EPL 18/19 - New Season Begins

kdash

I think Huddersfield should get Phil Neville as their next manager.

I have seen Phil on TV talking tactics on what this manager should

have done and what that manager should have done. The way he talked

as if he could have done better. Huddersfield should give him a chance.

43d4b0fbce2d2b68522e4209cb769634.jpg

i remember his bro talk alot of big talk also. see what happen when he take charge.

henry also talk until very pro, but still hanging at monaco. so i keep quiet first [sly]

i remember his bro talk alot of big talk also. see what happen when he take charge.

henry also talk until very pro, but still hanging at monaco. so i keep quiet first [sly]

gary-phil-neville-christmas.png

2EFCEA4B00000578-0-image-a-31_1449061001

OT a bit: i used to have a set of trump card of soccer players when i was young... no leeds players though, they were all world cup stars.

the youngest among them was kenny dalglish... [laugh]

ha ha... you got these almost same names just before me... [thumbsup]

that time Leeds was somebody... unlike now...

Wah lao . . . wait until you see Sammy Lee. We see his face we will scream in agony . . . we play the number of letters in the name.

Lee = 3.  [laugh]

Worthington is one of the most sought after card . . . . 11 points

Skips lunch just to buy the cards  [:p] one day mom came to school tuck shop and she found out . . pulled my ear and twist!  [grin]

miss those days when Martin Tyler was the commentator  ^_^

no lah... when i started typing - and got interrupted - your post hasn't appeared leh...

got article said Cantona was offered to Liverpool first, but Souness didn't take him, so he went to Leeds instead... The rest is history...

he scared the flying kick lah  ....

no lah... when i started typing - and got interrupted - your post hasn't appeared leh...

got article said Cantona was offered to Liverpool first, but Souness didn't take him, so he went to Leeds instead... The rest is history...

ooo ahh Cantona!!!

A young Kenny Dalglish? Wow I didn't know you were that old.

When I was young Kenny was already about to retire and made himself

player manager.

i bought the card - and many other cards - in the late 70s to early 80s. i think that one (on WC soccer stars) was prob made in the early-mid 70s, when Dalglish was in his early-mid 20s bah... He was the only player still yet to retire, i kinda remember, and so his stats were low for the cards. I remember there were goal scored, games played but can't remember what else... Other notable players i remember got Pele, Beckenbauer, Cruyff, Gordon Banks, Bobby Charlton, Bobby Moore, Geoff Hurst, Dida, Gerd Muller, etc... all retired by then.

Gerd Muller had the most goal scored in WC Finals.

I got to watch a bit of Dalglish playing too, right up to the last match too. In fact, the first name i have a deep impression of from watching, was Heighway, which i felt at that time (i was prob 8-10) how come got anyone has the name of a road [laugh]

Wah lao . . . wait until you see Sammy Lee. We see his face we will scream in agony . . . we play the number of letters in the name.

Lee = 3.  [laugh]

Worthington is one of the most sought after card . . . . 11 points

Skips lunch just to buy the cards  [:p] one day mom came to school tuck shop and she found out . . pulled my ear and twist!  [grin]

miss those days when Martin Tyler was the commentator  ^_^

he scared the flying kick lah  ....

The box of cards i had, didn't have sammy lee leh. youngest player was kenny dalglish. ha ha, playing number of letters in a name is innovative. If got Ibrahimovich at that time, then champion liao. or can use oxlade-chamberlein or not? [laugh]

Talking of Sammy Lee, where is he now huh?

I had like 20-30 different boxes of cards: from warships (a few), war planes (a few), commercial ships, tanks, rally cars, racing cars, bikes, etc etc.

Then later in sec sch, took whole plastic bag to school to play after exams, left in classroom cupboard, then dunno how come lost... :TT_TT:

super moody for v long...

The box of cards i had, didn't have sammy lee leh. youngest player was kenny dalglish. ha ha, playing number of letters in a name is innovative. If got Ibrahimovich at that time, then champion liao. or can use oxlade-chamberlein or not? [laugh]

Talking of Sammy Lee, where is he now huh?

I had like 20-30 different boxes of cards: from warships (a few), war planes (a few), commercial ships, tanks, rally cars, racing cars, bikes, etc etc.

Then later in sec sch, took whole plastic bag to school to play after exams, left in classroom cupboard, then dunno how come lost... :TT_TT:

super moody for v long...

waa that must have been alot of investment for a kid... must be someone saw then kope...

He is without doubt amongst the top 2 goalies of all time in EPL history.

Think Peter Schmeichel would be his only challenger.

A model pro for consistency, professionalism n discipline. I don’t think anyone has a bad word for Cech. He is also a fan favourite and all his Mgrs have praised him one way or another. Thks for the memories and your saves will always be etched in history

waa that must have been alot of investment for a kid... must be someone saw then kope...

In terms of $$, it wasn't huge, as i think the paper box ones cost $1 each, while the plastic box ones (slightly larger) cost something like $2.50. $$ was bigger that time, when a bowl of noodles cost only $1.

I had 'amassed' my collection over a few years from i think P1 onwards, so when spread out, the amount involved was not really a lot.

