Only 1 in 5 feels parents have enough retirement savings

Aaronlkl

Now still have some transport and medical subsidies for retirees.

In future may not have also.

Try to save some more and consider all options in the way forward.

Not forgetting those hefty Medishield Life Insurance premiums ballooning every year and the deductibles also going up too (ward dependent) and now stuck with those integrated plans premiums which seem losses for the Insurance Companies..... Medical is the biggest killer, can forget about those $8 meals in hawker centres x 3 meals...as what @throttle2 mentioned with $1500/monthly expenditure .. and means testing is there also (on annual property value)   ...not forgetting....so cannot stay in C ward too.... and its said that average man in Singapore lives to 81 and for women is 85       

Now still have some transport and medical subsidies for retirees.

In future may not have also.

Try to save some more and consider all options in the way forward.

$1 million has $1 million retirement lifestyle while those who have less saving have a difference lifestyle. Human being is adaptable, so it doesnt mean people cannot retire without $1 million of saving or they will be starved to death. In fact many do not have a million by the time they retire.

And to some, $1million is only about just enough for a couple to retire comfortably, and they will have to make some lifestyle change in order to ensure the saving could last them till they leave this world.

In my view, a person will only be able to enjoy and spend his money during the first 10 to 15 years after retirement , any age beyond that, his taste bud change, drink wine also become tasteless , food becomes not so tastety, travel cannot go too far or cant even walk, that is when he will cut down on spending. So the spending expenses after retirement is not linear.

How much is enough is subjective. Of course one needs to have some saving for retirement.

The fact that many no longer can retire 55 like before, means............alamak

Not forgetting those hefty Medishield Life Insurance premiums ballooning every year and the deductibles also going up too (ward dependent) and now stuck with those integrated plans premiums which seem losses for the Insurance Companies..... Medical is the biggest killer, can forget about those $8 meals in hawker centres x 3 meals...as what @throttle2 mentioned with $1500/monthly expenditure .. and means testing is there also (on annual property value)   ...not forgetting....so cannot stay in C ward too.... and its said that average man in Singapore lives to 81 and for women is 85       

Seems like a curse living till such old age.  [dizzy]

Agree that it is dependant on individual needs

And simple life may be enough

But realistically simple life today is no longer simple life in the 90s

Today if we live on $50 a day, life is in the slumps

Try it if you dont believe me.

Just for a month.

$50 give and take

==============

Daily cheap meals $8 x 3 =$24

Comms $5

Transport $5

Utilities $5

Entertainment $10

Bro, $8 per meal cheap meh? I buy 1 loaf of upsized bread can last me 1 week in office  [lipsrsealed]

Where got enough for entertainment? Rest of the money spend on see doctor liao la.

That's the golden standard set by our scholars  :D

Bro, $8 per meal cheap meh? I buy 1 loaf of upsized bread can last me 1 week in office [lipsrsealed]

Where got enough for entertainment? Rest of the money spend on see doctor liao la.

That's the golden standard set by our scholars :D

Jokes aside.

I dont think i can live decently with $1500 a month.

Of course if you think you can, nobody will stop you from planning as such

I am just saying that , that will be quite miserable

Life’s gonna be tough for many Singaporeans

Hai...

Dont say liddat one lah.... got people like @discoburg e-living/e-pinning for you everyday in perpetuity  [nod]

Seems like a curse living till such old age.  [dizzy]

Try living on $1500 a month, then you talk.

Just try it.

Dont cheat.

Try it and see.

$1500 per month? Buy cigar also no enuff! Muayhahahaha...

If children all grown up and one is healthy, $1,500 per month today is doable but not entirely comfortable.

1500 today is also very different from 1500 in 20 years time.

In fact, taking away my family expenses, insurance and car, I think I spend within this amount every month.

But as a couple, should need at least double that amount to subsist.

$1500 per month? Buy cigar also no enuff! Muayhahahaha...

Even if cut to 1 small cigar a day, averaging $25, one month already $750

Looks like i better stock up a few thousand more cigars.

So can last 10-15yrs without buying any.

Even if cut to 1 small cigar a day, averaging $25, one month already $750

Looks like i better stock up a few thousand more cigars.

So can last 10-15yrs without buying any.

We need to get rid of the root cause! Not compromise our lifestyle.

Root cause is tax too high lor

If I earn that kind of income to be tax high, I am very happy about it. Moreover, many rich knows or rather pay their way to reduced tax. Poor me, no chance to pay tax.

which country in the world retire at 55?

...In China..Women at 50 and men at 60...gahman will give $$ every month...Yes I am talking about now