Threatened at work ?

Ysc3

anyone kenah threaten at work before ? by outsider some more ? how would you react ? how would YOUR COMPANY react ?

anyway, this happened over the weekend ...

as you know, I am in warehousing and we are all manual laborers working with other manual laborers.

so last week we were very packed and truckers making deliveries to our whse had to wait much longer than usual ... so came one guy who drove a 40' trailer and decided to cut que and asked my staff to unload just one piece of cargo for him.

my staff simply told him to go back and join the que and the guy refuted my staff saying he was rude and unhelpful.

as he was leaving, another staff who just returned from the toilet told him to use the walkway and not the forklift ramp and the guy snapped and walked up the forklift ramp and threatened staff to "put location !"

my staff sensed that the guy was a bit "high" and just kept quiet and the guy then went back down using the ramp.

subsequently another staff from another section unloaded the guy's cargo after a few mins.

I told me staff if this kind of thing were to happen again, just ignore such ppl and then get the security to remove them and don't even bother with the goods he is carrying.

however, I do not know if my employer(customer) will share the same sentiment.

**btw, I already went home when it happened ... was only reported to me the next day.

anyone kenah threaten at work before ? by outsider some more ? how would you react ? how would YOUR COMPANY react ?

as you know, I am in warehousing and we are all manual laborers working with other manual laborers.

so last week we were very packed and truckers making deliveries to our whse had to wait much longer than usual ... so came one guy who drove a 40' trailer and decided to cut que and asked my staff to unload just one piece of cargo for him.

my staff simply told him to go back and join the que and the guy refuted my staff saying he was rude and unhelpful.

as he was leaving, another staff who just returned from the toilet told him to use the walkway and not the forklift ramp and the guy snapped and walked up the forklift ramp and threatened staff to "put location !"

my staff sensed that the guy was a bit "high" and just kept quiet and the guy then went back down using the ramp.

subsequently another staff from another section unloaded the guy's cargo after a few mins.

I told me staff if this kind of thing were to happen again, just ignore such ppl and then get the security to remove them and don't even bother with the goods he is carrying.

**btw, I already went home when it happened ... was only reported to me the next day.

i can feel for you but work related i think better dont talk here.. 

no wonder I cannot find my post ... posted in wrong section ... just see "complaints", post only ... did not see it was in the car-related section ...

can mods help to move to non-car ?

Sometimes its easy to talk BIG. But when things happen, then you can know how BIG is the talk actually.

Make sure you got sufficient cctv cameras covering the area incase "this guy" come back again and do silly things.

GVGT !!!

Put up the signs that say our staff are not to be abused and have the right to work safely.

Management need to support the staff if not all the staff will run away and management need to do the work themselves.

Edited by Jamesc

Put up the signs that say our staff are not to be abused and have the right to work safely.

Management need to support the staff if not all the staff will run away and management need to do the work themselves.

my sentiments exactly ... I wonder how many coys will walk the talk when comes to protecting their employees.

Edited by Ysc3

all these large MNCs are skewed towards maintaining positive customer relations and public image. 

the power of social media is ridiculous nowadays...  

take for eg...   Bank A needs to recover a loan...  debtor cries and says no money loan shark hounding him already.. police report made. Bank decides to give grace. 3months down the road... Small creditors proceed bankruptcy proceedings... Bank A has to file claims as well when that happens. 

Guess who gets all the negative exposure when the debtor really took his on life?

you think people in EDMW know to get the full picture and talk sense? you think the bank was not trying to avoid such situations when they granted grace in the first place? 

pathetic.

my sentiments exactly ... I wonder how many coys will walk the talk when comes to protecting their employees.

correct me if i am wrong, most of the guys working there are not the goody two shoes type also right?

did you ask your staff on their tone of voice when speaking to the guy?

Edited by Galantspeedz

Just take note of the signs at the hospital the next time you happen to go to one (I assume you - like me - also need to bring parents/family go med appts).

Hospitals are famous for people getting upset with the long wait times, and then abuse the staff, so they put up those carefully-worded signs to deter any abuse.

And it is useful to bring this up to mgmt to ask them what is their stance if someone really complains to it (mgmt). Make sure there is clarity on all parties, and that will be easier for everyone to work. If the mgmt is not supportive, then ask them what is recommended for the staff to follow in terms of protocol if people do not abide by the guidelines.

Just take note of the signs at the hospital the next time you happen to go to one (I assume you - like me - also need to bring parents/family go med appts).

Hospitals are famous for people getting upset with the long wait times, and then abuse the staff, so they put up those carefully-worded signs to deter any abuse.

