Cheap way to chat on a Convoy / long trip

carloverguy2017

Just purchased a box of walkie talkies ( 4 in a box ) for $50+ and I did a little short range test just to find out the sound quality and having a little fun.

Great to have on a convoy trip with your friends , or when visiting theme parks or zoo etc.. where everyone can roam around freely and then call each other for a meal or drink together. Well, at least without incurring overseas charges.

For about $12 to $13  per piece.. the price is unbeatable.

Not selling nor am I a vendor. So please do not PM or ask me where to buy.

Online do your homework.

https://youtu.be/UaJwRp-45P4

This is best to use at cruise trip lol

Because in cruise, internet is expensive.

Convoy up north or themepark no issue can use phone, in MY can use starhub new data travel plan, $5 for 1GB for 3days nia

as these are using FRS frequency, you might just accidentally tap onto another group's chat and eavesdrop on them too !! or make new friends !

Please check if it is legal to use especially in overseas country

How to check?? Is there a way authority can track if its illegal? I have a set too (not the same brand as TS) and would like to check too.

Just use M1 roaming data. Can WhatsApp voice call whatever you want. 

Before trip, just activate, pay $10 + $2 admin, the whole month you can use your own local data bundle for roaming. Come back from trip just deactivate it.

Works very well if you already have large local data bundles. 

Too long to read but the first few pages suggest that there is no specific guidelines mentioned on the talkie itself.

Mainly:

"Specifically, there are few things that amateur radio operators are not allowed to do:

a) Amateur radio operators are not allowed to do anything with their
radios that can generate financial income.
b) Amateur radio operators are prohibited from broadcasting to the public.
The amateur radio transmission is meant to be received by other
amateur radio operators/stations only.
c) Amateur radio services shall not be used for the expansion of business,
religion and politics. 

So in short, as long as one is not infringing on these criteria, then no issue right??

Too long to read but the first few pages suggest that there is no specific guidelines mentioned on the talkie itself.

Mainly:

"Specifically, there are few things that amateur radio operators are not allowed to do:

religion and politics.

So in short, as long as one is not infringing on these criteria, then no issue right??

Look at page 10.

License is required.

There is no reciprocal agreement btw Sg and MY.

If got Sg Ham radio license also cannot use.

How to check?? Is there a way authority can track if its illegal? I have a set too (not the same brand as TS) and would like to check too.

Singapore

https://www.imda.gov.sg/about/newsroom/archived/ida/media-releases/2004/20050712103130

Malaysia

https://www.mcmc.gov.my/faqs/spectrum-use/mobile-services

Mainly:

religion and politics. 

if too long to read... kena fine.. don't kpkb say polis want kopi money can liao...

anyway my link may provide more clarity as it is in FAQ

Just purchased a box of walkie talkies ( 4 in a box ) for $50+ and I did a little short range test just to find out the sound quality and having a little fun.

Great to have on a convoy trip with your friends , or when visiting theme parks or zoo etc.. where everyone can roam around freely and then call each other for a meal or drink together. Well, at least without incurring overseas charges.

For about $12 to $13  per piece.. the price is unbeatable.

Not selling nor am I a vendor. So please do not PM or ask me where to buy.

Online do your homework.

https://youtu.be/UaJwRp-45P4

hope yours is IDA approved... if not, you may have just admitted to something not very legal

Singapore

https://www.imda.gov.sg/about/newsroom/archived/ida/media-releases/2004/20050712103130

Malaysia

https://www.mcmc.gov.my/faqs/spectrum-use/mobile-services

if too long to read... kena fine.. don't kpkb say polis want kopi money can liao...

anyway my link may provide more clarity as it is in FAQ

hope yours is IDA approved... if not, you may have just admitted to something not very legal

Yup.. Noted.. I shall exercise SAF's 8th Care value - "DADGC" when using it in Malaysia.

Edited by Buadongdong

I also just bought a pair recently for my boys. $40 for 2, Baofeng 888. Not bad. Dun say I never share... Hee

It's fun to have walkie talkie . . . especially go outing in parks.

Used to have a pair when son was young  [:)]

It's fun to have walkie talkie . . . especially go outing in parks.

Used to have a pair when son was young  [:)]

I know what you and your friends do in the park especially at night ....  :secret-laugh:

All move around to look for targets and once target identified, walkie talkie the rest to come over to watch free show .... [sly]