Anyone been to Finland for the northern lights?

alfakidz85

Went Finland some time back - cloudy everyday and saw only streetlights!   :TT_TT:

wa bro you went which month? i thinking dec or jan. but dec christmas crowde. probz jan they say coldest. damn sian if cannot see.

u need a tripod.

Ideally a DSLR or ILC which allow u to take slow shutter speeds with maximum ISO.

Or just appreciate it lah. videos or cameras is not really the point.

People really buy into the hype.

Better go Hokkaido. No one I know saw northern lights and was blown away.

No one I know went Hokkaido and was left disappointed.

Disclaimer: I work for Japan Tourism Association and I maybe bias but I really like going Japan.

If anyone paid for me to go northern lights or Hokkaido I would choose Hokkaido.

This one not marketing talk.

hokkaido is one of the plces that's on my stops too. but first need to settle the missus and her aurora if not forever get hell.  :omg:

hokkaido is one of the plces that's on my stops too. but first need to settle the missus and her aurora if not forever get hell. :omg:

I understand bro if you no play aurora with her then she won't play borealis with you.

Have a nice trip.

Edited by Jamesc

btw many iphones died in Finland in the extreme temperatures

they were not able to be switched on outdoors

and phone cameras DO NOT work for taking photos of the Northern lights

need better cameras

That's right.

My fren Ipad died in the winter in Hokkaido.

Kept charging in the room till it warmed up and then it worked again.

Went Finland some time back - cloudy everyday and saw only streetlights!   :TT_TT:

no Aurora ?  :D  They say couple piak piak under aurora sure will succeed having baby  [grin]

People really buy into the hype.

Better go Hokkaido. No one I know saw northern lights and was blown away.

No one I know went Hokkaido and was left disappointed.

Disclaimer: I work for Japan Tourism Association and I maybe bias but I really like going Japan.

If anyone paid for me to go northern lights or Hokkaido I would choose Hokkaido.

This one not marketing talk.

Always hear good things about Hokkaido, this place really so good ah?

wa bro you went which month? i thinking dec or jan. but dec christmas crowde. probz jan they say coldest. damn sian if cannot see.

December - no choice must go during school vacations.

Other than expensive air tickets and hotels during peak periods, it is reasonable with good service, polite people and enough things to do. There is a separate thread on Hokkaido.

That's cos Japan Tourism Association chief digital marketing office is doing such a good job.

Should give him/her a big pay rise.

So naked eyes can see the northern lights very clearly if on display?

It all depends on the strength of the solar storm and the light pollution.

Camera can see much more than human eyes so if u want to take pic, it’s much easier.

no Aurora ? :D They say couple piak piak under aurora sure will succeed having baby [grin]

Can have twins, triplets, ....... ?

I understand bro if you no play aurora with her then she won't play borealis with you.

Have a nice trip.

For some reason I read areola.

So naked eyes can see the northern lights very clearly if on display?

If you are asking if the eyes can see the northern lights without any additional aid, then yes. 

If however you are asking if you need to get naked to see the northern lights with your own eyes, then no need.

Was in Finland (Kittila to be precise) back in December for skiing and was also hoping to catch "sleeping beauty". Unfortunately, whilst the electromagnetic activities etc were fantastic and ideal for aurora, the cloud cover was 100% dense the whole week we were there [smallcry] . Thus, couldn't catch it at all. Nevertheless, it was fantastic experiencing the Arctic Circle as well as polar nights (pix taken at 10am and the sun will not rise above the horizon). And yes, it was cold; temperature reading about -25 degrees celsius with a feel like reading on iPhone weather of -30.

You might want to download apps that can forecast the probability of aurora (free ones available too) - this is the one I used: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/my-aurora-forecast-pro/id1075462280?mt=8

Enjoy chasing after "sleeping beauty"!

post-14331-0-69877800-1547638417_thumb.jpeg

Depends on the city that you go. Hakodate, Otaru, Sapporo is almost a must. It is a combination of winter scenery, food, cafes and ambience that makes it special.

