Progress Singapore Party by Tan Cheng Bock

Atrecord

Some party also promise this and that during election. If they are not the ones forming the government, they can promise so many things meh?

even TCB voted into parliament as an MP
he can do this meh? [hur]
are these considered as “empty” promises?

I don't think any political party can do wonders. But without opposition, there is only 1 voice. NMP is totally useless from record and history. 

We need check and balance if the current team cannot do this.

I don't think any political party can do wonders. But without opposition, there is only 1 voice. NMP is totally useless from record and history. 

We need check and balance if the current team cannot do this.

Countries with one party, is good for progress, provided the party is good and incorruptible.  Look at China, how it has progressed so much under one party, Singapore also.  Whereas countries with few political parties, tend to be occupied with political infighting and scheming, so much so that they have no time to focus on governing the country well.  Good examples are like Malaysia, Taiwan and most Europe countries, if you follow their politics you can tell.

Actually i do agree with you in china context. They are simply too big and the history cannot survive multi parties situation.  You need to look at china as the entire europe with many countries.

Singapore is very different. We actually only need 11 MP. I also don't know why we need so many now. But all must speak and contribute, not to be there for the number.

If I'm the ruling party or the King, I'd say the same thing.

Trust me, it will be better for you.

There's no need for opposition in parliament.

I'm the best. There's no one else.

So don't waste your time with election and what not. [laugh]

Edited by Kb27

Countries with one party, is good for progress, provided the party is good and incorruptible. Look at China, how it has progressed so much under one party, Singapore also. Whereas countries with few political parties, tend to be occupied with political infighting and scheming, so much so that they have no time to focus on governing the country well. Good examples are like Malaysia, Taiwan and most Europe countries, if you follow their politics you can tell.

Malaysia was one party until 1MDB and other things literally exploded hor...

Without the new challengers succeeding, Jho would be be enjoying his party with Hilton onboard taxpayers funded yatch.

I don't fault you for the simplistic view.

In reality, how you measure  good for progress? 

Good for progress in terms of GDP?, happiness of the citizens?

I read somewhere that poverty line is described as 50% below the median which is about $2200 and below

about 50-70% of Singaporeans are earning an average of $1500-1800. 500,000 to 700,000 individuals require some form of subsidy or hand out each year. 

You do the maths. Also now you will realize why authorities are not in favour of having a poverty line in Singapore.

We cant just compare countries like that. Actually it depends what their citizens value most for their country.

eg most expensive city - Singapore is among the top 3 or 5 most expensive cities in the world

but if take hawker centre food as your basis then it is not but if you use car purchase as proxy then it is out of this world

I ask you if Singapore like China is among the best, how come every year there are tens of thousand citizens giving up their citizenship. Are these individuals crazy or gone nuts. It demonstrates more importantly what citizens really value from each country.

If you transplant the kind of oppressive system to America, you will have at your hand, civil unrest with many dead lining the road.

If you travel wide enough and stayed in many countries you realized that each place has its good and bad. Also depending on your phase of your life, each country has different value to you. Would you want to stay in a highly stressed country in your retirement?

Edited by Ash2017

I don't fault you for the simplistic view.

In reality, how you measure  good for progress? 

Good for progress in terms of GDP?, happiness of the citizens?

I read somewhere that poverty line is described as 50% below the median which is about $2200 and below

about 50-70% of Singaporeans are earning an average of $1500-1800. 500,000 to 700,000 individuals require some form of subsidy or hand out each year. 

You do the maths. Also now you will realize why authorities are not in favour of having a poverty line in Singapore.

We cant just compare countries like that. Actually it depends what their citizens value most for their country.

eg most expensive city - Singapore is among the top 3 or 5 most expensive cities in the world

but if take hawker centre food as your basis then it is not but if you use car purchase as proxy then it is out of this world

I ask you if Singapore like China is among the best, how come every year there are tens of thousand citizens giving up their citizenship. Are these individuals crazy or gone nuts. It demonstrates more importantly what citizens really value from each country.

If you transplant the kind of oppressive system to America, you will have at your hand, civil unrest with many dead lining the road.

If you travel wide enough and stayed in many countries you realized that each place has its good and bad. Also depending on your phase of your life, each country has different value to you. Would you want to stay in a highly stressed country in your retirement?

