Dr fined $100k for not telling patient possible side effects

Victor68

At least we have indemnity insurance to protect us against lawsuits, justified or unjustified.

The worst would be those APN giving out medications or treatments. Like it or not, they are nurses, who's going to cover their asses?

The ONLY thing protecting them now is that people haven't caught onto the idea of suing nurses YET.

Would MOH stand up for them? If i were them, i would be very worried. 

Yes, like I said earlier, polyclinic nurse was the one who gave my girl her jab.

It's no different from road insurance.

Like maybe 50 years ago in the 1970s or 1980s, maybe only motorcars need insurance. Then eventually it will be the motorcycles. Then finally 1 day, the Tour de Singapore cyclists also need to buy insurance to travel on the road.

but hor... i trust the local polyclinic nurse more than the myanmar trained doctor there leh

how come ur MIL hasn't enjoyed such leading mushroom management?

That's because I don't practice mushroom management myself.

There is nothing I enjoy more than telling people the truth.

Coming out of a management meeting I always share the same way.

Another stupid idea of management this week they want us to . . . and it will be a waste of company money and our time as usual.

which polyclinic you go to?? My doc in polyclinic is a young pretty female local doctor.

wah so good... must be atas area

my hdb slum polyclinic... mostly foreign names on the door

I see. you fellows got something going on together [lipsrsealed]

Haha not really. Just that I consciously chose a specialty that doesn't involve seeing patients. And I have no regrets. :D

Eh you do la

The parts they DUN see hahaha

I see. 

You must be in mgmt  :D

Eh you do la

The parts they DUN see hahaha

Are those really parts of them? Unwelcome parts maybe. :D

I see.

You must be in mgmt :D

Not quite, but my lips are sealed. :D

To lighten up what is a depressing or dull topic.

This will be in real life one of these days.

Consultation in hokkien

D: "Aunty, want injection for your knee pain?"

A: "I want, pain for many days u know"

D: "Aunty, u really want to inject or you'd rather eat meds for few days then see how"

A: "No i want today"

D: "Ok u wait ... i need to prepare injection. BTW injection sometimes can have infection cos needle enter your flesh, u ok or not?" (MORE SERIOUS SIDE EFFECT)

A: "ok ok... hurry up lah. damn pain u know"

Injection occurs ...

A: "EH WAH LAO EH, HOW COME SO PAIN NOW OVER BUTTOCK?"

D: "Aunty ... injection sure bit painful one leh (COMMON SIDE EFFECT)"

A: " EH U NEVER TELL ME INJECTION IS PAINFUL, KNN I'M GOING TO SUE U"

D: " .... ...."

D:"Aunty, you just threatened me with language that has given me legitimate grounds to fear for my family's life and limb...my lawyer will be serving you a writ soon."

SMC and State court will see lots of cases loh... [laugh]

Too lazy to type out here..... 

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vac-gen/side-effects.htm

Next time I give links ask the parents to go back read first then I give the immunisation.  :D

Just those infant jab... actually not much that can go wrong.

These days people want 5 years of medical school, many years of continual continual medical educations and decades of clinical experience to be summarised in that 5 minutes of consultation. When the doctor has saved that person that amount of information processing, they come come sue over an uncommon side effect that may or may not have happened to anyone. 

[shakehead] 

To lighten up what is a depressing or dull topic.

This will be in real life one of these days.

Consultation in hokkien

D: "Aunty, want injection for your knee pain?"

A: "I want, pain for many days u know"

D: "Aunty, u really want to inject or you'd rather eat meds for few days then see how"

A: "No i want today"

D: "Ok u wait ... i need to prepare injection. BTW injection sometimes can have infection cos needle enter your flesh, u ok or not?" (MORE SERIOUS SIDE EFFECT)

A: "ok ok... hurry up lah. damn pain u know"

Injection occurs ...

A: "EH WAH LAO EH, HOW COME SO PAIN NOW OVER BUTTOCK?"

D: "Aunty ... injection sure bit painful one leh (COMMON SIDE EFFECT)"

A: " EH U NEVER TELL ME INJECTION IS PAINFUL, KNN I'M GOING TO SUE U"

D: " .... ...."

Too lazy to type out here.....

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vac-gen/side-effects.htm

Next time I give links ask the parents to go back read first then I give the immunisation. :D

These days people want 5 years of medical school, many years of continual continual medical educations and decades of clinical experience to be summarised in that 5 minutes of consultation. When the doctor has saved that person that amount of information processing, they come come sue over an uncommon side effect that may or may not have happened to anyone.

[shakehead]

My friend just did a Tkr for a Malay macik.

The family was the translator during the consult and during the consent signing.

She woke up post GA wondering why her leg was not amputated. She thought her knee was so bad, her leg was going to be amputated.

Hilarious, but I believe this would be a medico legal issue.

I was telling him lucky she didn't have AMI when she realised her leg was there.

"There is a wide spectrum of vaccine complications, which have been identified and acknowledged in the medical literature and by the Institute of Medicine (IOM), National Academy of Sciences, including

Brain Inflammation/Acute Encephalopathy

Chronic Nervous System Dysfunction

Anaphylaxis

Febrile Seizures

Guillain Barre Syndrome (GBS)

Brachial Neuritis;

Acute and Chronic Arthritis

Thrombocytopenia

Smallpox, polio, measles and varicella zoster vaccine strain infection

Death (smallpox, polio and measles vaccine)

Shock and “unusual shock-like state”

Protracted, inconsolable crying

Syncope

Deltoid Bursitis"

Were you warned of these risks?