DO you use car covers ?

carloverguy2017

I am considering a car cover when I am away for more than a month from my car.

I won't be using or letting anyone take over my car during the period and the car will be parked in covered shelter carpark.

But there is a high chance of rain water at my 1/4 of my car's rear so I am thinking of buying a car cover to wrap up the car for a month.

Does anyone use car covers and what are their pros and cons ?

My only worry is cats are going to hide under the covers and sleep ( scratch my body paint work )  ..

The wild birds around my neighbourhood drop some nasty bombs, so car covers are recommended if you park under the trees. 

Back to topic, I don't think there's really any cons - after all the car is just going to be parked there. Unless you need to make a quick getaway, haha.

I won't be using or letting anyone take over my car during the period and the car will be parked in covered shelter carpark.

But there is a high chance of rain water at my 1/4 of my car's rear so I am thinking of buying a car cover to wrap up the car for a month.

My only worry is cats are going to hide under the covers and sleep ( scratch my body paint work )  ..

cat probably prefer warm engine. Probably not an issue

Car Cover,i am using,sometime big Wind,also can blew up the Cover,if you are not around...just forget it,or if Possible for a Basement Carpark,no Wind,No Rain can get it.

Cover too loose, cats, insects will get in and with the right amount of wind, it gets blown away. With winds and associated rubbing motion, you paints will be scratched unless you use silk cloth. [:p]

Cover too tight, your car cannot breathe, you may see many many rust spots not only on metal parts, but also chromed plastics.... Also, under hot sun, the cover material may have interesting reaction on the car paint. [:p]

On return, please watch out for uninvited guests building the nests... birds, bees, snakes inside engine compartment.

Edited by Kangadrool

Park somewhere with full shelter lah. Then don't need cover.

Alamak, park in shelter carpark still can tio rain. What kind of shelter carpark is this?

My estate MSCP also like that.

Park central row get rain drip from top floor.

Park side row get rain from big opening

make sure to get car cover that is waterproof. some are only dustproof and not waterproof.

even some waterproof ones might still get wet underneath if heavy rain

My estate MSCP also like that.

Park central row get rain drip from top floor.

Park side row get rain from big opening

Most HDB MSCP design all like that [:(]

Almost impossible to siam water plus parked under the LED light will have so much dead insects on car  [sweatdrop]

It's actually the washed down dirtied water from the parapet between the Deck A and Deck B.

It always washed my every car's boot that way whenever it rained.

I tried to park a little forward but it is not convenient for other users to drive out / park on it's opposite lot. Also risk poor judgement drivers hitting my front too.

I use my car everyday so if it rains and get black ( really , it's black water from the washed down from level seven to level 4 where I parked ) and it's OK that I clean up.

But.. i was thinking.. one month I will be away... siao liao.. by the time I come back, the car back side confirm caked with black carbon sludge dried like a slush cake.

Maybe I will consider getting a big sheet of plastic to cover only the rear part.

But it does make sense then to just get a car cover to cover it completely ain't ?

Then I scared cat.

Now people start to scare me with creatures building nest, LOL.. really.. I think I need to consider a lot.. haha