Ash, thanks for sharing your thoughts, and I admire your spirit of caring for the under-privileged.

Let's put in perspective.  Which country doesnt have poverty, or citizens packing ?  I have been to Japan, and it is common sight to see many homeless people hording Macdonalds and subways at night.  In Singapore, it is much better.  I am sure China, USA and whatever developed countries, also face this same phenomenon.  Even scandanivian countries like Finland, their youth unemployment rate is a high 30%, income tax of 51% and GST of 24%.  Singapore has low unemployment rate, low inflation rate, low crime rate, high GDP, high education level, good public transport and effective and efficient civil service, good medical care, safe society, zero terrorist attack, social and racial harmony, infrastructure ... these are not what many countries can claim to have, but can only yearn for.  

Almost all foreigners whom I have the chance to speak to, they all praise that our country and government is so much better than theirs, and that SIngaporeans complain because they have not lived in their own country, and these people are from China, India, USA.

What the government can do, is to create an environment to create jobs, implement meritocracy, so as to provide equal opportunities for youth to succeed (unlike Malaysia where policies are race based and corruption is wide spread).  The reality of life is, not everyone will make it to the pinnacle, but we can only hope to move our nation up the ladder of prosperity, and let the reward trickle down to the lower levels.

Ash, thanks for sharing your thoughts, and I admire your spirit of caring for the under-privileged.

Let's put in perspective.  Which country doesnt have poverty, or citizens packing ?  I have been to Japan, and it is common sight to see many homeless people hording Macdonalds and subways at night.  In Singapore, it is much better.  I am sure China, USA and whatever developed countries, also face this same phenomenon.  Even scandanivian countries like Finland, their youth unemployment rate is a high 30%, income tax of 51% and GST of 24%.  Singapore has low unemployment rate, low inflation rate, low crime rate, high GDP, high education level, good public transport and effective and efficient civil service, good medical care, safe society, zero terrorist attack, social and racial harmony, infrastructure ... these are not what many countries can claim to have, but can only yearn for.  

The question to ask is why other countries are willing to have a poverty line for their community and why we are so shy to have it? Low unemployment - if so why do we have so many Grab drivers, low inflation - why cost of living got so bad that it reached parliament, low crime - we cant even handle Little India Riot and there is a possibly of under reporting because police ask you to settle in civil court, high GDP at the expense of - importing foreign labor helps with GDP, high education level - you sure your minister ask parents not to send their kids to university but instead to vocation institute, good public transport - increase in breakdowns but increase in reliability as reported, civil service - gotten to fat with some earning more then their ministers, good medical care - we became no better than casino with junket getting commission for bring in foreign patients to OUR LOCAL PUBLIC HOSPITALs, safe society - true to a large extend but how did a limping man escape to Johor, zero terrorist attack - your law minister said it is not if but when, social and racial harmony - brownface no count, infra-structure - too many white elephants. I agree not many countries can claim to have but at what expense - often it is at the citizens expense. Just how many citizens can afford to the Gardens by the Bay. 

Almost all foreigners whom I have the chance to speak to, they all praise that our country and government is so much better than theirs, and that SIngaporeans complain because they have not lived in their own country, and these people are from China, India, USA.

The grass is greener the other side of the pasture. Being a tourist is very different from being a citizen. 

What the government can do, is to create an environment to create jobs, implement meritocracy, so as to provide equal opportunities for youth to succeed (unlike Malaysia where policies are race based and corruption is wide spread).  The reality of life is, not everyone will make it to the pinnacle, but we can only hope to move our nation up the ladder of prosperity, and let the reward trickle down to the lower levels.

You sure equal opportunities. How many generals without a day in private (commercial) are parachute into GLC and Temasek including many Singapore INC companies. NTUC taken over so many types of business literally inching out SMEs. A doctor invented something for SAF and copy right patent given by government, then taken back because SAF not happy. We constantly make the mistake of comparing Malaysia and Indonesia. Remember we are 1st world country. Why dont we compare with Nigeria or Uganda instead. Why dont we compare with 1st World country instead. You think Singapore got no corruption, there are plenty just that they are not caught yet. Remember Keppel - top level involvement and what happen only a slap on the wrist and those top guys still have their day job and happy playing golf during their tea time.

In short, if you have money, it doesnt matter where you go. BUT for me a country is based on how her authorities treat their poor and under privilege; and not how they treat their rich and wealthy.

