Why did you chose you current HDB flat ?

Ysc3

what was your deciding factor when you chose your HDB flat in your block ?

not talking about location as in road, but how you made your choices on the level and either corner or center of beside lift or staircase ?

all this - if you had a choice during your selection ?

I would hope to get a corner flat so only the door is the only accessible point of entry. so that I can keep my hall or room windows opened all the time without worry of my neighbors/stalkers walking past my unit and looking inside.

I believe if there is a choice, no one wants to buy a corridor unit de. But you also have to be careful when buying corner flat, since i notice some corner flat the windows in your house also faces the corridor. People might still able to see a bit of your house from the corridor area, even though your flat is a corner unit.

really depend on what u are allocated.

just choose the best stack u like lor.

My unit is just outside the lift. but compared to the other units of the same facing in the block. My living room and room windows don't directly face the other block which is directly opposite. 

The other opposite facing is facing the main road. So we opted for facing into the estate.

It's just the best we can make of it given our queue no.

what was your deciding factor when you chose your HDB flat in your block ?

not talking about location as in road, but how you made your choices on the level and either corner or center of beside lift or staircase ?

all this - if you had a choice during your selection ?

I would hope to get a corner flat so only the door is the only accessible point of entry. so that I can keep my hall or room windows opened all the time without worry of my neighbors/stalkers walking past my unit and looking inside.

go take a look at new HDB lah.

There's no more true corridor units that i've seen.

Usually one level will be broken up into segments of 2 units (you and your immediate neighbour), usually directly opposite your doors (or close to direct opposite) will be another segment of 2. Then each level either has 8-10 of such units depending on the block.

The only exception i've seen is in teban gardens whereby the 3room flats almost function like a point block. 4 units into a central space. then 2 clusters of 4

HDB knows people don't like people looking into house. So most units are like that. The only corridor units left are the new rental housing blocks u can still see long corridor with several units opening into the corridor. But even then i don't see windows when i drive past (though i haven't went up to see how they are configured).

The unit i chose is a corner unit so that there are windows facing the corridor.  The unit should have windows on opposite ends (eg. kitchen to living room) so that there is better airflow through.  Dun want a unit immediately next to the rubbish chut or the lift so less noise and mess.  Dun want too low floor to minimize pest and blockage of view.  Dun want a unit near a power substation cos kiasi.. Dun want a unit with a few steps leading to the main door cos using prams or wheelchairs will be difficult.. Dun wan a unit facing a major road cos will be noisy..

agree with most of your points. Living near a substation is a legit concern. Not kiasi.. 

I will also take note of the west sun as evening are the time we reach home. Don't wanna step into the house and a gust of warm air slapping my face when I open the main door.. Try to find a unit with N-S as the most prevalent wind are N-S.

i didn't choose my flat, it chose me (7th month scary story)   [sweatdrop]  [sweatdrop]

[laugh]  [laugh]

ok not joking, i view my unit in late evening around 9pm, the owner probably only show me 50% of the house in dim light. 

after viewing i went down with the agent and pass him the deposit, never went back for 2nd viewing during day time, and few monthslater, i moved in.

Nowadays new bto not easy to find a good unit, esp if you are buying smaller flat like 2 or 3 rm flat. Usually they do not have very good facing, either they face the road or directly opposite other blocks. Getting bigger unit might have chance that the facing is better, like facing a park or greenery.

If buy resale flat, then maybe still can find a flat which meet your requirement. But sometimes also must depends on luck. I have a friend who buy a resale old type of 3 room, ended bought a corridor unit because during the time when they are sourcing for flat, no corner unit is selling.

Nowadays new bto not easy to find a good unit, esp if you are buying smaller flat like 2 or 3 rm flat. Usually they do not have very good facing, either they face the road or directly opposite other blocks. Getting bigger unit might have chance that the facing is better, like facing a park or greenery.

If buy resale flat, then maybe still can find a flat which meet your requirement. But sometimes also must depends on luck. I have a friend who buy a resale old type of 3 room, ended bought a corridor unit because during the time when they are sourcing for flat, no corner unit is selling.

depends on the land constraints. If u have a completely new BTO estate being built not surrounded by other older blocks, usually can get some with nicer views. My estate was surrounded by other much older blocks and the main road. So choice was quite limited. 

