EHS Moment

Carbon82

Err good idea hor? :D:a-m1212: I will try, and see if more check out the thread. Now EHS really pai tan jiak... [sweatdrop]

The angle you mentioned look more like 135° (probably 45° refer to external angle). How can one drive with just 45°, that is almost like chest / face is just a few inch away from steering wheel...

9-dsc_6662.jpg

Just saw your post, pai seh. As above, more like 135°. Cannot be 90° too, as it will be quite close to the steering wheel.

car_seat_bad_posture.jpg

Yea bro. Paitan.. Need QEHS or more to sustain or maintain competitive.

Iirc angle should be 120 Dec. Need protractor to confirm

Today topic shall be timely and handy for those that are using (or have plan to use) BlueSG or any EV as a form of alternate transport. @smoothscott, do take note. [:)]

Actually to think of it from a broad base perspective, passenger of EV should also be aware of the safety precaution to be adopted when riding in one.

Safety with Electric Vehicle (EV)

electric-car.png

1) DO NOT attempted to touch / explore any components in the engine bay or under carriage. ALWAYS ASSUME THAT ALL HIGH VOLTAGE COMPONENTS ARE ENERGIZED!

2) If you found the electric car to be partially submerged in water (say due to flash flood), DO NOT TOUCH THE CAR BODY or GET CLOSE TO THE CAR. Call the dealer / agent to report the situation and let them handle it.

3) In the event that you get into a traffic accident, with the electric car suffering substantial damages, SWITCH OFF POWER SUPPLY to the car (de-energized it), if possible without endangering your own safety, before calling traffic police or SCDF for assistance.

4) In the above situation, always assumed that the entire vehicle is energized (short-circuited) and DO NOT TOUCH any part of the vehicle, especially metal surface when exiting from the car.

5) Refrain from removing any personnel items from the fuming / burning car, and keep a SAFETY DISTANCE OF AT LEAST 15m away from the car, as the batteries, if exploded, can send small / sharp debris across a distance.

6) Inform emergency responder / fire fighter / SCDF personnel responding to the emergency that THIS IS AN ELECTRIC VEHICLE, and specific instructions must be followed (they may refer to personnel from the car dealer for more details).

7) When returning the car to the designated location, remember to READ THE INSTRUCTIONS provided on charging station, before plugging the charger in the car, as you are dealing with a high voltage power supply of 240V or higher.

- Always operate electrical sockets with a dry hand,

- Avoid those fancy switchless socket like plague, especially if it has some funny mechanism that makes the plugging/unplugging operation even more unnatural

Thanks for sharing your near miss experience and safety tips.  :a-m1212:

Yea bro. Paitan.. Need QEHS or more to sustain or maintain competitive.

Iirc angle should be 120 Dec. Need protractor to confirm

Today topic shall be timely and handy for those that are using (or have plan to use) BlueSG or any EV as a form of alternate transport. @smoothscott, do take note. [:)]

Actually to think of it from a broad base perspective, passenger of EV should also be aware of the safety precaution to be adopted when riding in one.

Safety with Electric Vehicle (EV)

electric-car.png

1) DO NOT attempted to touch / explore any components in the engine bay or under carriage. ALWAYS ASSUME THAT ALL HIGH VOLTAGE COMPONENTS ARE ENERGIZED!

2) If you found the electric car to be partially submerged in water (say due to flash flood), DO NOT TOUCH THE CAR BODY or GET CLOSE TO THE CAR. Call the dealer / agent to report the situation and let them handle it.

3) In the event that you get into a traffic accident, with the electric car suffering substantial damages, SWITCH OFF POWER SUPPLY to the car (de-energized it), if possible without endangering your own safety, before calling traffic police or SCDF for assistance.

4) In the above situation, always assumed that the entire vehicle is energized (short-circuited) and DO NOT TOUCH any part of the vehicle, especially metal surface when exiting from the car.

5) Refrain from removing any personnel items from the fuming / burning car, and keep a SAFETY DISTANCE OF AT LEAST 15m away from the car, as the batteries, if exploded, can send small / sharp debris across a distance.

6) Inform emergency responder / fire fighter / SCDF personnel responding to the emergency that THIS IS AN ELECTRIC VEHICLE, and specific instructions must be followed (they may refer to personnel from the car dealer for more details).

7) When returning the car to the designated location, remember to READ THE INSTRUCTIONS provided on charging station, before plugging the charger in the car, as you are dealing with a high voltage power supply of 240V or higher.

Thanks for sharing your near miss experience and safety tips.  :a-m1212:

QEHS is the new norm, as well as HSSE (including security), and some even asked for Business Continuity, Crisis Management, Facilities Management, etc. etc. The best part, pay is not more but maybe lesser... [grouphug]  

Arm angle can be a personal choice (and subjective), be it 120°, 135° or even 150°, but as long as one is not too near to the steering (I would say not <100° for sure), or so far away (fully stretched - almost 180°) till experiencing stress in arm throughout a drive.