I never say other countries are better BUT all I am trying to say is we can do better. How to do better, it is up to you and me at the polls?

I respect your opinion and you have some very valid points too. Let agree to disagree.

Let's put in perspective. Which country doesnt have poverty, or citizens packing ? I have been to Japan, and it is common sight to see many homeless people hording Macdonalds and subways at night. In Singapore, it is much better. I am sure China, USA and whatever developed countries, also face this same phenomenon. Even scandanivian countries like Finland, their youth unemployment rate is a high 30%, income tax of 51% and GST of 24%. Singapore has low unemployment rate, low inflation rate, low crime rate, high GDP, high education level, good public transport and effective and efficient civil service, good medical care, safe society, zero terrorist attack, social and racial harmony, infrastructure ... these are not what many countries can claim to have, but can only yearn for.

What the government can do, is to create an environment to create jobs, implement meritocracy, so as to provide equal opportunities for youth to succeed (unlike Malaysia where policies are race based and corruption is wide spread). The reality of life is, not everyone will make it to the pinnacle, but we can only hope to move our nation up the ladder of prosperity, and let the reward trickle down to the lower levels.

If you spend enough time (not just as a tourist, but working, interacting over many trips or over a longer period of time) in other countries like China, you would realise how fast others are improving, and how fast Sg is deteriorating. Eg incompetence is tolerated and protected now, as long as no corrupt intent.

Don't live in past glory, like those entrusted to "lead".

Edited by Volvobrick
  • Praise 12

A road no matter how straight, always and also needs lane markers for vehicles to travel. So more checks and balances are good to keep the incumbent gahmen in the right direction and keep it from going astray.

PAP too started as an opposition party. Had the PAP old guards not believe they had a better idea to improve people's lives, can you imagine how Singapore turns out 60 years under Lim Yew Hock govt?

Nothing wrong to see it as a contest of ideas. Voters are blessed to have more ideas how their lives can be further improved. I welcome TCB to show us the old guards way.

No competition is bad, some competition is good. Period.

• Praise 19

If you spend enough time (not just as a tourist, but working, interacting over many trips or over a longer period of time) in other countries like China, you would realise how fast others are improving, and how fast Sg is deteriorating. Eg incompetence is tolerated and protected now, as long as no corrupt intent.

Don't live in past glory, like those entrusted to "lead".

Your last sentence reminds me of the current manchester united...under fergie days...the old days of glory..but now... Edited by Kyrios

He can ask a lot of questions and get no answers.

One of the previous presidents also asked a lot of questions. Didn't get answers.

Just by asking all the right questions, a strong and independent president can do a lot of damage and force many more "56 man years" answers. Must take baby steps lah. Edited by Voodooman

Countries with one party, is good for progress, provided the party is good and incorruptible. Look at China, how it has progressed so much under one party, Singapore also. Whereas countries with few political parties, tend to be occupied with political infighting and scheming, so much so that they have no time to focus on governing the country well. Good examples are like Malaysia, Taiwan and most Europe countries, if you follow their politics you can tell.

Should we abolish the Singapore Constitution and change it to a one party system like in China? Lol...

No doubt China has very strong and good leadership in recent 20-30 years but the history of the People's Republic of China is a short 70 years in the entire history of mankind??? Even the Qing Dynasty, which had lasted more than 260 years had a good 54 years at the start. And in that short 70 years, did China experienced mass starvation and other forms of mismanagement?

Sometimes, I think multiparty system is there to safeguard many men against the evil of a few men. It is cumbersome and not efficient but statistically, many multiparty states have lasted longer and are richer than many others. Go google.

Maybe Singapore one party system can last 300 years but don't go bet your last dollar on it hor....

There is a simple saying that I absolutely adore.

Politicians are like baby diapers.

They should be changed as often, and for the same reason.

Yes, political parties often cannot come close to accomplishing what they promised pre-election. This applies to almost every party, in every democracy. Including the incumbent in ours. So refusing to vote in a promising opposition candidate on the basis of anticipatory manifesto promise betrayal is just silly. All politicians need to be changed, and frequently. If a people fails to do this by choice and allows a certain bunch of politicians to get too entrenched, then one fine day, that people may wake up and find it has no real choice at all. Hint, hint.

• Praise 10