RSAF pilot sue cabby for 4million dollars

Yewheng

maybe she include 10 yrs of flying and 20 yrs as instructor?

Yes. Not only that, could have become a commercial pilot also. Now all gone down the drain.

Insurers will make it a profitable business right? to pay that 4mil... means our premiums will go up also... no?

U drive teksi also meh?

I hope she gets her money and serve a wake up call to all the teksi drivers and company. Only know how to say sorry but no action. Pui

Edited by Mockngbrd

I'm frankly appalled by some of the views and comments expressed here.

Sexist, misogynistic and blatantly ignorant.

Have you any idea how much/long it takes to train an attack helicopter pilot? Have you any idea how much multitasking goes on in the cockpit of an Apache in a combat situation?

Actually, I don't know either - I am not in the Air Force. But it would be presumptuous to dismiss her $4 million dollar claim as spurious. Want to play also don't play so big until High Court. The judge would throw it out summarily if that were the case. But in this case, the news article does specifically mention that the claim is substantiated.

And it boggles my mind that some think that just because she is a woman, she would be grounded at some point because she has the ability to bear children means she needs to do so to "fulfil another national service". Her body, her choice - in the absence of which, she can fly till mandatory retirement like any other man.

Last point - it was already ruled without a doubt and the cab driver has fully accepted liability for causing the accident through no fault of the pilot.

If you don't agree with the message that it is sending, I don't agree with you either. You got behind the wheel, you made your choices, in this case to beat the red light. You created the outcome, you bear the consequences whatever it may be.
  • Praise 30

I'm frankly appalled by some of the views and comments expressed here.

Sexist, misogynistic and blatantly ignorant.

Have you any idea how much/long it takes to train an attack helicopter pilot? Have you any idea how much multitasking goes on in the cockpit of an Apache in a combat situation?

Actually, I don't know either - I am not in the Air Force. But it would be presumptuous to dismiss her $4 million dollar claim as spurious. Want to play also don't play so big until High Court. The judge would throw it out summarily if that were the case. But in this case, the news article does specifically mention that the claim is substantiated.

And it boggles my mind that some think that just because she is a woman, she would be grounded at some point because she has the ability to bear children means she needs to do so to "fulfil another national service". Her body, her choice - in the absence of which, she can fly till mandatory retirement like any other man.

Last point - it was already ruled without a doubt and the cab driver has fully accepted liability for causing the accident through no fault of the pilot.

If you don't agree with the message that it is sending, I don't agree with you either. You got behind the wheel, you made your choices, in this case to beat the red light. You created the outcome, you bear the consequences whatever it may be.

Agree. Beat the red light, pay the consequences. Because of one man's action, the lady has to pay with her career. How many of us here are pilots? Let's say your child went through meds school and finally graduated as a surgeon, great career ahead, with a skill set to save lives. Because of one man's action, she is deemed no longer fit to carry out her duties as a surgeon and is thrown to be an administrative officer. Would you not fight for your daughter compensation? Would you settle for 20k?

• Praise 12

Yes is insurance pay. Imo, totally justified. Her apache career totally gone becos some f**ker cabby decide to beat red light. Pui

Apachee pilot not anyone can get

I agree with you that it is justified that she gets whatever she should have earned during her career.

But it has nothing to do with whether or not anyone can be a pilot or not. Even a toilet cleaner would deserve the same thing.

Agree. Beat the red light, pay the consequences. Because of one man's action, the lady has to pay with her career. How many of us here are pilots? Let's say your child went through meds school and finally graduated as a surgeon, great career ahead, with a skill set to save lives. Because of one man's action, she is deemed no longer fit to carry out her duties as a surgeon and is thrown to be an administrative officer. Would you not fight for your daughter compensation? Would you settle for 20k?

Read my msg above about pilots.

I agree with you that it is justified that she gets whatever she should have earned during her career.

But it has nothing to do with whether or not anyone can be a pilot or not. Even a toilet cleaner would deserve the same thing.

Er... It does have EVERYTHING to do with the fact that she was a elite chopper pilot.

Her entire life's career path that she trained and worked so hard for is gone.

For us ppl not working in that sphere, we can get redeployed to prob less physical jobs without that big a hit. This one her she cannot be redeployed to anything similar liao.

At least, that's what I feel.

Edited by Mockngbrd

sue for 4m, dun mean can get 4m ma.

normally they mark up 100%, like your car do 3rd party claim, 2k, they claim 4k.

then nego nego loh.

this case. she would be happy if can get 50% from insurance .

as long as straight after the accident she got medical report of all the inj suffer,

and the inj suffer that time effect her current job now, she can sue.

thats why any 1 accident dun scare troublesome, go check back pain, whip lash babababa, everything, who know, the effect will come a few mths later

Read my msg above about pilots.

Everyone deserves the same thing (justice) but the payout between a 70 year old toilet cleaner will be much different from that of a 30 year old surgeon, based on median earning potential, projections, etc. etc. etc.

Er... It does have EVERYTHING to do with the fact that she was a elite chopper pilot.

Her entire life's career path that she trained and worked so hard for is gone.

For us ppl not working in that sphere, we can get redeployed to prob less physical jobs without that big a hit. This one her she cannot be redeployed to anything similar liao.

At least, that's what I feel.

The 4 mil amount could be justified with the fact that she is a chopper pilot but not the rest of it.

If a grab driver gets injured in an accident and has chronic back pain, he also can't drive and to me, that would be the same.

The 4 mil amount could be justified with the fact that she is a chopper pilot but not the rest of it.

