general or as of writing. Touch wood.

h) No one want to steal a Kia in Malaysia.  Anyway, Malaysia is quite safe one, so far so good.  My malaysian friend 1 month old Wish got stolen even in Tesco Indah lor ....... Wow, sure bo ?

As for those super jumbo MPVs, either Jack Neo is driving it or ....... very OK people. I can't afford it, I afraid cannot park in a CP properly, 2L drink like 2L, 2.5L drink like 2.5L.  My little Carens Diesel, always "tell" me I am not thirsty lor

Freed is a nice car since 2008, Never got a chance to TD as it is generally sold by PI lor.

Wow... Very nice review for MPVs.

I did consider Caren but it is more expensive than Wish.

I think Wish got VSC.

I am also had similar experience in Tan Chong Ubi Showroom. The SE never entertain me even though I was checking their showroom car for more than half an hour.

what is CG4 and GS?

M5 - are u referring to bmw m5? don't know that so many ppl are looking at m5 n no se free to service u.

huat ah, why rush when it's going lower  [smash]

Agree.Prices are not going to runaway. Since Hyundai and Honda increased their prices, better hold your horses and don go give the extra $1k/$2K. The last round Elantra increased $1K but COE crashed $9K, showing the increase has nothing on indication on COE movement/order collected. Wait for the coming bid to close then decide. 

Cat.A price may crash to below $20k by first round of September bidding. Waiting for durian to drop.

Assuming the recent demand need three rounds to clear.

But Motorcycle is quite painful cut in quota.

May shoot up to $10k.

Yet these motorcycle dealers can afford to play with the biddings (only deposit $200) and let 203 COE to be forfeited. Indirectly creating the $8000++ price level???

Cat.A price may crash to below $20k by first round of September bidding. Waiting for durian to drop.

Assuming the recent demand need three rounds to clear.

But Motorcycle is quite painful cut in quota.

May shoot up to $10k.

Yet these motorcycle dealers can afford to play with the biddings (only deposit $200) and let 203 COE to be forfeited. Indirectly creating the $8000++ price level???

thought quota for motorcycles went up by about 56 per cent why still shoot up 10k

This time round LTA release data before 2nd bid.. but is good news la.. at least for Cat. A.

I for one, am not so bearish on COE premiums, despite the increase in quotas for the next three months.

The car population's growth has been set at zero, which means that all these increases in quotas are scrapped cars or recycled COEs.

The main factor that I think would determine premium levels would be replacement demand, all things being equal.

If 10 out of 10 people who scrap their cars are looking to buy new cars, the replacement demand is then strong, and premiums may not necessarily crash.

The corollary is, only when replacement demand is low, then we can "hope" to see lower premiums.

My humble two cents.