Proton vs. Perodua

boonhat_91

For a budget daily driver, is Proton or Perodua better? Interested criteria would be running costs, maintenance and overall reliability. Is there any unspoken consensus here or across the causeway which brand is preferred?

Also, Proton is no longer selling in Singapore?

Proton fc rather bad....not sure about perodua. But come maintenance both should be on par as both can use oem parts made in MY....plenty of parts and accessories. I did a top overhaul in jb and it cost me about rm1200....my suspension cost me rm800. My friend did a total overhaul and suspension change for his kelisa.....rm 3000k can kaotim.

Thanks for your input! Fc wise is it pertaining to older generation models or is it still the same for new ones?

Proton fc rather bad....not sure about perodua. But come maintenance both should be on par as both can use oem parts made in MY....plenty of parts and accessories. I did a top overhaul in jb and it cost me about rm1200....my suspension cost me rm800. My friend did a total overhaul and suspension change for his kelisa.....rm 3000k can kaotim.

Thanks for your input! Fc wise is it pertaining to older generation models or is it still the same for new ones?

should be the Campro engines but sg dont have any new proton liao the last model sold were the exoras before they closed shop.

For a budget daily driver, is Proton or Perodua better? Interested criteria would be running costs, maintenance and overall reliability. Is there any unspoken consensus here or across the causeway which brand is preferred?

not sure how to compare FC fairly. i drove the exora for 8yrs. FC were only ard 7-7.5 km/l. very bad. 1.6l engine with a heavy body. but besides that, everything else is gd. no breakdowns in my 8yrs. only wear n tear parts were changed. n of cos it helped that all my servicing n parts replacement were done in jb.

but i guess perodua is better now. if small car can, go for myvi. top seller in msia.

I am just looking at an automobile for point to point and not concerned with status or how others perceive me as like in the other thread...

The Myvi, if i could operate it, would be a top contender budget wise. Sibeh small.

Oh well.

The Aruz now, big brother car can hop in and roll up to Putrajaya or Melaka. Confident in that it is not outstanding and can remain nondescript. As well as able to get there and back safely.

Service and maintenance is a breeze.

I am pretty sure if MyVi/Aruz is brought in at Malaysian price point plus 30 percent, it going to sell quick.

Afterall, they are toyotas. Malaysians of Japanese extraction.

Proton is gone with the wind.

Unless you buy 2nd-hand, there is no choice. Only Perodua.

Also, if you asked me, I'd choose Perodua cos it's basically a Daihatsu.

Thank you all for your inputs! Reason for browsing msian cars is because going to be travelling frequently into jb for work. Is there any truth to the myth that a proton/perodua (even with sg plate) will less likely be a target for thieves compared to the usual jap/korean b&b models?

As long as its S plate, you are a target!

If you drive cars that is popular on their side, even more so as there's a perceived impression that SG cars are well kept.

More protons and peroduas are stolen in MY than any other brands, not even Honda or Toyota.

Perodua cars a extremely popular in MY, even harder to track if stolen.

A safe bet will be a car that is unpopular or not even sold in MY.

Eg.

Skoda, no one will touch

Suzuki Swift, Suzuki in MYclose shop years ago

Forester XT, not sold in MY, even Forester NA is rare.

Elantra, surprisingly rare in MY plates, most Elantras there are SG and Most MY Elantra are the turbo version which is not sold in SG.

Try to avoid:

All Made in Thailand Toyotas

Vanlike Mpv like alphard or hellfire

Honda vezel jazz civic

Edited by Pocus

Can't praise you again, but thanks very much!

As long as its S plate, you are a target!

If you drive cars that is popular on their side, even more so as there's a perceived impression that SG cars are well kept.

More protons and peroduas are stolen in MY than any other brands, not even Honda or Toyota.

Perodua cars a extremely popular in MY, even harder to track if stolen.

A safe bet will be a car that is unpopular or not even sold in MY.

Eg.
Skoda, no one will touch
Suzuki Swift, Suzuki in MYclose shop years ago
Forester XT, not sold in MY, even Forester NA is rare.
Elantra, surprisingly rare in MY plates, most Elantras there are SG and Most MY Elantra are the turbo version which is not sold in SG.

