Trip to New York with road trip to Niagara Falls

Adrianli

Ever since I saw the helicopter took off at the hotel I wanted to try. Never ride in a helicopter before in my life and the chance is now. Drove straight to the heli pad. Paid up USD120/person. Waited 15mins and together with an indian elderly couple, we lifted off. Both of us were seated in the back while the elderly couple squeeze with the pilot in the front. It was a great feeling as we lifted off. We circled two rounds of the waterfalls. I took lots of photos while my wife took videos with her hp. She was initially afraid as she is afraid of heights. But once the helicopter doors closed, she felt safe and liked it a lot.

post-2654-0-67491700-1542111095_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-60913600-1542111106_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-41771800-1542111120_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-94909100-1542111133_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-46496500-1542111147_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-96202100-1542111158_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-05790700-1542111176_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-23239200-1542111191_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-53422300-1542111204_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-82423100-1542111218_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-82487800-1542111230_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-45895500-1542111241_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-70504700-1542111254_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-45457400-1542111266_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-58301800-1542111279_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-00429600-1542111293_thumb.jpg

With the helicopter ride done, we can say we visited Niagara Falls from the water, land and air!!! Have never done that for any places of interest we visited.

After that, we made our way to Mohegan Sun Casino in Connecticut for a night stay, time check 10am. Was told of the nice seafood there and beautiful lake cum river. Stopped at Ihop at Utica on the way for lunch. The drive there was the same as driving from NYC to Niagara Falls. Follow the masses, mostly around 70mph. Wifey slept most of the time while I drove. Towards the end, really trying hard to keep myself awake. As that part of the freeway, not much vehicles, the drive was very monotonous.  Reached the hotel at 6.15pm, another 8 hours of driving.

post-2654-0-50351200-1542111426_thumb.jpg

Checked in and was surprised that they upgraded us to a suite. The whole place was huge. It was like MBS but bigger. Has convention halls, lots of shops and restaurants within its premises. We settled for Summer Shack restaurant for seafood, whole lobster. Very nice. Then we walked around the shops for supper, Krispy Kreme donuts. There three of them here, so u can imagine the size of the place. It is like a city by itself. The main attraction is the casino lah, it was everywhere. We also visited the candy shop and bought more candies. Then we went back and had a good night rest.

post-2654-0-63885100-1542111442_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-83549100-1542111458_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-70535400-1542111472_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-32145700-1542111484_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-19150700-1542111495_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-69148900-1542111507_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-48785500-1542111518_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-29475400-1542111529_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-69148500-1542111539_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-95469400-1542111552_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-56618300-1542111562_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-34754600-1542111574_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-40128200-1542111589_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-55283800-1542111602_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-05245900-1542111614_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-07832800-1542111628_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-89056100-1542111640_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-61552100-1542111654_thumb.jpg

Day eleven

Wifey went to the Starbucks in the hotel for breakfast and then we checked out of the hotel. I must say, there were lots of older folks here in the casino and hotel. Make me feel like I am in a huge old folks home. The indoor swimming pool were all old folks there swimming and relaxing. Even the music was oldies.

There is a huge Walmart about 15mins drive away and we went over. It is called Walmart Supercentre. It was really huge and generally, stuff here was cheap. Also not crowded at all on a weekday morning. Just walk walk look see look see and bought some snacks.

post-2654-0-43479700-1542111810_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-44433400-1542111825_thumb.jpg

Then we went over to Lowe, a hardware store, also The Home Depot, another hardware store to look see. Really huge. Bought the Worx switchable portable jigsaw there. Then we went on to Elm Street Diner for lunch. They are famous for their milkshakes. The waffle with ice cream was heavenly. The owner of the place was very frenly and gave us free donuts that they made themselves after we paid the bill. With a fulfilling lunch, we made our way back to my wife’s friend home, just an hour drive.

post-2654-0-27574500-1542111877_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-67358600-1542111889_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-90721600-1542111902_thumb.jpg

Upon reaching home, we unloaded our luggage, rest and returned the car. As Sixt is located in NYC, means we had to drive the car back into the city. Didn’t know that weekday evening traffic towards the city was so terrible. It took us 2 hours of driving to reach the car rental. A 45 mins drive became 2 hours due to heavy traffic.

After returning the car, we went back to Chinatown and had the same stuff as previously we had for dinner. Then took the subway, train and bus home.

Breakdown of my car rental from Sixt.

