KF Seetoh suggests peak-hour surcharge for hawker centres

ChaosMyth

Been noticing this KF Seetoh giving more and more ridiculous suggestions. This is the PAP way style of offering solutions to crowd control, fixing congestions. Look at the newly opened Jewel. In order to "control crowd" you are expected to pay up to SGD 56 if you want to go 4 of the paid attractions. There are other ways to limit crowd. Reserving free ticket online first come first serve blahhhhhh. Then now there's peak period surcharge for hawker centres. Many of these people who patronize hawkers during lunch time even in CBDs are also people who are just drawing a decent salary just like you and me. Why punish these people? Founder of Makansutra? Super out of touch with the average Singaporean. No doubt overhead very high for hawkers. In fact I think they pay a darn ridiculous price just for rental, cleaning etc... KF Seetoh should campaign for lowering rental costs for hawkers instead of penalizing the consumers.  [dead]

There's peak hour surcharge fr taxi rides, surge pricing for ride hails, there's even surge pricing now for food deliveries plus of course the means testing pricing policy in hospitals...(is there peak hour charges at MRTs, since they also introduced cheaper pre peak hour rides)

At a recent official workgroup discussion with hawkers, they spoke about how they wish society can allow them to charge a little more to reflect higher cost of everything these days, among other dreamlist wishes. A far cry from the rules that they sell dishes at or below $3 all the time, set by these social enterprise run hawker centre mngmt folks.

So here's my suggestion..peak hour prices at hawker centres. They charge the top tier prices from 11.45am-2.15pm. But a fat discount for off peak hours and a clear stock reduction price an hour before they close. So the budget conscious and the cheapos can have their field day. It can also introduce a spilt lunch hour policy or choice in offices (tapau before 1145am and eat in office lor). Think about it. Hawkers like you,too, need to make fair monies for their families, like you seeking a fair salary raise for all your hard work.

Edited by ChaosMyth

I think the most practical is that different size portions for different prices.
But economy rice is hard to put that in play.

It's really tough as a hawker.

I think the most practical is that different size portions for different prices.

But economy rice is hard to put that in play.

It's really tough as a hawker.

all boils down to rental cost and all the other ridiculous charges hawkers are expected to pay  [bigcry]

if they lower their prices during off peak hours...   in a way ... we are also paying premium during peak ...  

but these way ... KF cant get more rent...   [lipsrsealed]

all boils down to rental cost and all the other ridiculous charges hawkers are expected to pay  [bigcry]

It's not really just that.

People just assume that and just want to blame the landlord to simplify things. Yes the current new hawker center charges make it difficult to earn a living, no different from coffeeshop rental actually.

U watch interviews with hawkers at the established govt FC with reasonable rental charges. Even the semi successful ones are earning just enough to get by.

Most people just keep saying it's the landlord so that to justify the cheap prices they are paying. It's actually just dissonance.

The fact is that inflation has not caught on with most hawker center prices.

The older generation will still slog on cos they are used to such lives. But there's a reason why many young hawkers just give up and go back to doing a salaried job.

I think it's safe to say even if u are a deliveryman, u probably earn the same or more as the median hawker.

Karma Suka Jiak Sai?

Why can't give cheaper prices for off peak hours when hawkers are more free..not many customers anyways.

Isnt it better than having "surcharge" when hawkers are already busy or some hawkers do not have many customers even on peak hrs?

Must give chance raise costs again?

It's silly cos ultimately every hawker is a small business, they can do whatever they think is a economically sound decision.

If your chicken wing is nicer than the other stall chicken wing, u charge $2 when people charge $1.5. then people will still buy yours.
But if taste the same or lousier, than u must be goondu haha  [laugh]

he is alway fighting for ways to let hawker earn more.

in a way i support his initial purpose.

if hawker dun earn more, sooner or later we gonna left with fast food...

if they lower their prices during off peak hours...   in a way ... we are also paying premium during peak ...  

but these way ... KF cant get more rent...   [lipsrsealed]

signboard no enough space ...

Lol could be... 

But Dr Leslie has been saying the same thing too, but less strident than KF

he is alway fighting for ways to let hawker earn more.

in a way i support his initial purpose.

if hawker dun earn more, sooner or later we gonna left with fast food...

It's inevitable. 

The margins are too low.

Especially for things like popiah, rojak type of food that people won't want to eat everyday.

Only chicken rice, fishball noodles, economy rice/beehoon, nasi lemak will survive.

The quality will only get worse, cos the margins are no longer worth the extra effort to refine/improve your craft/dishes.

Can see where Seetoh is coming from. He's just speaking up for the hawkers. If we look athe humble beginnings of the hawkers. They just setup shop along the road side with what they have. Then it evolved into kiosk with some stools and maybe a table or two. And then finally they got rounded up into hawker centers. They dont have to pay rent along the roadside. Dont have to lease a kiosk. Dont have to pay for a hawker license. Dont have to pay for food handling course. Dont have to pay for utilities. Just charcoal for cooking and kerosene for the lamp. No need what cleaner service to clear and wipe tables.