Try to avoid:
All Made in Thailand Toyotas
Vanlike Mpv like alphard or hellfire
Honda vezel jazz civic

Depend where you pak lah.

No problem in Melaka. Um pai everywhere. Even in 7 11.

Especially around 7 11.

I think if imperial protection is extended to certain areas in JB, no cars will be stolen or broken into.

Elsewhere not so many cowboy horsethieves lah.

Although desperadoes smashing car windows are common enough.

Do you know how desperate the Indonesians II are? They get told to swim to malaysian shore when they are out of sight of the beach at night.

Desperadoes are scary. The Malaysians also scared of these II.

Aluminum oxide can break car windows really easily.

Do you work under imperial protection?

Singapore safe until we forget car thieves and snatch theft are common place elsewhere in the world.

Proton used to share engine and parts with Mitsubishi. Perodua share engine and parts with Daihatsu and Toyota. If looking at just these, I would prefer Perodua. Don't know which will have better resale value, in Singapore and Malaysia?

I am just looking at an automobile for point to point and not concerned with status or how others perceive me as like in the other thread...

The Myvi, if i could operate it, would be a top contender budget wise. Sibeh small.

Oh well.

The Aruz now, big brother car can hop in and roll up to Putrajaya or Melaka. Confident in that it is not outstanding and can remain nondescript. As well as able to get there and back safely.

Service and maintenance is a breeze.

I am pretty sure if MyVi/Aruz is brought in at Malaysian price point plus 30 percent, it going to sell quick.

Afterall, they are toyotas. Malaysians of Japanese extraction.

Perodua can do well in Singapore if the agent can sell at a low price. But sadly this is not happening. This brand needs a good agent such as komoco to bring it back to life

A good brand let down by not competitive pricing

Edited by RogerNg_185295

I check out the new Myvi recently. Look and feel really good, and with 6 airbags as standard. But with a retail price of about $65k for the 1.3L version, it is pricing itself out of the market. When I mention it to the SE who served me, she said the OMV is high and their profit is very thin. I was told OMV is about $12k to $12k, so how much is the profit?

Proton used to share engine and parts with Mitsubishi. Perodua share engine and parts with Daihatsu and Toyota. If looking at just these, I would prefer Perodua. Don't know which will have better resale value, in Singapore and Malaysia?

singaporeans are brand whores so it doesnt matter cause there will be absolutely no resale value. 

I check out the new Myvi recently. Look and feel really good, and with 6 airbags as standard. But with a retail price of about $65k for the 1.3L version, it is pricing itself out of the market. When I mention it to the SE who served me, she said the OMV is high and their profit is very thin. I was told OMV is about $12k to $12k, so how much is the profit?

if they price the myvi below attrage at sub 60k then it will be a good seller. 

omv 12k, thats same as many other sedans like elantra/avante/cerato/subaru, how to fight?

won't be surprised if they cant even sell 1 myvi per month. 

singaporeans are brand whores so it doesnt matter cause there will be absolutely no resale value.

if they price the myvi below attrage at sub 60k then it will be a good seller.

omv 12k, thats same as many other sedans like elantra/avante/cerato/subaru, how to fight?

won't be surprised if they cant even sell 1 myvi per month.

Thank you for your reply. Can you share what other car has OMV of $12k,and what are their selling price?

I understand from my friend that with OMV of $12k and $33k coe, the car cost about $60k, so $5k profit? Anyone has the formula to calculate car cost?

Not so. Proton speaks pu tong hua now! :XD:

It is priced at the same range as FIT. which would you take? Jap or My? Obvious right!

Thank you for your reply. Can you share what other car has OMV of $12k,and what are their selling price?

I understand from my friend that with OMV of $12k and $33k coe, the car cost about $60k, so $5k profit? Anyone has the formula to calculate car cost?

LTA website has a breakdown of the profit margins or amount ADs mark up to sell their cars.

Avante basic omv around 13k, lowest selling price was 67k so you can do the calculations.