Chemotherapy experience at NCC

Lala81

Well. Life is never smooth sailing.

I was warded on Saturday night after feeling really weak, feverish and bodyache on the same day. Went to a&e and my white blood cell count was low.

This is neutropenic fever. They have to make sure no serious infection is affecting you, iv antibiotics is needed to cover you until proven u have no hidden infection.

https://www.cancer.net/coping-with-cancer/physical-emotional-and-social-effects-cancer/managing-physical-side-effects/neutropenia

I was less feverish by Sunday though and started to feel better. So basically been on iv antibiotics. Blood counts started to recover with the help of pegfilgrastim injections.

Pegfilgrastim is a GCSF subcutaneous injection usually into the abdominal WALL (similar to diabetics doing insulin injection).

Basically it forces the blood to manufacture more neutrophils which is an essential type of white cell.

This is usually part of reducing the side effect of the chemo. Just that I received more jabs due to this hospitalisation.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pegfilgrastim

My veins are fried after one round of chemo and this hospitalisation. So currently awaiting for a central line insertion today to help with the next cycle of chemo. Planned for discharge tomorrow.

After this experience, the next few weeks must really 闭关。 I already been avoiding most places and been wearing mask other than around my own family.

Need to be even more careful.

That Sunday your cycle all completed ? or still have this week ? 

Glad you are ok now .  

Oh man

You shd not take this lightly bro

Have to be really ocd abt cleanliness. The chemo wiped out the immunity and nothing much left to spare

You dun need these complications at this point

Stay well my fren

Yeah lah.

My hair is starting to drop also. Though I already ownself shaved my head earlier on Thursday due to scalp irritation.

isolate from other in a room by yourself if possible, turn on aircon and/or air purifier most of the time.

Haha stuck in a 4 bedder since admission. But it's the onco ward so better than nothing.

I was warded on Saturday night after feeling really weak, feverish and bodyache on the same day. Went to a&e and my white blood cell count was low.

This is neutropenic fever. They have to make sure no serious infection is affecting you, iv antibiotics is needed to cover you until proven u have no hidden infection.

https://www.cancer.net/coping-with-cancer/physical-emotional-and-social-effects-cancer/managing-physical-side-effects/neutropenia

I was less feverish by Sunday though and started to feel better. So basically been on iv antibiotics. Blood counts started to recover with the help of pegfilgrastim injections.

Pegfilgrastim is a GCSF subcutaneous injection usually into the abdominal WALL (similar to diabetics doing insulin injection).

Basically it forces the blood to manufacture more neutrophils which is an essential type of white cell.

This is usually part of reducing the side effect of the chemo. Just that I received more jabs due to this hospitalisation.

My veins are fried after one round of chemo and this hospitalisation. So currently awaiting for a central line insertion today to help with the next cycle of chemo. Planned for discharge tomorrow.

After this experience, the next few weeks must really 闭关。 I already been avoiding most places and been wearing mask other than around my own family.

Great that you are ok now, really must take extra care on your surrounding. Jia you.

That Sunday your cycle all completed ? or still have this week ?

Glad you are ok now .

I'm only ending my 1st cycle. Got another cycle after that

This is basic research describing in vitro concept of compounds to inhibit abnormal cellular growth.

Very early stages. This is basic research.

Basically, at any time, there should be hundreds of pharma companies running this experiments on thousands of such compounds.

Potentially can strike jackpot so there's a whole number of companies in the west and East that specialise in this.

Anyway I'm not taking any tcm herbs during this chemo. Even simple stuff like dang gui or dang shen.

My mother actually went to ask some tcm shops, they also don't recommend, they just say 补 after chemo is over.

Lol no worries. I'm still around.

Behaving like a retiree.

I think better to avoid   dang gui or dang shen too.  If you wan , just green bean soup (clear toxic) or anti oxidant .  

Yeah lah.

My hair is starting to drop also. Though I already ownself shaved my head earlier on Thursday due to scalp irritation.

Haha stuck in a 4 bedder since admission. But it's the onco ward so better than nothing.

i mean after you discharge and back home.

I think better to avoid dang gui or dang shen too. If you wan , just green bean soup (clear toxic) or anti oxidant .

Nah no herbs during this. Just normal chicken soup

Haha I know. Fresh air is good though.

My prayers are with you.

Whatever faith or religious extraction you are, hold on to it.

Expect to see better days ahead, and look forward to it!

In the meantime, be watchful of secondary infection - especially since you’re gonna have a central line.

All the best!

My prayers are with you.

Whatever faith or religious extraction you are, hold on to it.

Expect to see better days ahead, and look forward to it!

In the meantime, be watchful of secondary infection - especially since youâre gonna have a central line.

All the best!

Yeah didn't want to get at first. But the chemo too much for my veins. My forearm vascularity has always been suboptimal.

Haha this admission. I dunno have how many bumped veins after first plug failed. Got my anesthesia friend to set one for me in the end.

Yeah didn't want to get at first. But the chemo too much for my veins. My forearm vascularity has always been suboptimal.

Haha this admission. I dunno have how many bumped veins after first plug failed. Got my anesthesia friend to set one for me in the end.

You are one very brave patient. Many docs cant wish for a patient with similar positive predisposition like you.

I am glad you are wired this way as it helps with speedier recovery.

You are one very brave patient. Many docs cant wish for a patient with similar positive predisposition like you.

Not really. Saturday was really the worst day I had in years.

After feeling sick the whole morning, I was damn sian on sat evening when I was at the a&e. Just felt bloody suay.

Just lie down on the trolley half asleep while freezing in the a&e for hours, go up to the ward, lie down half asleep while the nurses etc do their things.

Next day, in the morning Just naturally feel better even though I'm lying in hospital by myself.

Granted I'm lucky and that it wasn't anything serious in the end.

I'm currently in a 4 bedder. I wouldn't want to trade places with any of the other 3.

So in life, tomorrow is another day. Its a simple truth.

and there is me, that doctors fear to even thread upon  muahahahahahha

Sorry to hear that. Take care and all the best Doc.

For everything else, you can always find support from MCFers.  [grouphug]

• Praise 10

Not really. Saturday was really the worst day I had in years.

After feeling sick the whole morning, I was damn sian on sat evening when I was at the a&e. Just felt bloody suay.

Just lie down on the trolley half asleep while freezing in the a&e for hours, go up to the ward, lie down half asleep while the nurses etc do their things.

Next day, in the morning Just naturally feel better even though I'm lying in hospital by myself.

Granted I'm lucky and that it wasn't anything serious in the end.

I'm currently in a 4 bedder. I wouldn't want to trade places with any of the other 3.

So in life, tomorrow is another day. Its a simple truth.

Did they give u chemo daily or different content ?