Jeep Compass 1.4 Limited

Mockngbrd

For some strange reason, the kind people over at Jeep Chrysler gave me the keys to a Jeep Compass 1.4 last week. It was the first time I was given a non-BMW (and non-BMW related) car to review for a really really really long time.

This was the first time I've driven a Jeep. (Unfortunately, I'm guessing it will probably be my last time as well.) 

I'm sorry Jeep, you deserve better. 

https://garage36.wordpress.com/2018/09/05/hard-knock-life-driving-the-jeep-compass-1-4/

Edited by Mockngbrd

The short comings of the 9sp gearbox could be because it's a dual clutch unit. At first I thought it's 9sp planetary gb but as it turns out it's a DCT. As we know by now DCTs aren't the smoothest of gb when driven slow especially when it comes to city driving. It's program to react slow to prevent jerks from the gear changes.

The power to weight performance I think it's fine. But when it comes to handling I mean it's an SUV. Suspension tuning I would expect it to be on the softer side moreover this is an SUV that can go offroad. It's not say a sports sedan design to perform on a circuit. For a 4x4 the suspension must soak up the offroad bumps or else its occupants will end up with spinal injuries. Maybe you drive too many BMWs.

As for the headlights, yeah the US road regulations have yet to accept any other lights other dan halogen headlights. So expect all American branded cars to come with halogen headlights as standard. But this can be easily changed or modified.

When it comes to price I agree it's on the premium side. As you said not very competitive especially its competitors are better equipped and cost less. The only pro I see is the low road tax. Some US brand cars are not built for other parts of the world. Whatever works in US does not necessarily works here. If they want to be globally competitive they have to seriously open up.

The short comings of the 9sp gearbox could be because it's a dual clutch unit. At first I thought it's 9sp planetary gb but as it turns out it's a DCT. As we know by now DCTs aren't the smoothest of gb when driven slow especially when it comes to city driving. It's program to react slow to prevent jerks from the gear changes.

No, it's not a DCT. It's a 9 speed auto from ZF. Confirm + chop not a DCT. And it was jerky with a rather pronounced rubberband effect on heavy throttle input. 

The power to weight performance I think it's fine. But when it comes to handling I mean it's an SUV. Suspension tuning I would expect it to be on the softer side moreover this is an SUV that can go offroad. It's not say a sports sedan design to perform on a circuit. For a 4x4 the suspension must soak up the offroad bumps or else its occupants will end up with spinal injuries. Maybe you drive too many BMWs.

Yes, I've driven too many BMWs maybe. But tell that to Volvo who have managed to make a comfortable SUVs with decent handling. I did mention that yes, it's comfortable on highways and when using it in town.

But in retrospect, I should have mentioned that it shouldn't be about how comfy or how well it takes corners, but overall, how boring it was to drive. It just feels so meh... 

As for the headlights, yeah the US road regulations have yet to accept any other lights other dan halogen headlights. So expect all American branded cars to come with halogen headlights as standard. But this can be easily changed or modified.

Erm. that's not true. Aftermarket kits maybe, but for factory fitted cars, they are illegal nowhere. A new car meeting all FMVSS standards is legal in all 50 states.

When it comes to price I agree it's on the premium side. As you said not very competitive especially its competitors are better equipped and cost less. The only pro I see is the low road tax. Some US brand cars are not built for other parts of the world. Whatever works in US does not necessarily works here. If they want to be globally competitive they have to seriously open up.

+ You do know that for SGD$148,888, you are buying a car that's made in India ?

Again, I'll have to reiterate, as a value for $$$ proposition, take a look at the 1.4 Kodiaq. More space, 3 rows of seating, VW underpinnings and a wet clutch DSG. $132k with COE. Can use for Grab 7 seater. 

And if you want to spend 148k, there's always a 2.0 Kodiaq is 1k less, or go for the base Tiguan that is 8k less. 

Edited by Mockngbrd

Had a real bad experience with Jeep Singapore.