Please do share any safety information that you have came across. This thread is not for me, but everyone reading it. Thanks.

If one can continue to use a tyre with little or no thread left, do you think they will bother to spend time for the airbag replacement (even if FOC), given the confident they have with their driving skills, and their belief that getting into an accident would be of a higher odd than striking Toto / Big Sweep... :D

Thank you for the reminder  [thumbsup]  [thumbsup]  

Good tip for those planning to try the EVs. 

Dutch Reach

header%402x.jpg

Although the 2 pictures below are targeting at safety of cyclist, the same can be applied for another other moving objects (car, trucks, even PMD and passerby). Do share this with you loved one and remind your passenger to do so, for reducing unnecessary accident and injury. :excl:

PWXptqR.png

IDqncO6.png

Dutch Reach

header%402x.jpg

Although the 2 pictures below are targeting at safety of cyclist, the same can be applied for another other moving objects (car, trucks, even PMD and passerby). Do share this with you loved one and remind your passenger to do so, for reducing unnecessary accident and injury. :excl:

PWXptqR.png

IDqncO6.png

Alamak I read as @Dach reach paging @discoburg

Aiya you make me happy for a moment as I also thought I read my ex's name. Made me so happy to have his news.  :a-rip:

Alamak I read as @Dach reach paging @discoburg

Proper use of Hazard Light

Do-You-Use-Your-Hazard-Lights-Properly-1

Lights on your vehicle are one of the only forms of communication you have with other drivers on the road (sign language not counted hor  :D ). Hazard lights are there to let others know when there is a problem, and there is a right and a wrong way to use them. As stated in the 9th Edition of Final Theory Handbook, you are required to switch in the hazard light in the following situation:

- In extreme weather conditions, move to a safe spot and stop at the side of the road with your hazard lights turned on if you cannot see clearly. Proceed when conditions are favourable.

- Should your vehicle break down while on the expressway, switch on the hazard lights and if possible, move your vehicle off the carriageway onto the road shoulder. 

- If a breakdown occurs unexpectedly while driving, let other road users know that something is wrong by sounding the horn and switching on the headlight and hazard lights. Move to the side of the road after checking that it is safe to do so.

-  In event that your windscreen is shattered by stones or hard objects flung from the wheels of other vehicles or from the loose loads of lorries, turn on the hazard lights, slow down, move to and stop at  the side of the road, to remove the shattered screen and broken bits of glass

- When overheating occurs, switch on the hazard lights, slow down and drive safely to the side of the road and stop the vehicle

- If the accelerator is stuck and you cannot free the pedal in this manner, turn on the hazard lights and move the vehicle safely to the side of the road. The same can be done when encountering brake failure

- When you are involved in an accident, you should stop irrespective of whether there is an injury or not. Remember to switch on the vehicle hazard lights to warn the other road users of the accident

Defensive driving

integrity-defensive-driving.jpg

Defensive driving involves the ability to plan well ahead, predict the actions of other road users, and compensate for their mistakes. In short, it is about situation and hazard awareness. It’s always an advantage for all road users when drivers adopt defensive driving.

Defensive driving requires drivers to:

- Always keep in mind the existence of road hazards (e.g. sharp turn, uneven surface, road work, bad weather, school / silver zone, etc.)

- Be prepared to take evasive action, as some road users may not obey the traffic rules all the time (NEVER insist on your right of way)

- Avoid a collision and make allowances for other road users to correct their mistakes (it is NOT just about you able to stop in time, but others around you)

- Be on the constant lookout for traffic signs and other road users (including PMD rider and pedestrian) actions that may cause traffic hazards

- Minimise the chances of an accident from mechanical failure by regularly maintaining your vehicles (especially your brake, tyres, lighting, etc.)

When NOT to use the hazard light

r4bss8901xf11.jpg

Do NOT use your vehicle’s hazard lights when:

- You are driving in inclement weather. When there is precipitation blurring road visibility and you turn on your hazard lights, other motorists may have a hard time determining which lane you are in or if you are changing lanes.

- You are in heavy traffic. It is true that hazard lights make you more visible, but heavy traffic alone is not an excuse to use them. In some vehicle’s, when your hazard lights are engaged, your turn signals are disabled, which would make it difficult for other motorists to anticipate what it is you are doing.

- You are parked illegally. Contrary to popular belief, if you turn on the hazard lights on while parked illegally, it doesn’t make it legal. You need to find an appropriate place to park and avoid blocking traffic.

Expressway Monitoring and Advisory System (EMAS)

29064365_2025508434129238_70708371454345

Expressway Monitoring Advisory System (EMAS) is an intelligent incident management tool that manages traffic along our expressways. It detects accidents, vehicle breakdown and other incidents promptly, ensuring fast response to restore normal traffic flow. It also provides real-time information of travelling time from the entry point of expressway to selected exits.