And it is useful to bring this up to mgmt to ask them what is their stance if someone really complains to it (mgmt). Make sure there is clarity on all parties, and that will be easier for everyone to work. If the mgmt is not supportive, then ask them what is recommended for the staff to follow in terms of protocol if people do not abide by the guidelines.

I agree with this. go any polyclinic also will show the same sign.

Last time i was in bukit batok poly got some guy keep scolding the staff (wasn't shouting, but was loud). the staff just point to the sign and say "we are protected by law from verbal abuse." the guy just keep scolding, end up security took him away. end of story.

my staff simply told him to go back and join the que and the guy refuted my staff saying he was rude and unhelpful.

as he was leaving, another staff who just returned from the toilet told him to use the walkway and not the forklift ramp and the guy snapped and walked up the forklift ramp and threatened staff to "put location !"

Thought such kind of words: 'put location' only exist during my sec sch days? Those ah bengs will say u put location, i put time.

They are just sch boys trapped in adults body.

correct me if i am wrong, most of the guys working there are not the goody two shoes type also right?

did you ask your staff on their tone of voice when speaking to the guy?

the first staff is the cannot-be-bothered type ... he won't talk much and won't listen much, just do his own work... just monotonously tell the trucker go back and que. he is not customer service so don't have to waste time entertaining the trucker ...

but the trucker snapped at the second staff who just came back from the toilet ... sway...

how to help him ?? so many ppl que ... end up we might have to unload all the trucks ourselves if we help him ...

frankly, I think I am the only one who will quarrel with anyone, if anyone.

the first staff is the cannot-be-bothered type ... he won't talk much and won't listen much, just do his own work... just monotonously tell the trucker go back and que. he is not customer service so don't have to waste time entertaining the trucker ...

but the trucker snapped at the second staff who just came back from the toilet ... sway...

how to help him ?? so many ppl que ... end up we might have to unload all the trucks ourselves if we help him ...

frankly, I think I am the only one who will quarrel with anyone, if anyone.

the trucker is wrong to cut queue but if the tone of voice not very good then obviously sometimes people also buay song tio bo.. especially if he need to rush to unload cargo elsewhere also...

what you should ask yourself is, is it worth it to argue with the trucker and get into trouble because of work....

now many a time i also cannot be bothered to argue, he want cut queue just skip him and unload the rest behind and he will get the message...

the trucker is wrong to cut queue but if the tone of voice not very good then obviously sometimes people also buay song tio bo.. especially if he need to rush to unload cargo elsewhere also...

what you should ask yourself is, is it worth it to argue with the trucker and get into trouble because of work....

now many a time i also cannot be bothered to argue, he want cut queue just skip him and unload the rest behind and he will get the message...

that's why my staff just ignore him only lor ... furthermore, my staff think the guy seemed intoxicated ...

but I am thinking if my hirer will support us if anything happens ...

like I said, if I were there, and things get hot, i'll just get security to remove him and his goods.

Edited by Ysc3

Hospital got advantage. People shouting just need two men in white coats take them away.

Phone customer service also good. People shouting just put on hold for 5 minutes and still shouting leave on hold and take the next call.

Warehouse - just employ big strong types with tattoos and no one will try anything funny.

I was working in Brunei many years ago and we had a gang of welders from the Philippines.

We were extending a onshore gas facility and so there were Gurkha guards patrolling the boundary next to our site.

Anyway mid way through the contract one of the Philippino foremen made a complete cock up of welding a very big pipe and pipe tee junction together.

It couldn't be reworked and replacement parts would take weeks to arrive.

I was told by the Philippino Superintendent that this guy had made the weld wrongly on purpose.

So I sacked him straight away.

I bought him an airticket home.

A day or so later before he had gone home, very few flights,  I was working late in my office when this guy came through the door.  Dunno if he was drunk or not, but very belligerent and carrying a big screw driver.

He said he wanted his bonus payment and wouldn't leave until he got it. I told him no way and to go home.

No one else around only me and I couldn't contact the Gurkhas.

We 'discussed' the situation and he was obviously threatening me with the screw driver.  And he was a big guy.  And I wasn't.

This went on for quite a while me sat at my desk, him prowling waving the screw driver.

Long story short ish.

I got fed up, got up from desk walked towards him and whacked him in the nose as hard as I could.

He burst out crying and his nose was bleeding like mad.

I pushed him out the door, locked up and went home.

He got his bonus money from the Superintendent after threatening his family back in the Philippines so I had to reimburse the Superintendent.