We went to the 2019 Singapore Motor Show on Jan 13th, and placed a deposit of 2K to secure the Jeep Compass Limited at show price. According to the terrible sales guy, Glenn, we can decide whether to proceed with the purchase after test drive, and we would be 100% refunded if not. No harm right?

We went for test drive on the following weekend. All the negative reviews of this car were proven during the drive. We informed the terrible Glenn on the spot that we are not keen to buy the car. He said no problem, and the deposit would be 100% refunded. We asked if there is any form to be signed and he replied "no", and told us that the company will issue a cheque for refund in a few days' time. Five days later, the terrible Glenn texted us to go to the showroom to sign a form for credit card refund, else there will be a 5% admin charge for cheque refund! What a crap!

In his message, he sounded so nicely, and I quote >> "I will need your help to come by showroom, I need you to sign cancellation form, I want to do refund to your credit card so you will not be charge cancellation fees, the cheque refund not worth it, I rather do as CC cancellation, at least you get full amount back". We are staying in the northeast, and to drive all the way there to sign a form is a hassle, especially when the terrible Glenn told us that there is no form to be signed when we were there. When we asked him if we can meet him nearer to our place, he was elusive, unhelpful, and became more terrible.

Well, at their mercy, we had no choice but to drive to the showroom and signed the form. Guess what, eventually we  received a cheque refund from Jeep, and it's $33 less! What happened to the 100% refund? What happened to the CC refund which required us to drive all the way there to sign a damn form? Messaging the terrible Glenn gets no reply. Called the office and spoke to the Sales Manager, Ms Wong Siew Hoong. She sounded polite and helpful but didn't call back as promised. Subsequent calls to her went fruitless, and other employees who answered the calls were hopeless too, only know how to answer "no", "don't know", "not sure".

To date, we still didn't get any resolution and response.

We went to the 2019 Singapore Motor Show on Jan 13th, and placed a deposit of 2K to secure the Jeep Compass Limited at show price. According to the terrible sales guy, Glenn, we can decide whether to proceed with the purchase after test drive, and we would be 100% refunded if not. No harm right?

We went for test drive on the following weekend. All the negative reviews of this car were proven during the drive. We informed the terrible Glenn on the spot that we are not keen to buy the car. He said no problem, and the deposit would be 100% refunded. We asked if there is any form to be signed and he replied "no", and told us that the company will issue a cheque for refund in a few days' time. Five days later, the terrible Glenn texted us to go to the showroom to sign a form for credit card refund, else there will be a 5% admin charge for cheque refund! What a crap!

In his message, he sounded so nicely, and I quote >> "I will need your help to come by showroom, I need you to sign cancellation form, I want to do refund to your credit card so you will not be charge cancellation fees, the cheque refund not worth it, I rather do as CC cancellation, at least you get full amount back". We are staying in the northeast, and to drive all the way there to sign a form is a hassle, especially when the terrible Glenn told us that there is no form to be signed when we were there. When we asked him if we can meet him nearer to our place, he was elusive, unhelpful, and became more terrible.

Well, at their mercy, we had no choice but to drive to the showroom and signed the form. Guess what, eventually we received a cheque refund from Jeep, and it's $33 less! What happened to the 100% refund? What happened to the CC refund which required us to drive all the way there to sign a damn form? Messaging the terrible Glenn gets no reply. Called the office and spoke to the Sales Manager, Ms Wong Siew Hoong. She sounded polite and helpful but didn't call back as promised. Subsequent calls to her went fruitless, and other employees who answered the calls were hopeless too, only know how to answer "no", "don't know", "not sure".

Sorry to say, first time I hear people put deposit then test drive. If need deposit then can test drive, I tell the agent to Fark Off leow. Some wisdom pls.

read the details, deposit was done during car show to secure price and other promo, you never been to car show? 

Edited by Firestorm

Cancellation usually have some form of bank charges. Most places will imposed a small amount.

How much you placed and how much did they refund you? Did you get your money back?

