First ITE graduate to get into NUS medical school

Ender

Err OK. That's what Duke is for right. For people who decide to join mid career or after they demonstrated their "passion".

To me. Being qualified is a minimum. If u meet the qualifications with some disability or being from lower SES, good for you. If u r best in ite, best in poly, top IB/a level student I don't care. Meet the minimum bar and we will talk later.

Well nus has accepted him so they know him better than us lol.

So all the best to him.

BTW, accepting poly students already happened many years ago. Also featured in newspapers then. But there was not much hoohah. And this was before poly became as widely accepted to be a route to local uni as now.

If my direct answer to the question you posed results in a deflection, with inverted commas and its connotations, you and I know what the answer is. 

The rest pf what you said, doesn't really matter. I've had 1st class honours kids crash and burn on the job, and poly kids do well and go far. Its time for the system to be more flexible. There are people who fell off the tracks earlier in life who are more than capable, maybe you just can't see it from your perspective.

What I do know is, there's quite a lot of pressure on him, now that he knows that there are equal numbers of people cheering him on, as people wishing he fails. I know a veiled passive-aggressive comment when I see one - they're interested in proving such alternate tracks for "queue jumpers" simply will not work. 

Let's all wait and see - the Internet does not forget.

People need to differentiate between professional (specialised degree) vs a general degree.

Some of the professional degrees and corresponding occupations that requires one to have a specific qualification:

- medicine = doctor

- dentist = dentist

- architecture = architect

- Accountancy = accountant

- law = lawyer

Even some non degree occupations require specific diplomas:

- nursing

- radiographers

- audiologist

Some of the occupations that does not require a specific qualification:

- teacher

- manager (retail/operations/business) 

- executive 

- childcare

- interior designers

Although specific non educational skill sets will put them at advantage. 

When hiring a doctor, the degree that he achieved gives the assurance that the minimum level of knowledge and skills competancy has been obtained. One can go on about how some 10 min face to face interview can help seive out the good and the bad. Kudos. Try do that without the luxury of a degree/diploma serving as the initial sieve. 

Even best, maybe some might propose that one don't need a degree or diploma at all, just talk your way into a job. 

Law school got the hot babes, as I recall ... but I didn't dare to approach. Will lose every argument in future [laugh] Med school, how?

This is true. Lack of bio and chem at 'A' levels is a bigger hurdle than math. Poly level knowledge is not rigourous enough, in my opinion.

Well.. lawyer babe will just out talk you..

The doctor babe...

I make decisions on staff hiring and often they are fresh school leavers just seeing where their degree (and their honours class) takes them. All I need to do is ask a few probing questions about the job they're applying for and it is clear that being qualified isn't quite the same as being suitable.

Pilot interview scenario. You have this applicant with stellar results and airmanship. You talk to him, and you realize you might, in future, have to spend 10+ hours cooped up in a cockpit with him on some long haul flight. So what's the more important criteria? [laugh]

Edited by Sosaria

People need to differentiate between professional (specialised degree) vs a general degree.

Some of the professional degrees and corresponding occupations that requires one to have a specific qualification:

- medicine = doctor

- dentist = dentist

- architecture = architect

- Accountancy = accountant

- law = lawyer

Even some non degree occupations require specific diplomas:

- nursing

- radiographers

- audiologist

Some of the occupations that does not require a specific qualification:

- teacher

- manager (retail/operations/business)

- executive

- childcare

- interior designers

Although specific non educational skill sets will put them at advantage.

When hiring a doctor, the degree that he achieved gives the assurance that the minimum level of knowledge and skills competancy has been obtained. One can go on about how some 10 min face to face interview can help seive out the good and the bad. Kudos. Try do that without the luxury of a degree/diploma serving as the initial sieve.

Even best, maybe some might propose that one don't need a degree or diploma at all, just talk your way into a job.

And the There is this fella

https://www.romania-insider.com/fake-italian-plastic-surgeon-strikes-again-in-romania

I only pray when he graduate from NUS he would not volunteer to be MCF moderator.

