Private Property prices......still up or down? Part II

Finally!

First (second) to park here.

Opportune time to start new thread just as the tide has started to change - bro @Radx 's way of working just like our Govt ,顺手推舟。

ok thread too big

continue here

Edited by Showster

Typically does the developer allow early renovation whilst the final paperwork is being processed? Or would they at least allow us to get the contractor in to do measurements? 

I seem to see the possibility for HDB but dont see any case about private property.

Were you given any floorplan with detailed dimensions?

The contractor can start planning based on that and measure at a later stage to confirm the dimensions.

Now they should be relatively free with not that many projects at hand except the cumbersome Govt projects.

Typically does the developer allow early renovation whilst the final paperwork is being processed? Or would they at least allow us to get the contractor in to do measurements? 

I seem to see the possibility for HDB but dont see any case about private property.

Read this then consider whether the Govt should consider your position.

http://www.straitstimes.com/business/economy/govt-studying-all-options-to-meet-future-revenue-needs

Wonder when will they remove the resale levy for 2nd timer for EC. 

My very superficial take on the latest measures:

For resale: More able to sell early --> good for sellers with cash flow/refinancing issues.

More houses on the market --> good for buyers.

For new: Buyers psychologically more prepared to commit --> good for developers.

Not so good for potential sellers who are looking to exit for profit.

Agree regarding new.

For resale sellers, this does not affect them at all, as every existing owner is still bound by the previous SSD schedule. The new buyers who are potential competition can only sell their units without penalty three years down the road. 

Since the "benefit" is to buyers, they will get the benefit whether new or resale. But I doubt anyone will buy a resale just to exit in three years. New ones maybe, especially with near zero interest rate, very low payments mostly going into mortgage over three years, for some new buyers to sell in 2020.

So for waiters: wait till 2020 for new buyers who cleared TDSR today to sell three years down the road?

My very superficial take on the latest measures:

For resale: More able to sell early --> good for sellers with cash flow/refinancing issues.

More houses on the market --> good for buyers.

For new: Buyers psychologically more prepared to commit --> good for developers.

Not so good for potential sellers who are looking to exit for profit.

Agree regarding new.

For resale sellers, this does not affect them at all, as every existing owner is still bound by the previous SSD schedule. The new buyers who are potential competition can only sell their units without penalty three years down the road. 

Since the "benefit" is to buyers, they will get the benefit whether new or resale. But I doubt anyone will buy a resale just to exit in three years. New ones maybe, especially with near zero interest rate, very low payments mostly going into mortgage over three years, for some new buyers to sell in 2020.

So for waiters: wait till 2020 for new buyers who cleared TDSR today to sell three years down the road?

I see. Thanks. So developers lobbying worked.

New Chapter, 

Is it - A New Hope?

maxresdefault.jpg

Honestly, I don't think the new measure should push us to buy big time and go nuts.

It's sensible since the economy is still down. We know that there are tons of people with cash in hand, waiting to jump in - see the crowds each weekend, but it's not good for real homestayers.

Investors want to buy and get rental, but the rentals are still falling.

But property is still good in a land limited place like SG.

Prices unlikely to move until further depletion of stocks but housing inventory should start to move much faster, consolidating base prices. Those who qualify as first time buyers, last chance and last call.

If not ready yet, it makes sense to consolidate finance more, but if ready after 4 years, you have to do what you have to do.

Next CM to target for loosening: increased financing allowed for second or third loan as long as meet TDSR. Cheng Hu will say, never change ABSD or TDSR what... and Analysts will tell you then, still very cooling what, no effect! You know better.

Resales prices are already pointing up. This quarter, with Clement Canopy, Grandeur Park and Park Place all three power launches selling new sales of 40 to 60+%, it's almost certain that index will shoot up. I am thinking 2-3% up at least this quarter even without Govt loosening.

Edited by Showster

Look... general housing prices can only go up in singapore... 

HDBs are 99yr leaseholds.... In land scarce singapore...  what the gahmen has been doing.. is to relocate within the vicinity by tearing down/re-building older blocks when they are about 40ish yr old... 

Think about it..  Would you accept changing your home if you need to pay? 

ie... there has been capital appreciation continuous for the last 40yrs... never ending...  

But how can our economy sustain forever appreciating housing options you ask? 

By keeping the doors open.

So.. the issue is with the 99yr old lease PRIVATE (both landed and small developments) properties. Developers have been tearing down and rebuilding...  increase plot ratio to turn a profit...  but what about those that cannot be built higher and/or smaller?

those are the real test cases... 

just my 2c

Look... general housing prices can only go up in singapore...

HDBs are 99yr leaseholds.... In land scarce singapore... what the gahmen has been doing.. is to relocate within the vicinity by tearing down/re-building older blocks when they are about 40ish yr old...

Think about it.. Would you accept changing your home if you need to pay?

ie... there has been capital appreciation continuous for the last 40yrs... never ending...

But how can our economy sustain forever appreciating housing options you ask?

By keeping the doors open.

So.. the issue is with the 99yr old lease PRIVATE (both landed and small developments) properties. Developers have been tearing down and rebuilding... increase plot ratio to turn a profit... but what about those that cannot be built higher and/or smaller?

those are the real test cases...

just my 2c

There may be a possibility of lease top-ups in future if the old 99yr leasehold condo can't go enbloc. If govt allows enblocs, there is no reason why they can't allow owners to extend the lease. Only problem is the existing condo has to tie in with the URA planning for the town.

so how handsome ??? Good buy or Goodbye ?? :XD:

Got money it's good buy

No money it's goodbye lah

No need to debate for 4 yrs one