Question is why are things not made simple for their startup? Less things to pay. Less admin procedures. Food kiosks can just gather at one place, minimal rental, simple table and stools or some prefer squatting but still need some shelter from the elements. Look at M'sia. But ppl dont dump rubbish on the floor and dirty the place. Going back to humble beginnings. It can keep operation expenses low. Keep food price as what they are. Hygiene and cleaniness standards can still be uphold.

The older generation will still slog on cos they are used to such lives. But there's a reason why many young hawkers just give up and go back to doing a salaried job.

I think it's safe to say even if u are a deliveryman, u probably earn the same or more as the median hawker.

the fact is traditional hawker food very hard to sell higher.

example chicken rice BCM 

in fact 4 buks ppl feel expensive already , 

Its 1 reason why alot of young hawker invent hawker food that sound altas in order to sell at higher price for more profit.

like laksa ramen....

who want to start selling normal laksa for a few buks work from morning to night  even holiday .

and my friend who complain hawker food rising in price, go Q  for that USA burger ( i dun know the name ) that cost almost 10 buks? for 1 burger..

our local food how to survive...

Can see where Seetoh is coming from. He's just speaking up for the hawkers. If we look athe humble beginnings of the hawkers. They just setup shop along the road side with what they have. Then it evolved into kiosk with some stools and maybe a table or two. And then finally they got rounded up into hawker centers. They dont have to pay rent along the roadside. Dont have to lease a kiosk. Dont have to pay for a hawker license. Dont have to pay for food handling course. Dont have to pay for utilities. Just charcoal for cooking and kerosene for the lamp. No need what cleaner service to clear and wipe tables.

Question is why are things not made simple for their startup? Less things to pay. Less admin procedures. Food kiosks can just gather at one place, minimal rental, simple table and stools or some prefer squatting but still need some shelter from the elements. Look at M'sia. But ppl dont dump rubbish on the floor and dirty the place. Going back to humble beginnings. It can keep operation expenses low. Keep food price as what they are. Hygiene and cleaniness standards can still be uphold.

actually the new HCs are a good place to have a meal. Much more airy, more fans.

The traditional FC. 90% of the time, i just dabao even if i have time to sit there and eat.

I went on sat with my kids, maybe cos of weather, the air inside is so smokey, stinging my eyes.

Just dabaoed and left.

example chicken rice BCM 

Its 1 reason why alot of young hawker invent hawker food that sound altas in order to sell at higher price for more profit.

like laksa ramen....

who want to start selling normal laksa for a few buks work from morning to night  even holiday .

and my friend who complain hawker food rising in price, go Q  for that USA burger ( i dun know the name ) that cost almost 10 buks? for 1 burger..

It will survive, but in cheaper and lower quality form lor.

A lot of people don't cook nowadays. So appreciation of how long it takes to prepare something of good quality is diminishing.

Yes, I'd rather be a chef in a restaurant than a hawker right. Ultimately still working the same long hours, same hot and tough environment.

Last time chefs are looked down upon, but celebrity chefs have made it cool.

Who knows a cool hawker? Lol...

actually the new HCs are a good place to have a meal. Much more airy, more fans.

The traditional FC. 90% of the time, i just dabao even if i have time to sit there and eat.

I went on sat with my kids, maybe cos of weather, the air inside is so smokey, stinging my eyes.

Just dabaoed and left.

If we look at the street food around Asia. Ppl need not sit down to eat. Most eat as they walk to look at what other food is available. Food packaging has to evolve from traditional sit down and eat utensil to something more mobile or portable. Dont have to be complicated. Food portion has to reduce for mobility maybe price can lower too but can sell more. We are doing it on pasar malam anyway. Ppl already sit down the whole day in office. Let them walk and sweat a bit. LoL...

example chicken rice BCM 

like laksa ramen....

For me, it's the environment. Some hawker centres are so hot in the afternoon that I will avoid going unless the weather is cool (which is very rare in SG). Most hawkers will tell you their killer is rent and raw materials cost. If want them to survive, it will be better to look into these 2 sources.

ingredient cost? how to reduce. Not possible.

It's market forces given singapore is a net food importer.

Veggies - china and malaysia

Chicken and eggs - MY

Beef - international, likely nz/aussie 

Pork - indonesia

Noodles/wheat - that one mostly made in SG

Rent. The old FCs rent should be relatively stable. but of course the other places then very tough lor. 

If people are not willing to pay more for HC food, it will die a natural death. No need to try to get young people to go into this hard line. Then maybe a few premium hawker food provider would survive to charge 10 bucks for mee pok or Chicken rice.

And we will end up eating home packed sandwiches every lunch. Probably much healthier though. And save time too.