Trip to New York with road trip to Niagara Falls

Adrianli

Day seven

The day of our road trip to Niagara Falls started. Left the house at exactly 9am. First stop was to pump full tank as we were provided with slightly more than half tank only and the drive back home consumed some fuel to drop to below half tank. Soon we were on the freeway, the tolls here are like our ERP gantry, totally cashless. So remember to ask for EZ-pass included in your rental.

The Cadillac ATS was really powerful although it was not turbocharged. The ride was towards the stiff side. Road, wind noise and vibrations were very minimal. Feels exactly like a solid german car. The wonderful thing was it comes with seat and steering wheel warmer in this cold weather. There was absolutely no rear passenger leg room after I adjusted the seat to my driving position. Also the boot was not too big.

I used Waze as my primary navigation tool on my hp. It was wonderful as most drivers there also using the same app. Got police warning, roadkill warning, car stop at shoulder warning, road works warning, etc… The drivers here drive pretty fast. Limit was between 55mph to 65mph and I was already at 70mph. They simply zoom past me. When the coast was clear, the highest I went was 90mph, around 140+km/h only. Saw quite a few kena caught by the police. The police here are sneaky, they camp at the chevron on the exit ramps or in front of the billboards. However, the good thing is they don’t deploy mobile or fix speed cameras.

Planned a pee cum food stop after 3 hours of driving at Ihop Binghamton. What a wonderful place to have lunch, their pancakes are so good. Wonder why they never come to SEA. Extremely sinful.

post-2654-0-27283900-1541935792_thumb.jpg

At ¼ tank left, I stopped somewhere in the country side for fuel. Alamak, the place was so beautiful. Look at the photos. And I never heard of Marathon fuel before. Just a deserted place at a turn off from the freeway.

post-2654-0-12208400-1541935838_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-19117400-1541935852_thumb.jpg

The route to Niagara Falls is not direct, got to change highways here and there. I just follow what Waze directed me too and compare to my other hp which had Maps.me app opened. Just to ensure I will not lose my way.

post-2654-0-20144200-1541935870_thumb.jpg

After another 4 hours of driving, we finally arrived at our destination, Niagara Falls in the US side. Reach the place at 5.30pm. I was expecting it to be very busy place with tourists but the place was pretty much quiet. Checked into our hotel and happened to see a helicopter took off, got me excited. Our hotel is next to a heli pad. The hotel was ok, no views of the falls.

post-2654-0-09915300-1541937717_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-68799000-1541937732_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-18216800-1541937747_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-33753500-1541937766_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-26828100-1541937794_thumb.jpg

Then we took a walk along the park next to the hotel to the falls. As we walked under the Rainbow bridge to Canada, we were able to see Canada side clearly. There was so much activities going on there. Soon we reached the American falls. Super excited to feel the mist from the waterfall and the roar too. It was amazing after driving 8 hours to this place. We took lots and lots of photos. There was an observation deck for you to view the falls from further out as the US side got not much view of the falls. However we did not go as it requires an entrance fee. Yup, the waterfall was from US side so there was really not much view but can feel the rush of the water going down.

post-2654-0-78309300-1541937901_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-87682400-1541937914_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-85815200-1541937926_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-35436500-1541937938_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-77178600-1541937957_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-42338800-1541937988_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-98301200-1541938000_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-21394300-1541938013_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-35987800-1541938028_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-08916000-1541938041_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-98460300-1541938056_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-46282800-1541938070_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-12083900-1541938087_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-82726300-1541938103_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-59576800-1541938119_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-79187700-1541938129_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-10179900-1541938146_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-37762500-1541938203_thumb.jpg

Then we went to the souvenir shop for Maid of the Mist cruise to buy some souvenirs. It was already dark when we left the shop, the Canada side would shine a light at the waterfalls. Very beautiful. But as mentioned, not much view from US side. We made the 10min walk back to the hotel in semi darkness. We settled for dinner at the restaurant in the hotel as we do not wish to drive around looking for food. Food was ok. There is a Starbucks in the hotel and they share the same area as the restaurant. So the drinks are from Starbucks and food from the restaurant.

post-2654-0-32313100-1541938237_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-33574800-1541938251_thumb.jpg

Oh i would have thought u would have stayed canadian side.

