Fibre TV and termination point

Rollagt

May I know how much of tattoo or biceps you showed...?

Actually, nebermine...I have neither to utilise...

sorry ah can i piggy back on this thread? cos my parent's room is still using the analog connection to TV direct.

lately the 32" TV become a 23" viewing area because a big portion of screen is now a constant reminder to convert to digital connection.

they don't qualify for the free set-top box as they have a MIO TV in the living room.

i want to buy a tv box for them but i don't know which one to get. is there any box that doesn't require any external antenna?

recommendations are appreciated. not those android tv box that requires internet hor (they don't have internet at home).. basically one that can allow viewing of FTA channels can liao.

TIA!

all need external antenna. my room tv, even with the more powerful antenna can't receive some channels (specifically channel 8)

Have you tried putting the antenna outside the window?

Then maybe can get channel 8.

I have feeling "everyone" qualifies but if people never ask they never get.

I went to change my sim card to nano and they told me need to pay.

I told them my fren came last week and no need to pay.

He went to ask his supervisor and it must have been my lucky day

cos he says I no need to pay.

Hahahahaha Hahaha!!!! :XD: Edited by Mustank

Have you tried putting the antenna outside the window?

Then maybe can get channel 8.

it's an antenna with a base. not those stick on the wall type.

nvm lah. i hardly watch FTA tv anyway. If i want to watch something, then just find it on toggle.

Haiz. Such a trouble for us to go thru.

It's that stupid antenna that's a PITA

I have to say the one given free is good. No problem receiving all the channels. The antenna is not even near the window. 

The one from Qoo I only have problem sometime receiving Ch5. 

I don't have any tattoos and I have a very decent look

that people always want to makan.

So I brought my MIL along and he took one look at her

and came back saying no need to pay, no need to pay.  [thumbsup]

We all know you want to be a good boy and so no tattoos on your body not to make your MIL angry.

Even if you have tattoos on your body, your MIL will not be scared of you.

Instead she will add more tattoos on your body with her fingernails scratch marks.  [laugh]

Edited by DACH

We all know you want to be a good boy and so no tattoos on your body not to make your MIL angry.

Even if you have tattoos on your body, your MIL will not be scared of you.

Instead she will add more tattoos on your body with her fingernails scratch marks.  [laugh]

That's so true.  [thumbsup]

They have thousands of customers on cable and

they are trying to get their customer to change to fibre.

I refuse to move to fibre cos cable is very stable and fast enough for me

and only 19.90

Any way I think cable will around for years.

The thing about cable is that it's shared bandwidth.

When cable was still in full bloom, and more subscribers added, they have to keep increasing the bandwidth on the network router's side.

So that the shared bandwidth do not deteriorate too much or subscribers will complain.

So now what happens, when it's going the other direction, when more and more subscribers left the cable network.

Assuming now the bandwidth did not change, the remaining subscribers get more shared bandwidth, since more sharers has left and the remaining pie is still as big.

It's advantages to the remaining subscribers, but not to cable operator. If you're the last one left behind and they want to shut down, they will have to kick you out, either by stick or carrot.

The thing about cable is that it's shared bandwidth.

When cable was still in full bloom, and more subscribers added, they have to keep increasing the bandwidth on the network router's side.

So that the shared bandwidth do not deteriorate too much or subscribers will complain.

So now what happens, when it's going the other direction, when more and more subscribers left the cable network.

Assuming now the bandwidth did not change, the remaining subscribers get more shared bandwidth, since more sharers has left and the remaining pie is still as big.

It's advantages to the remaining subscribers, but not to cable operator. If you're the last one left behind and they want to shut down, they will have to kick you out, either by stick or carrot.

OK everybody please immediately switch to fibre.

Even if you have to pay extra for switching with this charge and that charge

just pay it and go to fibre.

Cable is old and obsolete and please leave it to the dinosaurs like me.  [thumbsup]

Stubborn old fools like me will never leave cable.

Look what happened to people that never switch to digital TV?

They send people to your house and fix a box and aerial and

even do the installation for you all free or give you a $100 to buy a

brand new TV.

I feel the lease will be renewed but if its not I think they will pay

for the fibre installation and I will get a new router and also maybe

free broadband for a few years.

Let see whether they need us more as a customer as there are so many

competitors for fibre but how many companies can supply you cable?

Its our time to play hardball. Just say no to leaving cable.  [thumbsup]

I like your way of thinking.... Most likely cable will go the way of 2G mobile ... Once the subscriber base falls below the sustainable cost to upkeep the cable network, they will just let your contract run out and no longer offer any recontract. Probably they might have some "goodwill" deal for you to sign on their fibre package then. 

Yes, hold your Fort and wait for the offer [thumbsup]

Stubborn old fools like me will never leave cable.

Look what happened to people that never switch to digital TV?

They send people to your house and fix a box and aerial and

even do the installation for you all free or give you a $100 to buy a

brand new TV.

I feel the lease will be renewed but if its not I think they will pay

for the fibre installation and I will get a new router and also maybe

free broadband for a few years.

Let see whether they need us more as a customer as there are so many

competitors for fibre but how many companies can supply you cable?

Its our time to play hardball. Just say no to leaving cable.  [thumbsup]

Hrmm not sure on minimum but usually most people would just run Cat 6 cables as its more cost effective and have the router stay with the fibre point.

We put a draw cable above our false ceiling as a 'just in case'.

Not sure it will work when we come to put in fibre as some of the radii are quite tight.

Is there a minimum radius for a fibre cable?

just got my foc digital tv box with active antenna installed over the weekend

thank you ah gong for your generosity to peasant store man

ð¬ð

1st time see people so happy about getting their own tax money back. Ah Gong don't figuratively print money one.  :D

To get money back from Ah Gong.....Small pleasures in life..  :D

ð¬ð

Should have utilise the $100 to buy a smart tv using 1 remote controller. Also can further make use of internet connecting to smart tv to watch YouTube, Netflix, Toggle in good quality.