Plasterboard walls for new flats ?

Ysc3

last night during our weekly gathering, my uncle told us my cousin moving into her new BTO flat.

she got an installer to come to her flat to fix up the flat TV on the wall. however, when the installer came, he told her cannot .... and then he knocked on the "wall" and it turned out to be hollow !!

as such, he explained it will not be able to sustain the weight of the Tv over time.

in the end, he installed the bracket on the outlining solid wall instead of the partition inside the flat.

anyone else got new flats and the "walls" inside the house separating the bedrooms are plasterboard walls ?

1st time to know this. get the builder to provide a layout on it. nv know new flats built in this way now! whether to absorb noise...

It  is common nowadays, EC and condo also having gypsum board walls.

Easier if you want to demolish walls to reconfigure the layout. It is also cheaper and faster to build.

last night during our weekly gathering, my uncle told us my cousin moving into her new BTO flat.

she got an installer to come to her flat to fix up the flat TV on the wall. however, when the installer came, he told her cannot .... and then he knocked on the "wall" and it turned out to be hollow !!

as such, he explained it will not be able to sustain the weight of the Tv over time.

in the end, he installed the bracket on the outlining solid wall instead of the partition inside the flat.

anyone else got new flats and the "walls" inside the house separating the bedrooms are plasterboard walls ?

lucky SG don't have earthquake ... or else the flat dunno can tahan or not ... now that the internal "pillars" are nolonger there.

1st time to know this. get the builder to provide a layout on it. nv know new flats built in this way now! whether to absorb noise...

poor noise insulation within the house.

From 2015 onwards, it become mandatory for non-landed residential unit (HDB flats inclusive) to have certain % of walls (typically non-structural inner wall) to use drywall system, for increasing productivity and sustainability (less reliance on sand and cement).

These requirement falls under BCA's Building Control (Buildability and Productivity) Regulations 2011. Refer to Schedule 2 for the mandatory building systems and standard components to be used.

And here are some info pertaining to the quality of drywall system (gypsum board). Sound insulation properties is heavily dependent on the type of material used, and can be further enhanced through the use of rockwool.

• Praise 10

The BCA brouchure says dry walls is only 15% weight of brick wall. 

I wonder whether poorly build condos and ECs can support an additional 85% weight of a brick wall?

It  is common nowadays, EC and condo also having gypsum board walls.

Easier if you want to demolish walls to reconfigure the layout. It is also cheaper and faster to build.

Bottom part of wall is solid, hollow above a certain height. Should be able to mount TV using hollowblock anchors aka toggle bolts.

dunno leh ... this is the tan-jiak man say one ... i have not seen it myself ... (actually makes no diff coz i am layman)

anyway, below are some shots from a friend : post-2854-0-10440200-1538295055_thumb.jpgpost-2854-0-73234700-1538295060_thumb.jpgpost-2854-0-31463400-1538295064_thumb.jpgpost-2854-0-67038900-1538295069_thumb.jpg

Edited by Ysc3

OK hollow walls.

I know 'buyer beware' but really do HDB inform buyers about this new feature.

I doubt buyers know this.

Prolly won't effect their decision but I've got a lot of paintings on my solid walls and don't think I'd have them on hollow walls.

Does bomb shelter have these hollow walls.

Don't you have to wait 5 years before allowed to do alterations in HDB.

By then got floor installed so not easy to make changes.

Edited by Neutrino

OK hollow walls.

Prolly won't effect their decision but I've got a lot of paintings on my solid walls and don't think I'd have them on hollow walls.

actually got pro and cons for me now that i know about and will be expecting this.

cons is i cannot anchor heavy things on the "wall".

pros is most probably i will knock down the plasterboard walls and install sliding doors between the bedrooms. 

lucky SG don't have earthquake ... or else the flat dunno can tahan or not ... now that the internal "pillars" are nolonger there.

poor noise insulation within the house.

Huge quake in Sumatra can be felt in certain parts of Sg.

Since these walls are not main beam, ok la

OK hollow walls.

Cheaper options but price of HDB still same..

Probably next we will go back to using stilt.

dunno leh ... this is the tan-jiak man say one ... i have not seen it myself ... (actually makes no diff coz i am layman)

anyway, below are some shots from a friend : attachicon.gif3c4a8b9f-c898-420a-b684-78eae1a47b92.jpgattachicon.gif8b0b85ab-22cd-4e76-911e-257aaefa4341.jpgattachicon.gif65f49506-dc9a-4265-b577-9a677b2f7fb4.jpgattachicon.giff53f6aeb-36e4-484c-80c0-48cf1eaf98a9.jpg

these photos look like offices, some of the flat/EC allow you to choose 3-4 bedroom and the drywall will be used for easy configuration.

This is old news. More dan 10years ago HDB already doing it on all kinds of flats.

My mum's place the masterbedroom door(the piece of wall above the door frame), toilets' wall all plasterboard. Why cannot hold the TV? The one I fix in my mum's masterbed room the not so flat TV has been up there for 10+ years. Next to it I even install a shelf to put dvd player and setup box. Who said cannot hold over time is big BS. It's not a paperwall.

This is old news. More dan 10years ago HDB already doing it on all kinds of flats.

My mum's place the masterbedroom door(the piece of wall above the door frame), toilets' wall all plasterboard. Why cannot hold the TV? The one I fix in my mum's masterbed room the not so flat TV has been up there for 10+ years. Next to it I even install a shelf to put dvd player and setup box. Who said cannot hold over time is big BS. It's not a paperwall.

drilling in this type of wall is much easier than brick wall, need a heavy duty drill and messy. 

Yeah. I don't trust installers, they use cheapo steel screws that will rust. I used stainless steel self-tapping screws that don't require any drilling.

Actually, I much prefer drywall cos it is easier to run concealed wiring and easy enough to patch it up, light weight, better finishes and can specify the level of sound proofing I want. One of the earliest condo to use all drywall for the internal partition is Bayshore Park built in the 80's. 

It is ppl's perception rather than reality. Drywall can hold weight if we specify or add reinforcement eg. plywood, etc it correctly.