2019/2020! Recession coming

Same reason why people call a change from Camry, Accord class type of cars to puny entry level conti an upgrade.

from camry, accord to entry level conti is like moving from 5-room in suburb to entry condo in Dist 9,10...

Hence, term as upgrade

from camry, accord to entry level conti is like moving from 5-room in suburb to entry condo in Dist 9,10...

Hence, term as upgrade

Imo, the term "upgrade" here is really just a gimmick. It is merely a tradeoff or in some instances I deem it a downgrade. In land scare country, space in itself is a luxury, be it public or private. Not to mention if this space is a movement from prime to outskirts - double downgrade

how to tell? Local or foreign enterprise don't indicate who employs local or FT?

https://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/work-permit-for-foreign-worker/foreign-worker-levy/calculate-foreign-worker-quota

https://www.3ecpa.com.sg/resources/human-resource-immigration/guide-to-calculate-foreign-worker-quota-in-singapore/

just go by the official quota set by mom

or you can be Mustafa and get caught with his pants down

Edited by Staff69

I still don't understand why people upgrade to small EC from 5 room HDB then complain expensive and small space, somemore location always at Seng Kang or Punggol.

They complain so that they can howlian to you that they stay EC mah.....

Unlike people like us, stay hdb, cant complain

I still don't understand why people upgrade to small EC from 5 room HDB then complain expensive and small space, somemore location always at Seng Kang or Punggol.

Aren’t these people slapping themselves in the face?

You all dont anyhow say hor ... where got recession.

MAS say triple profit . Elite giving away hundreds of millions free chicken wings . Property price up up up and away . We are in paradise.

MAS say triple profit . Elite giving away hundreds of millions free chicken wings . Property price up up up and away . We are in paradise. ð

They will even make u die kok stand. ð

when the rich makes 1 to 2 million less..it's catastrophic.

when the poor makes 200 to 300 less ...it's tightening the belt

Edited by Staff69

MAS say triple profit . Elite giving away hundreds of millions free chicken wings . Property price up up up and away . We are in paradise.

From the link:

"... and if that happens it will increase the chance of the central bank easing monetary policy in October"

Check out what is meant by easing monetary policy. It happened during the Lehman's crisis as well.

you guys know of any outdoorsy businesses that can make the owner 10k/month/? (not much by mcf standard i know i know)

just in case.... preparing for early retirenchment

been in IT/tech and there are many IT gigs at that level...  but have spent past 20 years cooped up in office. Love a change

you guys know of any outdoorsy businesses that can make the owner 10k/month/? (not much by mcf standard i know i know)

just in case.... preparing for early retirenchment

been in IT/tech and there are many IT gigs at that level...  but have spent past 20 years cooped up in office. Love a change

be CCB PAP MP

Edited by Mockngbrd

article trying to play down the weakness, but u know things is looking real bad when MAS need to review an already poor forecast of 1.5-2.5% growth for this year

think end of the day, we may be even looking at 1.5% or less liao

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/economy/singapore-economy-in-for-rougher-ride-but-is-well-placed-mas-chief

Singapore to review 2019 growth forecast as trade war bites; weaker Q2 expected: MAS

SINGAPORE (REUTERS, BLOOMBERG) - Singapore policymakers will review a 1.5 to 2.5 per cent economic growth forecast for this year as the United States-China trade war hits investments, trade and manufacturing in the city, central bank chief Ravi Menon said on Thursday (June 27)

The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) expects year-on-year economic growth to be weaker in the second quarter than a decade-low 1.2 per cent achieved in the first quarter due to a global slowdown partly caused by trade tensions, Mr Menon said.

"The Singapore economy is in for a rougher ride but is well placed," Mr Menon said in a speech that accompanied the release of the central bank's annual report.

"We need to be alert but there is no need to be alarmed."

The review of Singapore's economic growth forecast comes after Maybank Kim Eng Research said earlier that the country's economy will probably experience a "shallow technical recession" in the third quarter as the global trade outlook worsens.

The escalating US-China trade conflict is weighing on Singapore's export-reliant economy, which Maybank expects will grow 1.3 per cent this year, down from a previous projection of 1.6 per cent and lower than the Government's forecast range of 1.5 to 2.5 per cent.

"Disruptions to the supply chain will likely intensify as the trade war broadens to tech and the US imposes export controls on more Chinese tech firms," Maybank economists Chua Hak Bin and Lee Ju Ye said in a note.

The slump in exports has hit manufacturing, which contracted more than expected in May, data on Wednesday showed. The outlook for electronics, which make up 27 per cent of factory output, is particularly weak since US export controls may hit chipmakers like Broadcom Inc and Intel Corp, which operate in Singapore, Maybank said.

A recession is defined as two consecutive quarters of negative quarter-on-quarter growth, and if that happens, it will increase the chance of the central bank easing monetary policy in October, the economists said. The MAS, which uses the exchange rate as its main tool, left its policy settings unchanged in April.

MAS and the Ministry of Trade and Industry, which are reviewing their growth forecast range for the year, could not yet say whether it will be revised to even lower than the current 1.5 to 2.5 per cent estimate, Mr Menon told reporters during the Thursday release of the central bank's annual report.

A fresh figure will have to wait at least until second-quarter economic data are fully collected through July, Mr Edward Robinson, MAS' chief economist, said at the same event.

From the link:

"... and if that happens it will increase the chance of the central bank easing monetary policy in October"

Check out what is meant by easing monetary policy. It happened during the Lehman's crisis as well.

INT going down ?  [rolleyes]

when the rich makes 1 to 2 million less..it's catastrophic.

when the poor makes 200 to 300 less ...it's tightening the belt

INT going down ? [rolleyes]

SS now going at crazy price ....... [:|]

I know, every month for no good reason increase by 1k.

Better than robbing