Yup it's really an accessible wonder of the world.

Never did the maid of the mist. But my parents enjoyed it when they went there.

Will bring my kids when they are older.

Then we took a walk along the park next to the hotel to the falls. As we walked under the Rainbow bridge to Canada, we were able to see Canada side clearly. There was so much activities going on there. Soon we reached the American falls. Super excited to feel the mist from the waterfall and the roar too. It was amazing after driving 8 hours to this place. We took lots and lots of photos. There was an observation deck for you to view the falls from further out as the US side got not much view of the falls. However we did not go as it requires an entrance fee. Yup, the waterfall was from US side so there was really not much view but can feel the rush of the water going down.

Then we went to the souvenir shop for Maid of the Mist cruise to buy some souvenirs. It was already dark when we left the shop, the Canada side would shine a light at the waterfalls. Very beautiful. But as mentioned, not much view from US side. We made the 10min walk back to the hotel in semi darkness. We settled for dinner at the restaurant in the hotel as we do not wish to drive around looking for food. Food was ok. There is a Starbucks in the hotel and they share the same area as the restaurant. So the drinks are from Starbucks and food from the restaurant.

Oh i would have thought u would have stayed canadian side.

Yup it's really an accessible wonder of the world.

Never did the maid of the mist. But my parents enjoyed it when they went there.

Will bring my kids when they are older.

We did. Air, Land and Water. Many many more photos to come.

Day eight

Woke up early to check out and cross the border. Very excited, first time go Canada too. And was wondering how to cross it. Just drive and look for instructions. Our hotel is next to the Rainbow bridge entrance, yup like few hundred meters away only. The drive up to the bridge, you will come to the first stop, a toll booth. Pay USD3.75 to cross the bridge. And thatz it. No immigration or custom all the way to the Canada side. It is a single lane bridge each way.

When we reached the Canada side, wind down my window and passed our passports to the officer. He took it and then looked at me. He didn’t say a word and we were just looking at each other. I was wondering why. Then after a few mins, he spoke. He asked my wife if she was done with her phone. KNN, all the while I was looking at the officer and didn’t know my wife was reading messages on her phone. I immediately told my wife to put away her phone. He then proceeded to ask the normal  questions, where we were from, stay how many days and where we staying as he checked our passports. No stamping of passports at all. Finished and he let us go.

post-2654-0-40773100-1542108405_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-89193500-1542108420_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-83718200-1542108434_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-49309700-1542108448_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-53092300-1542108464_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-46930900-1542108478_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-14815200-1542108492_thumb.jpg

Woohoo, set foot into Canada. So simple, only checks at one side only. Drove straight to Sheraton on the fall hotel and see if can check in. Unfortunately, our rooms are not ready so we self parked at the hotel’s carpark and it cost CAD35/night regardless how many times u drive in and out. No free parking. Changed into our get wet gear, track suit and sandals. We proceeded to take the cruise, Hornblower cruise. The Hornblower(CAD) cruise and Maid of the Mist(US) cruise go to the same place, the horseshoe falls. But Hornblower is a bigger boat. Bought tickets and took the elevator down to the river level. Was provided with red poncho. Ppl were looking at us in our track suit and sandals at 4°C weather. Later then they will regret. Feet was a bit cold thou.

Those who wana experience the powerful waterfall go to the open upper deck of the boat. The lower deck is sheltered. Lots of tourists on the boat from various countries, PRC, Korean, Malaysians, Singaporeans, Indians, US and locals. The winds from the falls was great as we got near. Lucky I am prepared, also got a waterproof cover for my mobile phone to take pictures. The boat did not go directly under the falls but got very near. The spray from the falls made us all wet. Now those who stared at us regret having wet shoes and socks + pants. Hope they had spare, otherwise they will be wearing wet shoes for the rest of their tour. Soon the boat ride came to an end. Went back to the car and change out our clothes and wore our dry shoes. Best feeling ever.

