How much are you losing for new cars

Wpower

just wondering how much are you losing if you ditch the car after 1/2 year?

Is it more accurate to ask "just wondering how much AM I LOSING if I ditch MY car after 1/2 year?"

To enable fellow forummers to help with your question, at least include some details lah! Like what kind of car, new or used, what is the COE value, dealer or private sale etc etc. 

No head no tail.

just wondering how much are you losing if you ditch the car after 1/2 year?

Approximately you will be looking at 20% depreciation at least for 6 months old [rolleyes]

If you bought 100k ... dealer will buy 80k maximum ... might be even lower if the car is not popular model  [sweatdrop]

Approximately you will be looking at 20% depreciation at least for 6 months old [rolleyes]

If you bought 100k ... dealer will buy 80k maximum ... might be even lower if the car is not popular model  [sweatdrop]

This is applicable if COE is constant.  Recent significant drop in COE has crushed the almost new car prices in resale market.

Thread starter can consider paper value (+ few thousands depending on model popularity) is best value in present scenario (Except Subaru cars as their OMV is not actual representation as per final product)

Universal Rule: "If you buy cheap (new car) then have to sell cheap (current car) also" 

TS can take reference from the fleets of unsold LCR to realize that you'd lose your pants trying to sell off your 6 month to 1 year old car at this point.

Edited by Macrosszero

TS can take reference from the fleets of unsold LCR to realize that you'd lose your pants trying to sell off your 6 month to 1 year old car at this point.

Those in the sgcarmart are already highly marked up by dealers, not the real sell price , letting alone the much lower price when an individual trying to sell a car to the dealers.

If you bought the car during the CEVS scheme and your car enjoyed a rebate, you are screwed.

My Fit ARF is only 5k.

I am practically stuck.

why are you guys assuming that the TS is asking about a new car?

Base on the 3 new threads he started, I believe he bought a used car, but likely facing some issues with the car now, so thinking of to off load it if the lose is lower than all the repair and renew costs.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Edited: I stand corrected, title said NEW CARS. Sorry guys...  [:p]

Edited by Tianmo

If you bought the car during the CEVS scheme and your car enjoyed a rebate, you are screwed.

My Fit ARF is only 5k.

I am practically stuck.

Fit is a popular model. If you sell directly I'm sure many will take

What kinda ppl will ask this kinda question, I wonder? [rolleyes]

First time car owner, who tio a lemon used car lor..

The other kind is school holiday one, but now is all high alert for year end exams, PSLE, N level, O level, A level. This kind is all busy now.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

why are you guys assuming that the TS is asking about a new car?

Base on the 3 new threads he started, I believe he bought a used car, but likely facing some issues with the car now, so thinking of to off load it if the lose is lower than all the repair and renew costs.  [laugh] 

Edited: I stand corrected, title said NEW CARS. Sorry guys...  [:p]

Just quote him $5k lost lar.... [sly]  so that he will keep his car for another 2 years. -_-  

Write until so many words ... :secret-laugh:

First time car owner, who tio a lemon used car lor..

The other kind is school holiday one, but now is all high alert for year end exams, PSLE, N level, O level, A level. This kind is all busy now.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Errrr........... think Poly students having their mid-term break now... :slow:

Oh yah, I forgot the poly fellows having their breaks now...  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Actually this calls to mind a discussion I had with someone a little while ago, about when is the 'best' time to sell a car bought first hand. By 'best' I am referring to suffer the least amount of depreciation loss.

Is it before the 5-year mark, before the end of 9 years (ie. before entering into the 10th year), or drive all the way until the full 10 years?

Of course, I understand that there are variables such as maintenance and repair cost, I am just asking about depreciation.