Dyson revs up hiring spree for Singapore electric car plant

kykh

That one is built by Williams what. Unless u think the entire Williams racing team want to shift here.

Anyways, the Dyson thing. Prob here to jiak gahmen subsidy money, hire many amdk, den few years later jiak finish, close shop, say oops car Market too difficult, amdks go back to UK with fat fat bank account.

You willing to pay bmw/merc money to buy a Dyson car meh? A brand new manufacturer with zero experience in automotive. Might as well buy bmw/merc. Atas.

Buy Dyson ppl make fun of you during cny.

Absolutely right. Of course the Scholars will say it’s a good deal. But how many foreign companies will even bother to come in the 1st place. I suspect the benefits are super generous.

Let’s see but likelihood, there goes my tax dollars. 5years later out of the tax and whatever benefits given out, I think less that 50% will benefit the locals. And then they will claim it’s a huge success and wait to be promoted or already promoted!

That one is built by Williams what. Unless u think the entire Williams racing team want to shift here.

Anyways, the Dyson thing. Prob here to jiak gahmen subsidy money, hire many amdk, den few years later jiak finish, close shop, say oops car Market too difficult, amdks go back to UK with fat fat bank account.

You willing to pay bmw/merc money to buy a Dyson car meh? A brand new manufacturer with zero experience in automotive. Might as well buy bmw/merc. Atas.

Buy Dyson ppl make fun of you during cny.

I suspect free land lease for their new factory, maybe JTC/Ascendas also build the basic factory structure FOC for them (can reuse after Dyson retreat in future).

And maybe some favourable conditions on hiring the labour and talent they need.

I don't think there are any special technology in this EV. Key thing will be the battery which they are not strong at. I won't invest in this for Singapore. Our market too small to co lnsider such thing. Our solar panels already not feasible liao

Dyson to move corporate head office to Singapore

SINGAPORE: British technology firm Dyson announced late Tuesday (Jan 22) night that it will move its corporate head office to Singapore to "reflect the increasing importance of Asia" to its business.

In a press release, the privately owned company known for its bladeless fans and bagless vacuum cleaners said: "An increasing majority of Dyson's customers and all of our manufacturing operations are now in Asia; this shift has been occurring for some time and will quicken as Dyson brings its electric vehicle to market. 

"As a result, an increasing proportion of Dyson's executive team is going to be based in Singapore; positioning them to make the right decisions for Dyson in a quick and efficient way." 

Dyson also announced investment plans, including the expansion of the Singapore Technology Centre to double its current size, as well as the Malaysia Design Centre's fifth phase of development. 

Much of its product development will remain in southwest England.

It said that there will be construction of new laboratories in the United Kingdom, to cater for the growth of Dyson's energy storage research and robotics programme.

Malmesbury, the location of its original headquarters, as well as Hullavington, London and Bristol, will "continue to be core creative and engineering parts of Dyson", it said.

The company said the move from Britain was not driven by Brexit or any tax implications. It already manufacturers products in Asia and will build its new electric car in Singapore.

Chief executive Jim Rowan said the group was seeing the biggest demand for its products like air purifiers and hairdryers as well as cleaners in Asia.

"It allows us to make sure we will be putting our best efforts to secure those opportunities, as well as keeping an eye on those investments, especially EV (electric vehicles) and batteries," he said.

Rowan, who is already based in Singapore, will be joined by other senior executives. Among them is Roland Krueger, who has been president of the Infiniti Motor Company and senior vice-president of Nissan Motor Co since January 2015. 

Krueger will join Dyson in April to "oversee all aspects of the automotive project as it approaches launch", the company revealed. 

"It proves how serious we really are about taking this project, and indeed this division and this category, to the next level," Rowan said.

"We expect to be able to go in and disrupt yet another industry using bespoke Dyson technology and innovation."

The move comes as Dyson said its annual profit had broken through the 1 billion pound barrier for the first time, driven by strong demand in China and other Asian countries.

It reported earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortisation (EBITDA) of £1.1 billion (US$1.42 billion) in 2018 on turnover up 28 per cent to £4.4 billion.

A very hype company leh, Google : Digital Motor.

Then CEO, Brexit advocate ........ one of the first to run road after UK Brexit lor.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2019/jan/23/james-dyson-brexiteer-elite-brexit-rees-mogg

BTW, Patents can be OVERTURNED one lor.