Aloysius Pang dies after SAF trg Ex in New Zealand

Hmsg

just happened to my son's platoon mate recently.

pain until he cannot even cry out and tears started streaming . . . lucky just heavily bruised and swollen fingers nothing broken  :mellow:

can downgrade liao ?

fracture etc etc??

Edited by Beregond

Ya, .. encountered finger crush and amputation before .. sigh. Sometimes lack of sleep or fatigue, and accidents happen.

True..

Many accidents and near misses result from fatigue.

Sometimes push too hard, accidents bound to happen.

Not saying this case.. even all safety followed, it could have been just a simple mistake or moment of inattention.. heavy machinery just don't forgive ANY mistakes lor.

This training incident is just the tip of the iceberg for SAF. Pobably because of his mini-celebrity status that it got out in the news.

Years ago, had to evacuate a NSman from a warship to a foreign country military hospital for surgery when a heavy metal hatch slammed on his finger. No news report back home.

Wow. This reminds me of the many incidents in RSN. Especially with the engine room doors cos of forced ventilation from the ER fans. The doors will slam if you do not hold on tight to the handle. 

This training incident is just the tip of the iceberg for SAF. Pobably because of his mini-celebrity status that it got out in the news.

Years ago, had to evacuate a NSman from a warship to a foreign country military hospital for surgery when a heavy metal hatch slammed on his finger. No news report back home.

Those were the days where accidents can be easily swept away

Wow. This reminds me of the many incidents in RSN. Especially with the engine room doors cos of forced ventilation from the ER fans. The doors will slam if you do not hold on tight to the handle. 

This also reminds of the navy accident in 2012 when a navy man lost his left arm and both legs!

You fellows don't read too much into mindeath's statement la. Dunno whether true or not.

Don't forget the previous incident where they claimed that the medic tried to save the victim - when the photos were leaked, everyone saw that there was no way it could be true.

Bo keng buay choot peng!

Ask those that risked it all and garang during ns. Any injuries you sustained then, now bothering you?

Any special treatment in hospitals or you just queue up like any of the new citizens next to you.

Ask those that risked it all and garang during ns. Any injuries you sustained then, now bothering you?

Any special treatment in hospitals or you just queue up like any of the new citizens next to you.

Why talk about injuries?

Even those that died were given just a pittance.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/aloysius-pang-injuries-mindef-training-exercise-hospital-11148312

Aloysius Pang sustained chest, abdominal injuries during SAF training exercise: MINDEF

SINGAPORE: Singapore actor Aloysius Pang sustained injuries to his chest and abdominal areas while carrying out repair works inside a Singapore Self-Propelled Howitzer at Waiouru Training Area, New Zealand, the Ministry of Defence (MINDEF) said on Monday (Jan 21). 

The Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) Operationally Ready National Serviceman, Corporal First Class (National Service), was injured on Saturday. 

He underwent abdominal surgery on the same evening at Waikato Hospital, Hamilton, and this was completed at 11.40pm (SG time), said MINDEF.

"A follow-up relook surgery which was planned for was successfully completed at 11am (SG time) today," it added. "A medical team from Singapore is working with the New Zealand team to provide the best possible care for CFC (NS) Pang."

MINDEF has made arrangements for Pang's next of kin to be flown to New Zealand.  

The actor's mother has visited him and spoken to him in hospital; his father and brother will arrive this evening (SG time).