EMAS brings these benefits to motorists:

- Provides quick response to motorists who need help along expressways
- Minimizes congestion that may arise from incidents through the display of messages to the public to avoid incident locations
- Enhances overall safety on expressways

When a traffic incident is detected, the LTA Operations Control Centre (OCC) will dispatch an EMAS Vehicle Recovery tow truck and LTA Traffic Marshal to the incident site, as part of the incident management process. The EMAS Vehicle Recovery crew and LTA Traffic Marshals will arrive quickly and work together to expedite the process of clearing incidents on expressways so as to bring traffic flow back to normal as fast as possible.

The recovery crew will also tow the broken-down vehicle to the nearest designated carpark, free of charge. With effect from 18 January 2006, it is an offence if a vehicle owner refuses to allow his vehicle to be towed away by the recovery crew, even if the owner is waiting for his own tow truck service that has yet to arrive. This is to minimize the congestion and inconvenience caused to other motorists.

Working closely with the vehicle recovery service crew, a team of LTA Traffic Marshals (who are Auxiliary Police Officers) carry out On-Scene Management duties like traffic control and evidence preservation for accidents involving minor injuries. This is to improve on the accident clearance time, especially for minor accidents. The Traffic Police (TP) will continue to handle all accidents involving injuries and fatalities as well as enforce traffic offences.

Beware of wet floor

slip-and-fall-inury-wet-floor-signs.jpg

During wet weather, floor (both outdoor and indoor) can become wet and slippery. Do take note of the following:

Driver

- Maintain a safe distance for the vehicle in front, as you will need extra distance for stopping on wet surface

- Slow down when approaching a bend, corner or turning / changing lane. Wet surface coupled with worn out tyre might cause your car to loose control / skid

- Drive at a slower speed (than normal days) when maneuvering in a sheltered carpark, as the surface can be very slippery, especially near to the entrance, as well as up / down slope 

Pedestrian

- Road marking can be extremely slippery, so walk with extra care when stepping on the marking, it can make you fall if you are not careful with your steps

- The same can be said for pavement, staircase, and any walkway, especially those covered with polished stone / tiles

- When you are entering a building with a dripping umbrella, help yourself and others by keeping your wet umbrella in a plastics bag, else, try to shake it dry before entering the building, so as to minimize the chances of wetting the floor further.

zheng hu said can use cellphone inside station liao  :a-toast:

Well, this article should have answered your queries. May a time, safety is beyond what a person can see, and thus my purpose of starting this thread: To share what I know. I hope MCFers don't see me as a broken recorder that keep repeating the same tune over and over again... :that-dood-is-up-to-something:

Will using my mobile phone while pumping petrol start a fire?

will-using-my-mobile-phone-while-pumping

Is it safe to use a mobile phone at a petrol station?

It is largely an urban legend that using a mobile phone will pose a fire risk at a petrol kiosk.

This myth – perpetuated from as early as the 1990s – arose partly because mobile phones emit microwaves.

But experts say microwaves emitted by phones are extremely weak and would not pose a fire hazard.

United States-based Petroleum Equipment Institute has, on its website, stated categorically that mobile phones do not cause petrol station fires.

“We have not documented a single incident that was caused by a cellular telephone,” the institute says.

“In fact, many researchers have tried to ignite fuel vapours with a cellphone and failed.”

Most fires at petrol stations are sparked by static electricity.

This occurs in drier countries, when the clothing of a driver rubs against the car seat and static is discharged when he touches the metal refuelling nozzle attached to the car.

The institute advises drivers not to re-enter their vehicle when they are refuelling, as the act of doing so creates static.

So why are there signs at petrol stations asking people not to use the phone?

The Straits Times understands it is because petrol stations are high-traffic areas and using a phone would cause inattentiveness which could cause accidents or fuel spillage.

Globally Harmonized System (GHS)

Ever wonder what does these symbols mean? They can be found on all chemical container, including lubricants, car wax, tyre shine products, and even at petrol station. So what are they use for?

8138M05Au0L._SL1500_.jpg

The Globally Harmonised System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals (GHS) is a system for chemical classification and hazard communication through harmonised provisions for standardised labels and safety data sheets (SDS) developed by United Nations.

Singapore has adopted GHS in 2002, and it is important that GHS forms an integral part of chemical management at the workplace. Chemical manufacturers and suppliers are required to classify and label their products, prepare SDS and make related product information available to users. Since 1 Jul 2016, companies were required to adhere to GHS requirements.

GHS enhances the protection of humans and environment against hazardous chemicals as well as to facilitate international trade by ensuring that all chemicals moving into and out of a country are classified, packaged and labelled in accordance with a globally harmonised system. 

GHS helps to get every country on the same page for chemical regulations and standards. The harmonisation of chemical classification and labelling across the different countries ensures that there is consistent information and communication of chemical hazards.

GHS also made it safer for all chemical users who are exposed to chemical hazards. Information provided on the labels and SDS enables users of hazardous chemicals to identify the hazards and take the necessary preventive or protective measures for their safety and health.

And this chart will give you an idea of what all the symbols are for.

JQoJIXv.png