If a grab driver gets injured in an accident and has chronic back pain, he also can't drive and to me, that would be the same.

i believe every one can sue for lost of income, but how you calculate the lost/potential lost is different from job to job.

To fly a normal helicopter already require all four limbs. To fly an Apache will take more effort.

- left hand on collective pitch(ascend and descend), also need the wrist to twist the handle to control the rotor speed(rpm).

- right hand on control stick to move the heli forward, backward, left and right. The fingers will be on the various buttons like fire control, machine gun and launching missiles.

- left leg on left pedal to yaw the heli left.

- right leg on right pedal to yaw the heli right.

Very tough and demanding job. But with some computers, it is easier to fly now.

precisely.. 20k come on... thats 0.5% of the original claim amount. so maybe TS will accepted a similar amount should he ever get rammed by someone who beats the lights?

anyway likely the cab driver can kiss his cab or car driving career good bye. also good riddance. imagine if he had kill someone. unlikely any insurer will ever want to insure him again.

hope this sends a signal to all those Grab and Taxi out there!

Edited by Mkl22

This case came up controversial because of the large potential earnings being factored into the claims. I agree that the pilot should get what she asked for.

I am just wondering......if say one of the non-mediocre >$1mil PA elite ministar gets into a RTA because some taxi driver beat the redlight.......What will be the lifetime claim amount?

$30mil? $50mil (including potential bonus and pension) -_-

This case came up controversial because of the large potential earnings being factored into the claims. I agree that the pilot should get what she asked for.

I am just wondering......if say one of the non-mediocre >$1mil PA elite ministar gets into a RTA because some taxi driver beat the redlight.......What will be the lifetime claim amount?

there should be a cap for personal accident.

Personal accident insurance already there is a limit to payout in terms of various disability. But in the pilot's case, it is not disability as she can still perform the daily activities of living as normal human being but just that the fine dexterity and coordination required for her specialised role is lost. Those are not covered by personal accident insurance.

That's why she has to start a civil suit against the cab driver.

there should be a cap for personal accident.

Actually the amount she asked for is not fantastic if you looked at what some others are getting locally:

https://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/wife-cyclist-killed-crash-gets-43m-payout

Widow of cyclist killed in crash gets $4.3m payout

Sum paid for Aussie expat's death in crash after cabby dozed off believed to be highest for dependency claim
K. C. VIJAYAN, SENIOR LAW CORRESPONDENT
May 07, 2018 06:00 am
   17 Engagements
An Australian widow whose cyclist husband died here after being knocked down by a taxi received some $4.3 million last month - believed to be the largest reported payout for an accident dependency claim here.

The High Court-approved payout, which was mutually agreed by the parties involved, capped a settlement reached some four years after the tragedy and a year after insurers for the taxi driver accepted 100 per cent liability.

In a previously reported dependency claim case in 2016 involving fatal personal injury, the affected family was awarded $2.6 million.

Mr Benjamin Paul Lawrance, 32, was killed on the spot from multiple injuries when a taxi collided into him from the opposite direction as he was cycling on Mandai Road just after 5.30am on July 14, 2014.

Mr Lawrance, an expatriate who had been in Singapore for less than a year, was cycling with others who witnessed the accident.

It emerged that cabby Mohammad Adzhar Ahmad had momentarily fallen asleep when his taxi cut to the right, across the continuous white dividing line on Mandai Road, near Nee Soon Flyover, and rammed into Mr Lawrance.

Adzhar was convicted in August 2015 in a district court, jailed for three months and banned from driving for seven years after admitting to causing death by a rash act.

Last year, the victim's widow, Mrs Sionnan Lawrance, 36, sued Adzhar in the High Court for negligence and sought damages for herself and a three-year-old son.

In claim documents filed, the housewife sought compensation because she and her son had been dependent on Mr Lawrance for support and maintenance.

As a regional manager for an offshore drilling company in Singapore, he was paid an expatriate's package.

SUPPORT
His death meant they lost their means of support, and at issue was the projected sum he could have earned over a lifetime to provide for them, given his promising career and future earnings abroad.

Lawyer Grace Malathy, representing Mrs Lawrance, engaged a forensic accountant from Matson, Driscoll and Damico to quantify the dependency claims, whose expert report was meant for scrutiny at court assessment hearings fixed for March.

Among other things, draft affidavits were also prepared and sent to the two accident witnesses - Mr Peter Galloway who in 2016 was in Antarctica carrying out oil exploration work, and Mr Daniel O' Connel who was in New Zealand.

It emerged that the station leader of the oil rig was an approved notary public and sourced to attest Mr Galloway's affidavit.

A notary public is an authorised person who can witness and certify legal documents used in legal cases abroad.

In the end, the court hearings were vacated as the quantum was settled through private negotiations between lawyers from Tan Kok Quan Partnership for Adzhar's insurers and Grace Law LLC for the widow.

The sums comprised $2.1 million in loss of dependency for the widow and $1.05 million for loss of dependency for the child, and another $1.185 million in special damages, among other things.

The settlement sum was approved by the High Court as a requirement since a child was involved as a party in the suit.

"This was a protracted case involving much legwork for a grieving widow," said Ms Malathy.

"Mrs Lawrance was unaware then of the prospect of a dependency claim and had thought compensation was for bereavement."

well, if he/she can still perform the same role after the accident, then i guess little grounds for large payout.

this case reminds me of the movie Dr Strange where a top surgeon loses the dexterity of his hands to perform complex surgery after an accident (though the accident was due to his fault).

the rest of the amount is only $65k as of now