But but but... most of them were not on sale anymore by the time i lost them, so the value of it was immeasureable. [bigcry]

I half suspect it was my teacher who buay song cupboard got games, so threw them away... but no guts at that time to ask - and in any case, not likely would have changed anything [bigcry]

:TT_TT:

A model pro for consistency, professionalism n discipline. I don’t think think anyone has a bad word for Cech. He is also a fan favourite and all his Mgrs have praised him one way or another. Thks for the memories and your saves will always be etched in history

until now i still believe replacing him with courtois is a mistake.

i think the stats and fact that courtois move to real prove it..

Agreed! Courtois not fit to even tie Cech’s shoelaces.

Don’t get me wrong, the Belgian is a good goalie but not in Cech’s class but I suppose Chelsea had no choice but to release Cech as Courtois being the much younger goalie wanted assurances of playing time etc n with Cech hovering around, this was just not possible but Roman to his credit allowed Cech to move to Arsenal at a fair price despite JM’s objections.

A model pro for consistency, professionalism n discipline. I donât think think anyone has a bad word for Cech. He is also a fan favourite and all his Mgrs have praised him one way or another. Thks for the memories and your saves will always be etched in history ðð

agreed. one of the best keepers in EPL definitely. although i'm not a Chelsea fan, huge respect to him commanding the defence during JM 1st stint

In terms of $$, it wasn't huge, as i think the paper box ones cost $1 each, while the plastic box ones (slightly larger) cost something like $2.50. $$ was bigger that time, when a bowl of noodles cost only $1.

I had 'amassed' my collection over a few years from i think P1 onwards, so when spread out, the amount involved was not really a lot.

But but but... most of them were not on sale anymore by the time i lost them, so the value of it was immeasureable. [bigcry]

I half suspect it was my teacher who buay song cupboard got games, so threw them away... but no guts at that time to ask - and in any case, not likely would have changed anything [bigcry]

:TT_TT:

haha its ok la... whats lost is lost... move forward

Agreed! Courtois not fit to even tie Cech’s shoelaces.

Don’t get me wrong, the Belgian is a good goalie but not in Cech’s class but I suppose Chelsea had no choice but to release Cech as Courtois being the much younger goalie wanted assurances of playing time etc n with Cech hovering around, this was just not possible but Roman to his credit allowed Cech to move to Arsenal at a fair price despite JM’s objections.

I also see Cech more up than Courtois.

It was a problem that Chelsea created themselves, unfortunately. When Cech was still good, Chelsea hedged and bought a young and promising Courtois, for the long term. Went to loan him out to gain experience as he couldn't dislodge Cech. Then after he's proven himself at A Madrid, took him back and after a year, installed him as no. 1, and relegated Cech. Cech was patient and professional but with a few good years left, sought greener pasture lor.

And then Courtois double crossed Chelsea [sweatdrop]

haha its ok la... whats lost is lost... move forward

of course lah... moved ~35 yr liao [laugh]

A model pro for consistency, professionalism n discipline. I donât think anyone has a bad word for Cech. He is also a fan favourite and all his Mgrs have praised him one way or another. Thks for the memories and your saves will always be etched in history ðð

Cech was already one of the best, and could have easily been top 3..... But for

Stephen Hunt. Cech was never the same after that, yes he was still very good but the air of invincibility was gone forever.

I have seen the clip numerous times. My opinion is it was a really nasty piece of business from the Reading man. Pui!

Edited by Othello

Laat min extra time goal frm winks gives spurs a 2to1 win ovee fulham.

Spurs first half terrible.

2nd half not bad. Alli equalise.

But llorente really is machiam s league class striker nia. Haiz.

And alli also injured. Sad.

And his replacement out of favor nkoudou made the cross for winks to score.

Motm for me is winks. He is always with the ball.

Rose did well too.

Trippier i fear he still suffering frm world cup fever. Another poor game

And spurs maintain their no draw games policy

Edited by Spurman

Laat min extra time goal frm winks gives spurs a 2to1 win ovee fulham.

Spurs first half terrible.

2nd half not bad. Alli equalise.

But llorente really is machiam s league class striker nia. Haiz.

And alli also injured. Sad.

And his replacement out of favor nkoudou made the cross for winks to score.

Motm for me is winks. He is always with the ball.

Rose did well too.

Trippier i fear he still suffering frm world cup fever. Another poor game

And spurs maintain their no draw games policy

Spur need to thanks the Fulham Gk. Instead of holding onto the ball to waste precise time to hold for a point in 92min, he tried for a quick release and result in the last min goal.

If I'm the manager he cfm get it jialat jialat from me

Chelsea reached the Carabao Cup Final by beating Spurs 2-1 (agg 2-2, Chelsea win 4-2 on pens). They will face Man City at the end of Feb at Wembley.

Good match n I feel sorry for Spurs cos their obviously weaker team (less Son, Kane, Alli) were a good match for a full strength Chelsea side. Pochettino showed why he is perhaps currently the most coveted coach in European Football by switching tactics when Spurs went 0-2 down at HT (Kante, Hazard)by going 3 at the back n they immediately pulled one back early in the 2nd half thru Llorente but alas that was not good enough.

Chelsea scored all their 4 pens whilst Spurs missed 2 (Dier, Moura).

Great to see strong teams like Spurs, City, Chelsea and even Arsenal (QFs) having a real go at winning this much derided competition, well done