5 days of rental – SGD501.76

Toll – SGD93.42

Total of 4 fuel stops – SGD175.04

Total cost – SGD770.22

Driving to Canada and back – Priceless

Day twelve

Got up early and went to collect my next ride. I had booked a Ford F150 truck. When I reached Enterprise, they offered me the Chevy Silverado. Same size as the Ford. First time driving such a huge truck, the guy was asking if I had lots of stuff to carry. Actually, nothing much, just wana try drive such big truck that is not available in SG.

It was 4.3L V6 and huge. The driving seat, got to climb up to sit even for me. Very commanding driving position. It’s a bench seat for both front and back seats, able to seat three across. Lots of space. Also my first time operate this type of gear stick on the steering column, very American. Feels like driving a huge solid piece of metal, very reassuring.

post-2654-0-58964100-1542112067_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-86544100-1542112078_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-74976900-1542112091_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-10572900-1542112106_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-48332200-1542112121_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-22119500-1542112132_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-90806700-1542112143_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-21965100-1542112156_thumb.jpg

Drove it home to fetch the wife and went to Woodbury Premium Outlet mall again. There was no speed limit sticker on the back of the truck, can drive up to the road’s speed limit. But I followed the masses as usual, 70mph was the normal. Surprisingly, road noise was not an issue. But wind noise was loud. The truck is also very thirsty. It was handed to me at ¼ and I filled it with 25L of gasoline fuel, the needle showed only half tank full. Its fuel tank must be at least 120L. Cannot be a daily drive otherwise sure pok. I travelled a total of 100+km only and the fuel needle went back to ¼. You do the maths. 25L for 100km. Scary thirsty.

post-2654-0-86806000-1542112177_thumb.jpg

Saw this roadkill

post-2654-0-67901600-1542112215_thumb.jpg

At Woodbury Premium Outlet, bought more stuff that we wanted to buy the first time there. Had the same Shake Shack burger for lunch.

post-2654-0-57648100-1542112250_thumb.jpg

See how the PRC buy stuff in the shop.

post-2654-0-07997300-1542112295_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-73829700-1542112319_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-05779200-1542112331_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-90402000-1542112342_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-77288300-1542112355_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-42423600-1542112370_thumb.jpg

After shopping, went on to another Lowe shop and bought spare Worx battery and then drove to back to the suburbs mall. First time using the carpark at the mall which require payment. Didn’t know how it works, there was no barrier. Parked at the lot that says meter parking. Took a picture of the lot number. I thought it is the same as SG, only pay when I leave. So we went to the mall shopping. Finished shopping, I went to the machine at the lobby and wanted to pay, realised that it is pay first and not after. Went to the truck and saw the summon ticket on the windscreen. Took the ticket and went to the office to pay the fine. It was USD10 fine. Parking was USD1/hr. I was there for 3 hours so not too bad.

Day thirteen

Drove the truck back to Enterprise and took the train to the city. Went to Hard Rock Café at Times Square, this time we walked over. Wifey bought souvenirs and then we walked over to Koreatown, which was behind Empire State Building for lunch. After lunch, we took the subway to visit the World Trade Centre Memorial Park.

post-2654-0-47264600-1542112524_thumb.jpg

When we reached there, all the roads around there was cordon off with huge police presence. Not sure what was going on. We went to view the North and South pool which were the very spot where the buildings once stood. Lots of visitors to the museum so we gave it a miss. Just look around and took photos. A weird white looking building called Oculus stands out, we went in and have a look and it was just an interchange for subway. Saw a pink themed NYPD patrol car.

post-2654-0-41413600-1542112541_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-89729800-1542112553_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-59309300-1542112569_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-78962700-1542112582_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-55872800-1542112592_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-83565800-1542112601_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-36253000-1542112613_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-73282800-1542112624_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-12966000-1542112636_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-72832700-1542112646_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-56798000-1542112656_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-41014500-1542112666_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-60400500-1542112676_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-08293100-1542112686_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-82449300-1542112696_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-49075100-1542112707_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-18471600-1542112717_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-02967200-1542112727_thumb.jpg

We then walked over to Wall Street to look at the NY Stock Exchange. It was very touristy there as it was next to the Federal Hall. Also there was Trump Building. And no, did not see Mr Trump. We just took photos and left.

post-2654-0-69335000-1542112803_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-33614000-1542112819_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-80044600-1542112833_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-75127600-1542112843_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-16615600-1542112855_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-57015400-1542112867_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-65870900-1542112879_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-38688600-1542112893_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-16415600-1542112928_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-92869600-1542112939_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-12826900-1542112956_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-37107900-1542112968_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-37374800-1542112980_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-17973900-1542112992_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-11696600-1542113003_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-60122400-1542113012_thumb.jpg