Non mature estate, some of the views can be decent. But of course maybe blocked in future by other developments.

depends on the land constraints. If u have a completely new BTO estate being built not surrounded by other older blocks, usually can get some with nicer views. My estate was surrounded by other much older blocks and the main road. So choice was quite limited. 

I think they build the units facing depend on the type of flat. Like i said, usually you cannot find nice facing for 3 rm flat and below. Esp for 2 room flat, almost all the units facing main road, directly opposite other blocks or west sun direction.

agree with most of your points. Living near a substation is a legit concern. Not kiasi.. 

I will also take note of the west sun as evening are the time we reach home. Don't wanna step into the house and a gust of warm air slapping my face when I open the main door.. Try to find a unit with N-S as the most prevalent wind are N-S.

when i was shopping for resale hdb, viewed a unit just next to power substation.. the owner selling the unit looks sick and got bloodshot eyes.. i see liao i scared.. haha.

We had SERS.  Moved in 7 years ago.

Wanted a high floor with a good view.

We got a choice through the draw to pick our flat on the final day and expected all high floors would be gone.

Luckily one left on high floor and it had a great view.

Could see 60 km into Malaysia. and the fireworks there at CNY etc.

Now all around has got 40 story blocks so view is restricted but luckily we seldom look at view anyway.

Flat is next to lift which has always been noisy but my study is next to lift and no one else really notices the noise.

Overall it's a fabulous location and close to all amenities, mall, MRT, bus station, wet markets, supermarkets etc

We were lucky as weren't expecting SERS.

I think they build the units facing depend on the type of flat. Like i said, usually you cannot find nice facing for 3 rm flat and below. Esp for 2 room flat, almost all the units facing main road, directly opposite other blocks or west sun direction.

yeah lah. Just like studio apartment stacks are the worst usually.

the 3-4room stacks will be the best usually.

yeah lah. Just like studio apartment stacks are the worst usually.

the 3-4room stacks will be the best usually.

True, 3-4 room stacks only is the best combination. I dont like block comes with 2-4 room stacks.

when i was shopping for resale hdb, viewed a unit just next to power substation.. the owner selling the unit looks sick and got bloodshot eyes.. i see liao i scared.. haha.

Is older flat substation located at the ground floor of the block? 

so how did the selection process go when HDB ask you to choose your new bto flat ?

they give you a range of the blocks or one particular block ? any available floor and unit ? or they just give you a few units to choose from ?

My estate has a big drainage (river) towards the sea. When choosing the block, i already shortlist a couple of them which is beside the drainage.

When selecting the apartment, i choose one that can see the drainage from my mbr. Ironically, i want the service yard that is either facing sunrise or sunset to dry my clothes as i dont want to buy a dryer.

Luckily my queue number is quite good and i managed to get the one i want. But unable to secure the aame unit on a higher floor.

so how did the selection process go when HDB ask you to choose your new bto flat ?

they give you a range of the blocks or one particular block ? any available floor and unit ? or they just give you a few units to choose from ?

Actually you can check out the layout of the cluster that you can choose. And can check online if the unit still available or not during the selection process for all the blocks in the cluster.

My estate has a big drainage (river) towards the sea. When choosing the block, i already shortlist a couple of them which is beside the drainage.

When selecting the apartment, i choose one that can see the drainage from my mbr. Ironically, i want the service yard that is either facing sunrise or sunset to dry my clothes as i dont want to buy a dryer.

Luckily my queue number is quite good and i managed to get the one i want. But unable to secure the aame unit on a higher floor.

If your unit facing a big drainage, wouldnt it be quite noisy during raining? I remember last time stay in one hdb flat before, my block infront was a big longkang, during raining day could hear the water flowing down the longkang very loud.

Is older flat substation located at the ground floor of the block? 

it's those substation located in open air carpark beside the hdb blk

So cannot escape from those substation.