Indian national says ripped flag image a piece of “art”

Sdf4786k

Avijit Das Patnaik looks baffled as he utters these words, as if he is still trying to make sense of what has happened in the five months since making headlines for sharing an image - created by someone else - on social media of a Singapore flag being ripped to reveal an Indian flag.

“If you Google my name, there are more hits and searches against my name than against leading terrorists and scamsters,” the 45-year-old tells Channel NewsAsia. 

The consequences of sharing the image on a Facebook post in August last year have been devastating for the Singapore Permanent Resident, who is originally from India: He’s now jobless and he, along with his wife and two young children, will now likely have to leave the country that's been their home for the last ten years. 

Their HDB flat is now on the market, and all that is left is for it to be sold.

The former vice-president at DBS has now been branded a “troublemaker" by some, he points out, but his fervent desire is clearly to explain how he is sensitive to being a foreigner living in a country he says he loves. 

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/ex-dbs-avijit-das-patnaik-ripped-singapore-indian-flag-interview-11152596

I wish him well in India.

Edited by Sdf4786k

This guy complain cannot secure another job at the same level but should count himself lucky he can still stay on until now as PR. Unlike the other PR, former SIA pilot, was stripped of the PR status and asked to go, albeit for a more serious transgression in the eyes of the authorities.

If he wants to stay on and enjoy what he likes about staying here and the advantages, then he should eat humble pie, downgrade his job expectations, it's not impossible. But still hope to live like expat ...

Edited by Sosaria

It's a reality that in this day of Internet

And cheap air travel, telecommunications back to their country, no one really uproot themselves totally.

The three big cultures (prc, Indian nationals, filipino) still have very strong roots back in their own country.

I can see my friends or acquaintances are still very much attached to India even though they were born here (2nd generation) or have been here >2/3 of their lives. And yes they served ns etc.

Avijit Das Patnaik looks baffled as he utters these words, as if he is still trying to make sense of what has happened in the five months since making headlines for sharing an image - created by someone else - on social media of a Singapore flag being ripped to reveal an Indian flag.

“If you Google my name, there are more hits and searches against my name than against leading terrorists and scamsters,” the 45-year-old tells Channel NewsAsia. 

The consequences of sharing the image on a Facebook post in August last year have been devastating for the Singapore Permanent Resident, who is originally from India: He’s now jobless and he, along with his wife and two young children, will now likely have to leave the country that's been their home for the last ten years. 

Their HDB flat is now on the market, and all that is left is for it to be sold.

The former vice-president at DBS has now been branded a “troublemaker" by some, he points out, but his fervent desire is clearly to explain how he is sensitive to being a foreigner living in a country he says he loves. 

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/ex-dbs-avijit-das-patnaik-ripped-singapore-indian-flag-interview-11152596

I wish him well in India.

There are both sides of story.

Every action has consequences, unintentional or otherwise. In India, recklessly fwding Whatsapp msgs have caused riots and deaths.

But we also don't wanna drive ppl up to the wall.

Sad case is for this man & his family it didn't work out in SG.

Hope everyone can learn to be cautious esp posting on public-facing FB.

big deal meh?

I wasn't bothered when i read about what he posted.

I am not bothered after reading his sad story.

Surprised i bothered to post a comment here.

Edited by Kusje

Good riddance. Full of lame excuses. Stop with the noble bullsh!t. What CB here and his LJ there. It's just a last desperate attempt to crawl back. Who the F hired him anyways?

How can a VP be so insensitive and brainless to such thing. Good that they get rid of him. Our arm forces don't have to defend a buffoon like him. 

yar lor yar lor.

Our armed forces is not his private army leh. Only meant for defending people who think like him but are slightly smarter and don't post about it on facebook.