Will the Elantra finally dethrone the Altis in 2018?

Altis actually looks quite nice after the facelift. Just that I cannot comprehend why some people think it is any class difference between Elantra and itself. Reliability may win by a bit but class?? What class? Lol.

Camry...if I have a choice, I wouldn't wanna be seen driving one. Between altis and camry, give me altis anytime.

Btw, the Sonata taxi I took in China just days ago is the bug eye model, which we can't see it on our road now...

Yeah lor.. I don’t get it when they say Toyota branding good until Altis one class or segment above its competitors. Price one class above.. yes. Lack of features one class above.. yes. But desirability, branding perception and actual class? No way.

I think they’re all the same. Toyota Mazda Nissan Honda etc.

I dont think anyone who drives regularly will think Altis or Vios are the top seller in SG right? 

Right now i reckon it will be vezel or mazda 3.

Did they mean top seller of Toyota instead?

Vios basic 77k I can have so many better choice la. In term of size, design n features.

Really don't understand why got ppl think or force ppl to believe altis n Vios r the top seller in sg

No la. There are differences. All drive and are built differently.

I dont think anyone who drives regularly will think Altis or Vios are the top seller in SG right?

Right now i reckon it will be vezel or mazda 3.

Did they mean top seller of Toyota instead?

There Is thread created by Toyota loyalists. Dont know what Top seller cars 2018

Vezel not no 1 because pi

Mz3 not not 1 because of phv

Hyundai sedan not because of taxi mass purchase.

Altis is not a phv car n no taxi uses Toyota cars

And if u disagree with them, they will find out what model u driving n start to Kong Jia wei.

Wife colleague.

Told my wife her children childcare centre,those parents mostly driving conti and jap so must at least drive Toyota or Honda.What a dumb ass!

Lucky not my wife,if not sure divorce.lol.......

Nb i driven hyundai. Nissan. Some contis but not toyota b4. Lol.

Wait got. Toyota dyna... hehe. Its indeed better drive than nissan cabstar

No la. There are differences. All drive and are built differently.

What I meant was branding perception. The feel good factor derived from driving any of them would be the same for me. Not one on top of the other if comparing cars of the same segment.

Yeah lor.. I don’t get it when they say Toyota branding good until Altis one class or segment above its competitors. Price one class above.. yes. Lack of features one class above.. yes. But desirability, branding perception and actual class? No way.

I am not if this just singapore perception but they are loyalist and brand concious people not just for cars.so it is up to the individual if they also want to be part of them.

For me, i want value for money, the design and finishes i like and most importantly, easy to maintain.common car model will have parts available.when i hit tot jackpot a d want to throw a fe hundred of thousand $ away, i look for something more unique lah. Haha

2nd half of 2018

Toyota total sales in sg is no4, Not even top 3

Sedan cars sales is more jialat. Hyundai sedan sales is like 5times plus more than Toyota in August.

So please if any one who self proclaim Toyota is no 1, show him this

post-162710-0-81896200-1536889774_thumb.png

Resale value of altis definitely higher cos of higher omv n perceived brand value

one thing i realised recently is KM is making more profit per  Hyunadai   than BM in selling Altis.  though may not be a important consideration. Unless or hopefully, higher OMV equate to better quality? Later Kia7200 will whack me for being a toyota loyalist.  [laugh]  [laugh] . 

2nd half of 2018

Sedan cars sales is more jialat. Hyundai sedan sales is like 5times plus more than Toyota in August.

Interesting, Honda sells more than Hyundai, I have the impression of seeing more Elantra ont he road than Civic.  Or this data include PI's Vezel? 

one thing i realised recently is KM is making more profit per Hyunadai than BM in selling Altis. though may not be a important consideration. Unless or hopefully, higher OMV equate to better quality? Later Kia7200 will whack me for being a toyota loyalist. [laugh][laugh] .

Interesting, Honda sells more than Hyundai, I have the impression of seeing more Elantra ont he road than Civic. Or this data include PI's Vezel?

For sedan cat, Hyundai is more

2nd half of 2018

Honda= 273+247= 520

Toyota= 121=176=397

Hyundai= 539+604=1143

For petrol sedan only...

I happened to have considered both. Test driven both. Below personal preference, not everybody will agree, and it's OK.

Elantra S
Like - low upfront cost with very attractive accessories; AD transparent package price; can get own insurance and pay cash without penalty.

Dislike - roof line too low, felt like pressing down on head; steering too light; when pressed hard, engine scream without power; suspension felt hard and uncomfortable ride; cabin has a low pitch sound when car moving; driving position odd

Altis (Standard)
Like - quiet cabin, very good leg and headroom; steering feel best (not too light); good ergonomics, just feel right and comfortable; comfortable suspension; inbuilt Panasonic ionizer, powerful aircon.
Dislike - price, need get own leather (although SE throw in solar film).

If price is very important factor, I would also recommend below before deciding:

Cerato EX (K3 model tested during May 2018)

Like - Spacious feel; suspension comfortable and well tuned; very nice and comfortable interior; driving position good (sporty feel), comfortable suspension
Dislike - steering a bit too light, CC trade in my old Forte at paper value only.

I love my 2009 Forte, enjoyed driving for 8.5 years. New Cerato seems to have similar things that I "like" in my Forte. However, had bad experience with reliability:

- Windshield cracked twice (one of defects initial batches of Forte).

- year 7.5 - 8.5 (within 1 year period), multiple parts faulty occur 1 after another, spent 4k on repairs=> Engine control module, aircon compressor, gasket, alternator

-  Also some problems not left not repaired - ABS warning light on, steering loud squeaking sound, suspension noise over hump (claimed to be old bushing, but just changed 3 years ago). CC not able to spot the ECM problem, sent in multiple time, many loss of use days + some unpleasant encounter with CC.

Again it's much cheaper than Altis by much more than 4k.  Note Cerato and Hyundai share the same engine and many parts. So, those issue has a likelihood to be found on Elantra also.

So, Cerato could be a good competitor to consider if Altis is too costly or you simply have problem with BM.

Or maybe consider the Slyphy:

Slyphy

Like - quiet and good driving dynamics, spacious
Dislike - odd (high) driver seat position