As we walked back to Grand Central Terminal, realised that I did not take any photo of its exterior. So quickly snapped a few photos.

post-2654-0-61427000-1542113037_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-41084800-1542113050_thumb.jpg

We went back to the suburbs to collect my final ride to drive to the airport. Booked a Ford Fusion with Hertz but was given a Nissan Altima, 2.5L NA. Very normal ride. Bad noise and vibration insulation. Can hear the road and wind noise. The size is smaller than the Nissan Teana but bigger than the Sylphy. No wow, just a very normal car.

post-2654-0-18216500-1542113149_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-71731500-1542113160_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-82511000-1542113172_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-83783000-1542113183_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-19509700-1542113198_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-76949500-1542113210_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-22306600-1542113221_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-53094200-1542113234_thumb.jpg

Day fourteen

Since our flight is at night 9pm and I had already pre-paid the full tank of fuel as there was no petrol station at the airport, so decided to bring the Altima out for a spin. Wifey don’t want to go and stayed back to pack the bags. Also it was cold outside, 2°C.

Decided to drive to Playland, Rye to have a look. It was about 45mins drive away and I know that they are closed for the season already. Just drive there and have a look. Reached there, it was pretty deserted except for joggers, dogs and fishermen. Very nice place by the beach. Everything was closed. Took a walk to the pier and check out what the fishermen were fishing for. Saw that they were using small crabs as bait and was curious. Asked them and they told me that they are fishing for blackfish which loves crab and has very strong teeth. Oh man, it was freezing cold and these guys were standing there fishing. Whenever the sea breeze hits my face, I shiver at the freaking coldness.

post-2654-0-76882900-1542113353_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-13860100-1542113366_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-99069100-1542113379_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-62448200-1542113390_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-91182400-1542113399_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-35584200-1542113414_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-18182700-1542113425_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-80291000-1542113437_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-90908000-1542113446_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-05696300-1542113462_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-12550400-1542113485_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-84655600-1542113498_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-06961900-1542113522_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-67150400-1542113533_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-85896300-1542113545_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-96958200-1542113557_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-05884600-1542113572_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-58050000-1542113582_thumb.jpg

Playland continue.....

post-2654-0-76453600-1542113636_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-26683600-1542113649_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-54457800-1542113661_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-10514000-1542113675_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-34873400-1542113686_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-42726900-1542113697_thumb.jpg

Left the pier and went back to my car. Saw that the police were having a training session at the other end of the carpark. Drove over and have a look. They were doing various manoeuvres while I seat in the car and watch them go through their routine.

post-2654-0-63148300-1542113717_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-88362300-1542113729_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-07455600-1542113743_thumb.jpg

After a while I left. Drove back home. Brought wifey and my wife’s friend out for lunch to thank her for her hospitality for letting us stay at her place, thus saving hotel cost. After lunch, went back, packed our luggage, shower, rest a while and said our goodbyes. It took 1.5 hours of driving to reach JFK airport due to Friday evening traffic. Had our last meal, dinner at the airport and boarded our flight. No emergency exit seats again, even thou we were at the airport 3 hours before the flight. Every piece of our luggage was weighed to ensure we did not overweight by the security there. Even the carry-on backpack. My backpack was over the limit, allowable 8kg but mine was 10kg. No matter how I repacked, also couldn’t make weight. Then the security lady told me to hand carry my laptop which weighed 2.6kg. I said ok. After going into the departure hall, I put the laptop back into my backpack.

Stopped over at Doha, Qatar again. This time got 3 hours of free time, so we wondered around the airport shops. Got nice cars on display too.

post-2654-0-41203300-1542113838_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-04757600-1542113850_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-53188800-1542113863_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-41720900-1542113881_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-27622200-1542113894_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-97962500-1542113904_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-64215700-1542113916_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-22692600-1542113932_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-90885200-1542113942_thumb.jpg

No DRS wing, hydraulic actuator???

post-2654-0-80344000-1542113984_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-70823500-1542113999_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-26469200-1542114013_thumb.jpg

Finally, after 24hrs we are back in SG. But now we are ahead of time. Left New York at 9pm Fri nght. Reach SG 9am Sun morning. Check out the number of luggage both of us brought back. Went with three big, back with four big and one small.

