A level results for University Courses

Loki

My second son has 90 points, his brother only got 87.5 points 2 years ago.  

Wah, sibei hao lian.. -_-

But hor, if my son got this kind of result, I more hao lian.. hehehe..  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Well done to Hamburger junior... [thumbsup]

• Praise 10

Congratulations! You should rightly be proud of their achievements. [thumbsup] what do they intend to pursue?

The eldest son got accepted by NUS 2 years ago for Business Analytics with Economic (Double Major) and supposes to enter the university this year after completed his NS, but he did not confirm his place early this year as he is thinking of changing course.

The second son has just enlisted last month and has not decided which course to apply.           

Congratulations! You should rightly be proud of their achievements. [thumbsup] what do they intend to pursue?

wah, this one can super hao lian, double hao lian meal some more... [thumbsup]  [:p]  [laugh]

Any father, mother, brother or sister of doctor here can come help advice...

My girl wanted to read medicine, prefer LKC over YLL.   

Going to submit application probably by end of next week; still working on the personal statement.

Some frens (1 doctor) advised against it.

Citing doctor is less than glamorous and at least suffer 10 years, minimum personal life, some no boy friend/husband,...etc.

I still have a wkend to talk about this with her...so, if you have some real case, do share...

Thanks...everyone

The eldest son got accepted by NUS 2 years ago for Business Analytics with Economic (Double Major) and supposes to enter the university this year after completed his NS, but he did not confirm his place early this year as he is thinking of changing course.

The second son has just enlisted last month and has not decided which course to apply.           

So good results, either try for scholarships or Medicine/Law/Dentistry etc bah  [smash]

Any father, mother, brother or sister of doctor here can come help advice...

Going to submit application probably by end of next week; still working on the personal statement.

Citing doctor is less than glamorous and at least suffer 10 years, minimum personal life, some no boy friend/husband,...etc.

I still have a wkend to talk about this with her...so, if you have some real case, do share...

Thanks...everyone

If she wants to do it. Then do it lor. I'm assuming she has at least went for some internship.

The first thing u must be ready for is that you must be able to keep on learning. U learn all the way until you graduate, you keep doing exams while you are working. You just keep on grinding and studying while working (and of course learning on the job). 

The university medical course is not easy (comparative to other courses) but it's really like a piece of cake compared to the post grad exams while working.

If you're the type that think you will have done your hard facts learning at the age of 25-26 (and only do soft or skill based learning after that), then you are distinctly unsuited for medical training.

Public holiday also need to work. Saturday sundays also need to work. Even you feel like absolute shit, u also have to work. Yeah u can take mc, but generally speaking 90% of the time, even if u are sick, u work.

To me, main con for ladies is that your physical appearance will age faster. This is not joking ... the shift work you do in training will age your complexion ....  [laugh]

Any father, mother, brother or sister of doctor here can come help advice...

Thanks...everyone

Rubbish advice...have many relatives albeit distant but all seem happy with their jobs and life. They did medicine because they love that field not because of parents or glam or salary or anything material.

She did shadowing in hospital and dental clinic, only a week for each...

Kind of like a big decision for a 18 yo...

I hoped...to gather some thoughts & feedback, so, decision makes, will be a informed de.

So good results, either try for scholarships or Medicine/Law/Dentistry etc bah  [smash]

If she wants to do it. Then do it lor. I'm assuming she has at least went for some internship.

Rubbish advice...have many relatives albeit distant but all seem happy with their jobs and life. They did medicine because they love that field not because of parents or glam or salary or anything material.

I think there is some satisfaction to be found. Cos the breadth and depth of medicine is both wide and deep. 

You can choose lots of paths even within the same domain.

You can choose to be ultra interested in one particular subsection of 1 domain. It's like academic work. 

But u can also just choose to be relatively broadbased and do different things. With technology and social, administrative aspects etc etc all within that broad family.

So good results, either try for scholarships or Medicine/Law/Dentistry etc bah [smash]

The first thing u must be ready for is that you must be able to keep on learning. U learn all the way until you graduate, you keep doing exams while you are working. You just keep on grinding and studying while working (and of course learning on the job).

The university medical course is not easy (comparative to other courses) but it's really like a piece of cake compared to the post grad exams while working.

If you're the type that think you will have done your hard facts learning at the age of 25-26 (and only do soft or skill based learning after that), then you are distinctly unsuited for medical training.

Public holiday also need to work. Saturday sundays also need to work. Even you feel like absolute shit, u also have to work. Yeah u can take mc, but generally speaking 90% of the time, even if u are sick, u work.

To me, main con for ladies is that your physical appearance will age faster. This is not joking ... the shift work you do in training will age your complexion .... [laugh]

Great advice... the last part has an easy fix. Be a specialist asap and work 9-5 on weekdays only. Last time has a very chio skin specialist at one GH with superb complexion. My heart sank when she discharged me...not even given an open date for revisit.

Thanks...you sound like my girl, not in that tone...

I meant she did said, wanting to find 'purpose' in life.

Great advice... the last part has an easy fix. Be a specialist asap and work 9-5 on weekdays only. Last time has a very chio skin specialist at one GH with superb complexion. My heart sank when she discharged me...not even given an open date for revisit.

My cohort. 

1 out of 210+ is a dermatologist.

Haha not so easy to get  [:p]

Thanks...you sound like my girl, not in that tone...

I meant she did said, wanting to find 'purpose' in life.

Has she talked to her JC seniors currently in med school?  She should also try for the LKC medicine scholarship especially if her CCA is significant (LKC school fees not cheap cheap)  [laugh]   I assume she's been invited to attend the LKC open house already?  YLL will send their open house invites once you are accepted. 

Its pretty cold at LKC so better ask her to have a sweater handy when she's doing her MMIs.

All the best to your daughter!   [thumbsup]

Edited by Mason016

Thanks for sharing...

Fortunately, she has a yr 1 senior in LKC, giving her very good advice.

Attended the NTU open house last Sat, was impressed with the school, very warm & welcoming people.

She likes the Team Based Learning approach...means 1 group of 6 people learn together...like quite fun [bounce2]

Tuition fee $34,200 x 5 yrs.  Scholarship will be considered once place offered/accepted, getting it is another...

NUS opening house tomorrow...

Appreciate your suggestion on bring sweater...1st, must get shortlisted... [flowerface]

Has she talked to her JC seniors currently in med school?  She should also try for the LKC medicine scholarship especially if her CCA is significant (LKC school fees not cheap cheap)  [laugh]   I assume she's been invited to attend the LKC open house already?  YLL will send their open house invites once you are accepted. 

Its pretty cold at LKC so better ask her to have a sweater handy when she's doing her MMIs.

All the best to your daughter!   [thumbsup]

Any father, mother, brother or sister of doctor here can come help advice...

Thanks...everyone

Let her follows her heart ba.

Both of my ex boss's children are doctors. His daughter is a GP and son is a heart specialist. Both of them are happily married leh and their spouses are doctors too. :)

But I heard my boss told me his daughter studied until cry last time cos very stressful but his son handled it very well.

Btw, lala81 is a doctor.

All the best to your daughter. Congrats on her good results!

Edited by Dleodleo

Any updates from those whose kids did A levels last year?

My kid will be doing English in NTU