post-2654-0-41100400-1542108600_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-92322600-1542108615_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-79218700-1542108672_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-64463400-1542108686_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-21765000-1542108700_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-10585600-1542108713_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-65214800-1542108724_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-73643000-1542108736_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-68986900-1542108750_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-57920900-1542108805_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-24013000-1542108822_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-86781800-1542108832_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-12801300-1542108845_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-46837900-1542108861_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-32076800-1542108876_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-09385500-1542108891_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-72772800-1542108904_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-32329700-1542108920_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-90577400-1542108937_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-34226600-1542108955_thumb.jpg

Sheraton hotel was linked to a casino, hard rock café, coca cola shop and Hershey shop. All fully sheltered all the way to the carpark. We visited coca cola shop, bought some souvenir and then to Hershey shop and bought some chocolates + ate some on the spot.

post-2654-0-35955300-1542109274_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-43346700-1542109286_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-61170900-1542109300_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-39810500-1542109313_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-61331200-1542109333_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-64709800-1542109345_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-79500600-1542109365_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-55056400-1542109381_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-62410300-1542109397_thumb.jpg

Happen to see an Uber ride here. The Uber here got similar signage on top as cab.

post-2654-0-22647600-1542109411_thumb.jpg

Followed by walking the street of Falls Ave. Wow. It was full of activities. Lots of shops to see and lots of restaurants. We just walked one round and went to the arcade to play some games. I wanted to try the go kart but it was closed due to wet track. Next we ate ice cream from the shop, jin ho jiak. Visited the candy shop and message from the hotel came in that our room was ready.

post-2654-0-79558000-1542109528_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-09410400-1542109542_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-45044000-1542109553_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-22027800-1542109567_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-16385700-1542109578_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-70820600-1542109589_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-99941300-1542109602_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-22964600-1542109614_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-31062600-1542109626_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-81983600-1542109638_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-49073700-1542109651_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-06996000-1542109671_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-85843000-1542110832_thumb.jpg

Edited by Adrianli

Collected our keys and went to our room. The moment we opened the door, my wife rushed to the window and screamed in excitement. We purposely paid more for the full view of Niagara Falls and it certainly did not disappoint. We had the full frontal view of all three waterfalls, American Falls, Bridal Veil Falls and Horseshoe Falls. Super nice, two thumbs and two big toes up. Even with closed windows, we could hear the roar of the waterfalls. A must see. Opened the door to the small balcony to see and hear the waterfalls. It was damn cold outside as temp dropped to 2°C. We just chill and relax by the window looking at the wonderful view.

post-2654-0-25524000-1542109782_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-60043400-1542109793_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-25934800-1542109805_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-87358900-1542109819_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-69754000-1542109833_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-84436400-1542109845_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-58009600-1542109859_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-67055300-1542109872_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-05375800-1542109883_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-01932000-1542109892_thumb.jpg

Dinner was spent downstairs at Hard Rock café. Food was good and expensive. Same as USA, got tax and compulsory 20% tipping. Wifey bought some stuff from the shop and when we had dinner, we also opted to keep our drinking glasses. They don’t give u the dirty glasses, just use the receipt and go to the shop to claim brand new ones.

Went back to the hotel and view the night view of the falls being lighted up. Very nice. However the nightly fireworks no more liao as they only do it during summer. Another seasonal stuff.

post-2654-0-69673100-1542109913_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-31082800-1542109926_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-02486000-1542109939_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-73256900-1542109950_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-92060700-1542109965_thumb.jpg

Day nine

Had buffet breakfast at the hotel, CAD25/person. Ya, got to add tax and compulsory tipping of 20% of the server who attended to us. He only clear our plates and pour our drinks. Drinks no self-service one. Breakfast was typical American breakfast, no international variety. But the restaurant had a great view of the falls. It is at level 13. However our room at level 20 had a better view so we were not too bothered. They try to put everyone next to the window seats so can enjoy the view while having breakfast. All fully closed, cannot go out and feel the waterfall. So room still better.

post-2654-0-68635700-1542110059_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-49053200-1542110079_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-93269000-1542110090_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-32138200-1542110103_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-72811200-1542110113_thumb.jpg