post-2654-0-53948800-1542114035_thumb.jpg

Conculsion

Overall it was a great trip and nice break for me. Get to visit the places we always only saw on tv. And New York is freaking cold even in Oct. We went to Korea the same time last year and it was not so cold there. NYC is a nice place for holiday. Take away the sightseeing and it is just the same city as SG. But if no need to work and live the suburbs like my wife’s friend, then I would say USA is a nice place to stay. Food at the restaurant is generally expensive cos of tax and tipping. But if buy from the supermarket and cook at home, it is cheap. We visited lots of supermarkets, Costco, Target, Shop Rite, Walmart, H Mart(Asian supermarket) and World Foods. But I really miss Asian food. After so many days of western food, I still prefer Asian food. Unable to get used to no rice and meat only meals. They don’t really eat green leafy vegetables. The closest they eat is salad with lots of cream. My wife’s friend husband asked me what was the best food I had in NYC, I told him Korean food and Wonton noodle. He burst out laughing, LOL. [laugh]

I don’t think I will be back in USA any time soon. Unable to tahan the 24hrs flight and have been suffering from jetlag for five days since back in SG. Thank you for reading my long long postings, do enjoy viewing the photos. [grin]

Nice field report and photos.  [thumbsup]

Dont think i have the courage to tahan the 24hrs flight plus jetlag going to USA, although i always wanted to go there at least once in my entire life. 

My wifeâs friend invited us to go over to New York, USA to visit her and stay at her place. So we agreed and planned for a visit in Autumn before the winter snow comes and it will be too cold to walk around. My wifeâs friend stays at the suburbs of New York City but still within New York state so it is a good place to stay and still able to visit New York City.

After extensive search on various websites, we settled for Qatar Airways flight with a stopover at Doha, Qatar. Initially, wanted to try the SIA direct flight but wifey say she does not want to seat in the aeroplane for 19 hours and also the cost was more than double of what we can get on Qatar Airways.

We listed down the places of interest we wanted to visit since it was our first time to USA. And since it was NYC, most of the places will be what we saw in the movies and TV. Then we planned for shopping and throw in a road trip to satisfy my desire to drive long distances in USA. My wifeâs friend provided some tips on places to visit and my colleague/trusted friend in the office provided me with lots of tips on what to see, where to eat and how to get around NYC as he is a regular to USA. His twin brother stays there and he visits him every year.

There was enhanced security check for everyone bound for USA at Doha, Qatar airport. They first check if you have ESTA, if yes, your name will be already on their list. Then it is time to strip down your clothes. No sweater or jackets, remove belt, footwear, keys, coins, wallet, hp and anything from your pockets. Next, empty all your hand carry items in your bag. All electronic devices like laptop, camera, drone, tablet, hp, etc must be placed separately in another tray. They wipe down all electronic devices and put the cloth into the ion scanner to check for traces of explosive/gun powder (I guess). I left my drone in my carry-on bag and when the x-ray detected it, was told to go back to the line and repeat the process again. Passengers were already boarding the plane while I was still going thru the checks. Many ppl were in the same scenario too.

JFK Airport 001.jpg

Touch down in JFK airport. It was a wet morning. I left SG on Fri night and reached NYC on a Sat morning. Woohoo, as if time stood still. But in fact, it was already Sat night in SG. Have flown exactly 24 hours and the time difference between NYC and SG is exactly 12 hours. The queue at immigration was terribly long, 45 mins before we get to see the officer. And over here, they see u as a family. Ya, whole family stand in front of the officer and he ask questions and stamp passport. For us, he didnât ask much as it was our first time there, only ask how long we will be in USA.

Retrieved our luggage and followed the instruction that Enterprise car rental had provided me. Took the air train to where all the car rentals are located. For Enterprise, got to take a shuttle bus after alighting from the air train as it was further away. The temp was around a cool 14°C.

Had booked a Rav4 but there was no Rav4 on site so the guy provided me with a Hyundai Tucson. Less than 10,000 miles on the odo, still got new car smell. Loaded our luggage and drove to my wifeâs friend home, another 40+km away. Had to keep awake and ensure I drive the correct direction. Somehow lost my way while I was on the freeway as there was a split 3 ways and I guessed the wrong one. Did a few rounds in a neighbourhood and got back on to the freeway. Entrances to the freeway were not clearly indicated on the road, no big signboard.

Rental car 1 001.jpg

Rental car 1 002.jpg

You have the potential to be a writer.

All my souvenirs from the trip. Can see i did not buy much stuff, most of the stuff are food, snacks, chocolate and sweets. Also lots of stuff from wifey purchases.

post-2654-0-09862000-1542158400_thumb.jpg

All my souvenirs from the trip. Can see i did not buy much stuff, most of the stuff are food, snacks, chocolate and sweets. Also lots of stuff from wifey purchases.

You have travelled until so far and yet never buy much stuff ah? Lol.