The only thing that caught my eye was he got into medicine for the right reasons.

pity those ended up in politics. why because after all the training and heavy tax payers subsidy and deprive another who genuinely wants to be a doc. wasted

U reap what you sow

You will get more daily bread and you bloody well deserve it

The enemy of my enemy is my friend

Must see the reason why he dropped out of school lo. Some people are smart and might be good in studies but due to some reasons cannot continue their studies.

Did you go in and read the news?

All explain there.

Definitely not a good student during the secondary school days.

The doctor babe... ð± ... die also dunno why or how ð¤£

Hahaha. Against hippocratic oath leh. Lol.

The doctor babe... ð± ... die also dunno why or how ð¤£

Hahaha. Against hippocratic oath leh. Lol.

If my direct answer to the question you posed results in a deflection, with inverted commas and its connotations, you and I know what the answer is.

The rest pf what you said, doesn't really matter. I've had 1st class honours kids crash and burn on the job, and poly kids do well and go far. Its time for the system to be more flexible. There are people who fell off the tracks earlier in life who are more than capable, maybe you just can't see it from your perspective.

What I do know is, there's quite a lot of pressure on him, now that he knows that there are equal numbers of people cheering him on, as people wishing he fails. I know a veiled passive-aggressive comment when I see one - they're interested in proving such alternate tracks for "queue jumpers" simply will not work.

Let's all wait and see - the Internet does not forget.

What's there to wait and see?

If he succeed, newspaper won't care. If he fails, newspaper also won't care. Its just newsworthy for now, so news will report. Nobody cares who's the Dean list for medicine every year. Or singhealth resident of the year award lol.

He will lead his own life from now on.

Maybe only his own yearmates will keep track of his progress. Just like we keep track of our year mates. Cos we are all kaypoh and love to gossip haha

For the people who think there's no affirmative action going on, I would say that even saf and admin service need to show some affirmative action.

What more something as closely related to personal interaction like the public health system...

For the people who think there's no affirmative action going on, I would say that even saf and admin service need to show some affirmative action.

What more something as closely related to personal interaction like the public health system...

Reminds me of this... 

Season 3 is here..

lol i dunno what the fuss is. Let him graduate first then discuss.  i mean this kind of admissions is pretty standard worldwide.

This is like being over the moon that SG football team will take part in world cup qualifiers.

lol i dunno what the fuss is. Let him graduate first then discuss. i mean this kind of admissions is pretty standard worldwide.

This is like being over the moon that SG football team will take part in world cup qualifiers.

Reminded me of the $3500/pm dish washer job advertisement. Anyone got the job and working happily there?

It is about news worthiness or even propaganda to say the least.

I am sure we all know why there is cap on number of law/medical students each intake. It is never about not enough qualified students but to limit them.

Till we can find a solution, many good lawyers and doctors will be deprived. One exception also means many rejections of good candidates lor

I am sure we all know why there is cap on number of law/medical students each intake. It is never about not enough qualified students but to limit them.

Till we can find a solution, many good lawyers and doctors will be deprived. One exception also means many rejections of good candidates lor

The numbers are carefully controlled to prevent oversupply and also to indirectly buoy the salaries lah [laugh]

They'd rather err on the side of shortage, keeping salaries high, and in the end, having to import FT doctors and lawyers to make up the shortfall, rather than accidentally oversupply and push salaries down overall.

This is something that should be done also to engineering jobs if govt really want to raise the prestige and salaries. Not just talk talk and make fancy ads.

The numbers are carefully controlled to prevent oversupply and also to indirectly buoy the salaries lah [laugh]

They'd rather err on the side of shortage, keeping salaries high, and in the end, having to import FT doctors and lawyers to make up the shortfall, rather than accidentally oversupply and push salaries down overall.

This is something that should be done also to engineering jobs if govt really want to raise the prestige and salaries. Not just talk talk and make fancy ads.

Frankly this is very sad especially with medical. We deprived people who need treatment to ensure selected individuals earn fat income. At the same time, we import when have not enough.