We decided on a morning walk after breakfast to walk to table rock which is right next to Horseshoe Falls. The water is just next to you as it goes down the falls. The outside temp was 1°C, sibei cold. As we walked, it started to snow. Very very tiny snow. Shivering cold. Lots of tourists were also doing the same and strolling to table rock. Along the way, really had many good view of the falls compared to US side. No wonder, Canada side got more tourists. Lots of birds too and they are big. Visited the souvenir shop and bought some stuff. Along our way back saw ppl riding on the ziplines. And wifey went to the maple trees to collect red coloured maple leaves. There were many many maple trees in Canada side.

post-2654-0-05475200-1542110132_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-34350700-1542110152_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-21797200-1542110173_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-56249000-1542110185_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-95503800-1542110198_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-80465400-1542110208_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-04010400-1542110222_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-99625400-1542110231_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-85721700-1542110248_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-58828500-1542110260_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-10959000-1542110274_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-47747800-1542110308_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-92587700-1542110327_thumb.jpg

Collected our keys and went to our room. The moment we opened the door, my wife rushed to the window and screamed in excitement. We purposely paid more for the full view of Niagara Falls and it certainly did not disappoint. We had the full frontal view of all three waterfalls, American Falls, Bridal Veil Falls and Horseshoe Falls. Super nice, two thumbs and two big toes up. Even with closed windows, we could hear the roar of the waterfalls. A must see. Opened the door to the small balcony to see and hear the waterfalls. It was damn cold outside as temp dropped to 2°C. We just chill and relax by the window looking at the wonderful view.

Niagara CAN 058.jpg

Niagara CAN 059.jpg

Niagara CAN 060.jpg

Niagara CAN 061.jpg

Niagara CAN 062.jpg

Niagara CAN 063.jpg

Niagara CAN 064.jpg

Niagara CAN 065.jpg

Niagara CAN 066.jpg

Niagara CAN 067.jpg

Dinner was spent downstairs at Hard Rock café. Food was good and expensive. Same as USA, got tax and compulsory 20% tipping. Wifey bought some stuff from the shop and when we had dinner, we also opted to keep our drinking glasses. They donât give u the dirty glasses, just use the receipt and go to the shop to claim brand new ones.

Went back to the hotel and view the night view of the falls being lighted up. Very nice. However the nightly fireworks no more liao as they only do it during summer. Another seasonal stuff.

Niagara CAN 068.jpg

Niagara CAN 069.jpg

Niagara CAN 070.jpg

Niagara CAN 071.jpg

Niagara CAN 072.jpg

Wow room with a view. Thats pretty special! Awesome

Went back up our room to warm up and rest a while. Then we headed off to Outlet Collections Mall for shopping. Just a short 15mins drive away. Stuff here were much cheaper than US Woodbury Premium Outlet. Wifey went crazy at Coach and Polo Ralph. Look at the car’s boot. No lunch as we were still full from breakfast, just shopping.

post-2654-0-72332900-1542110671_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-17105500-1542110684_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-04392200-1542110696_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-10161700-1542110712_thumb.jpg

On our way back to the hotel, stopped by one of the vineyard to have a look. Never in our life we had seen grapes growing. There are many vineyard here in this part of Canada. So we just stop at one, went to the grape trees and took photo and left. Both of us do not drink wine so didn’t went in for wine tasting and also not drink and drive.

post-2654-0-37910200-1542110728_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-01980000-1542110747_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-99388300-1542110762_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-86038000-1542110774_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-14163000-1542110786_thumb.jpg

Had dinner at Montana’s BBQ and Grill, one of the restaurants along the street at Falls Ave. Some last minute shopping at the candy shop and ended the night watching the waterfalls while packing our bags.

Day ten

Checked out of the hotel, drove to Rainbow bridge, 2 min drive only. Again, there was no barrier at Canada side. Also no toll. There is a stop at US side. The officer checked our passports and asked if we bought anything. I replied yes, lots of souvenirs and he simply waved us on. Really easy peasy. Not stringent at all compared to our causeway.

post-2654-0-51368400-1542110959_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-77669800-1542110971_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-05603300-1542110985_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-52168600-1542110998_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-18543700-1542111020_thumb.jpg