Well, at their mercy, we had no choice but to drive to the showroom and signed the form. Guess what, eventually we  received a cheque refund from Jeep, and it's $33 less! What happened to the 100% refund? What happened to the CC refund which required us to drive all the way there to sign a damn form? Messaging the terrible Glenn gets no reply. Called the office and spoke to the Sales Manager, Ms Wong Siew Hoong. She sounded polite and helpful but didn't call back as promised. Subsequent calls to her went fruitless, and other employees who answered the calls were hopeless too, only know how to answer "no", "don't know", "not sure".

tell u lousy liao still go

Lousy siah. Other dealers were giving out freebies for those who make bookings during the road show cos new model of car weren't available yet for test drive. For you is the other way around. Sad. This kinda dealer must avoided. Hire some clown to be salesperson.

tell u lousy liao still go

alamak, I read your review after the car show, before the test drive... didn't shortlist the car in the first place, just happened to walk past the booth and then wife was attracted to the looks, so just placed deposit since it's refundable

Cancellation usually have some form of bank charges. Most places will imposed a small amount.

How much you placed and how much did they refund you? Did you get your money back?

bro, $33 less from $2k lor

Very bad handling of the situation by the AD and all over $$33. Really sending a strong signal to avoid at all costs. I would think the whole fiasco was created by the salesman since the promise of full refund came from him. He could have earned himself many points, if he were to come up with the $33 to fulfill his promise of full refund. This episode would not have happened.

School fee of $33. U bigger hearted, let it go from here. This sharing will cost them many many many $33 down the road.

Thanks for sharing. Most times, the promo and freebies can hold for a few more days, it depends on how desperate or hungry the AD to close 1 more customer. No need deposit to secure. Nvm, you are now wiser.

Safe ride

read the details, deposit was done during car show to secure price and other promo, you never been to car show?

Sad to say, cheapo lor. Place deposit to secure promo price n freebies n u believe that??
  • Dislike 1

Sad to say, cheapo lor. Place deposit to secure promo price n freebies n u believe that??

Lol.. Another no balls put dislike as anonymous

U just can't handle the truth :D

If upfront state got some admin fee involved in refund think will be ok. Take it as coffee money for 'reserving' promotion items.

To turn around and then made him go through hassle which could have been avoided and then still deduct some admin fee is simply unprofessional.

Such simple process can mess up what more their sales agreement?

Thanks for sharing this episode and hope you just accept as a blessing that you didn't actually buy the car.

On 3/7/2019 at 2:15 PM, Yeshe said:
On 3/7/2019 at 1:12 PM, Firestorm said:

Had a real bad experience with Jeep Singapore

That's exactly what is happening now. Potential buyers are putting a deposit to secure their cars at rock bottom prices, subject to the test drive when Circuit Breaker ends.

But alas , test drive is now not allowed even after Circuit Breaker ends on 1June.

Probably allowed only in the 2nd phrase, likely from June onwards.

So now the car distributors are stuck with orders hanging in the air. 

On 9/6/2018 at 2:44 PM, Mockngbrd said:

No, it's not a DCT. It's a 9 speed auto from ZF. Confirm + chop not a DCT. And it was jerky with a rather pronounced rubberband effect on heavy throttle input. 

+ You do know that for SGD$148,888, you are buying a car that's made in India ?

Again, I'll have to reiterate, as a value for $$$ proposition, take a look at the 1.4 Kodiaq. More space, 3 rows of seating, VW underpinnings and a wet clutch DSG. $132k with COE. Can use for Grab 7 seater. 

And if you want to spend 148k, there's always a 2.0 Kodiaq is 1k less, or go for the base Tiguan that is 8k less. 

@Mockngbrd

People give you car to test drive for days, and you criticise the car. 😁

You are repeating what former car reviewer and Porsche fan Dr Winston Lee did during his early days as a car reviewer for ST. Those were the days where there's always a Porsche 911 listed in the ST Car of the Year award, under the Sports Car category, on the last week of every December.

That distributor no longer gave him any cars for reviews.

I miss the doc's content driven car reviews. Somehow a more insightful read compared to Christopher Tan's and the current batch of writers' reviews. If only he had not allowed his raging hormones to take control over his brain. 

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/doctor-74-who-molested-patient-no-longer-has-licence-practise

Edited by Vinceng