But my most memorable location in Hokkaido is the Sapporo Beer Museum.   [laugh]

I would rate Hokkaido experience better than Shirakagawa-go (UNESCO site), but they are two very different things.

Was in Finland (Kittila to be precise) back in December for skiing and was also hoping to catch "sleeping beauty". Unfortunately, whilst the electromagnetic activities etc were fantastic and ideal for aurora, the cloud cover was 100% dense the whole week we were there [smallcry] . Thus, couldn't catch it at all. Nevertheless, it was fantastic experiencing the Arctic Circle as well as polar nights (pix taken at 10am and the sun will not rise above the horizon). And yes, it was cold; temperature reading about -25 degrees celsius with a feel like reading on iPhone weather of -30.

You might want to download apps that can forecast the probability of aurora (free ones available too) - this is the one I used: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/my-aurora-forecast-pro/id1075462280?mt=8

-25?? Seriously? How was outdoor activities? I still think places near the sea like Iceland or if u want to experience polar nights like lofoten is better. Much milder winter. Lofoten has really spectacular scenery.

I spend summer in lofoten to see the midnight sun but it sucks after a while.... I need night/day cycle... I am not sure I can take spending a week of polar nights at -25...

Northern Lights

Went Iceland mid October 2016. You can ask the hotel to give you a wake up call when there is northern lights in your area. They told us it can happen anytime from 9pm to 5am but no luck for us. 

Or you can join the paid tour and they will bring you on a hunt for the lights. Guaranteed by them to see the lights. 

I was fortunate enough to see a weak and short light on my last day, at a hotel near the airport. You can visit http://www.aurora-service.eu/aurora-forecast/ for more info on the city you're at. The rating on that day was 6-7 so we were basically staring out of the window waiting for it.

Norway I went Oslo - Alesund, Geiranger - Bergen. No chance to see northern lights in those area. You may have to go further north to Lofoten area.

Food was expensive. We paid S$30 for a plate of fried rice which wasnt even tasty. Since you're already there might as well spend a little on the highly recommended places. We had some really good steak, burgers and fish & chips along the way.

Outfit we prefer to layer it by wearing a tee shirt, fleece jacket and a winter jacket. I got mine from Bossini for $200 at IMM. Some areas can be warm for no reason so we can take whichever off as required. With Uniqlo heat tech it didnt really work for us as it can be too warm if we include the fleece and without the fleece it can be chilly.

Footwear we had timberland boots. But wont really recommend it as it's heavy, not for prolong walking over snow. It's slippery on ice too. However it keeps our feet perfectly dry and we can wear for every occasion from shopping in the city to hiking.

just 3 layers to survive the cold? talking thermal wear alone i already have 4 pieces but from uniqlo. i might have to get something more suitable for the european cold like what the others have advised. saw one from north face $600+. expensive but maybe good investment. i heard snow boots are available for rental? gotta do more research once i confirm my tour booking. tks bro for the tips.

thats the thing. if its cloudy and cant see the lights... also no choice. this is something i need to remind my gf. there is no need to feel so disappointed. chase lights but it should not be sole purpose lor. there's always other experience, culture etc. only thing scared is if finland cannot see dunno where else she wanna go.  :TT_TT:  :nosebleed: -25 degrees is crazy!!!

-25?? Seriously? How was outdoor activities? I still think places near the sea like Iceland or if u want to experience polar nights like lofoten is better. Much milder winter. Lofoten has really spectacular scenery.

I spend summer in lofoten to see the midnight sun but it sucks after a while.... I need night/day cycle... I am not sure I can take spending a week of polar nights at -25...

10 days of seeing all white i dunno if my mind can take it. i heard seeing all white and being in winter long term can be depressing. for me for sure since im not a fan of the cold