More beneficial to learn a skill than to count on degree?

Lethalstrike

Let's say you're in your late 40s, degree holder, management role, still have 2 schooling kids, sole bread winner for the family. One fine day kanna retrenched. Still need to put food on the table, drive Grab / Taxi to make ends meet.

I know that the usual response to the above is that by 40s, he should have set aside a sum of money for such situations and he should also be able to tap on his network of work contacts to secure another role.

Let's assume that this person took time to develop a tradesman skill a few years back (cooking, electrician, plumber, hair dressing etc), will it put him in a better situation to start a small business on his own to earn a livelihood?

In Singapore, assuming you're a rank and file office goon, once you are asked to leave during your late 40s or 50s, the chances of you getting a similar role back is close to nil anyway.

Definitely. Put to use a skill and make $$ out of it

In fact going on to be an instructor would also put food on the table. Case in point , over the years have attained a few train the trainer certs In:

7 habits

BCLS

CPR/AED

And a few other skills like Drone , python, etc.. short courses

You never know when these come in handy

Definitely. Put to use a skill and make $$ out of it

In fact going on to be an instructor would also put food on the table. Case in point , over the years have attained a few train the trainer certs In:

7 habits

BCLS

CPR/AED

And a few other skills like Drone , python, etc.. short courses

You never know when these come in handy

You can start class train:

@dafttrue

@cscbb

@alfalove

And one more can’t remember..think t(he)y will sure cum

Edited by BenTong

You can start class train:

@dafttrue

@cscbb

@alfalove

And one more canât remember..

Lol

Unteachable la

From how they post here

Too many more

Let's say you're in your late 40s, degree holder, management role, still have 2 schooling kids, sole bread winner for the family. One fine day kanna retrenched. Still need to put food on the table, drive Grab / Taxi to make ends meet.

I know that the usual response to the above is that by 40s, he should have set aside a sum of money for such situations and he should also be able to tap on his network of work contacts to secure another role.

Let's assume that this person took time to develop a tradesman skill a few years back (cooking, electrician, plumber, hair dressing etc), will it put him in a better situation to start a small business on his own to earn a livelihood?

In Singapore, assuming you're a rank and file office goon, once you are asked to leave during your late 40s or 50s, the chances of you getting a similar role back is close to nil anyway.

Every year the are at least 3000 Accountancy grads from our local unis, not counting ACCAs and Private unis n foreign grads ..takin dis an example add on the bizness mgt n biz ad grads.. sg over the years produce so many “management” and admin ppl.. nowadays with Huawei where need so many human..

N skills future unfortunately only applies for those 25-35 maybe can use.. above tat a bit Susah coz got very no experience who want.. looks like gotta sell body wash car with TOP off..

Bottomline is Wife must work. Sole breadwinner is too stressful.

What skill can earn money? Not easy to compete with professional...

Photography can earn money? Who wants to hire part time wedding photographer ?

Edited by Wind30

That’s why I tell the young ones with a diploma, start work first, gain experience and add to your job experience and contact base

Paper comes later

That said , that dafttrue has truth in things he said but I wun go down the path that he took to run people down saying, stubborn, etc

I would offer resistance to change and that they are comfy and unwilling to relearn

So to that dumbfark, I say again, you engage me and try and malign me thru Pm. Grow some EQ for farks sake and dun think you are gods given to teach others

@alfalove

That means you

Open a studio or do freelance

You not into drones? Landscape and the works is a growing area

I’m approaching 50 but I fear not as I have contingency plans to tide me well into my years

Wah.... admin also tio PM zurg rush ð³

Lol

Daily sermon hahahah

Had a friend giving up his setup

Pm me if u keen to consider takeover

That’s why I tell the young ones with a diploma, start work first, gain experience and add to your job experience and contact base

Paper comes later

That said , that dafttrue has truth in things he said but I wun go down the path that he took to run people down saying, stubborn, etc

I would offer resistance to change and that they are comfy and unwilling to relearn

So to that dumbfark, I say again, you engage me and try and malign me thru Pm. Grow some EQ for farks sake and dun think you are gods given to teach others

@alfalove

That means you

Open a studio or do freelance

You not into drones? Landscape and the works is a growing area

I’m approaching 50 but I fear not as I have contingency plans to tide me well into my years

What? Yet to put 5 big candles on the cake? Or approaching 50 again izzit? Nebermind lah, your first time experience will tide you over nicely. Kekeke

Sori sori... premeri too only...no know how to sell poperly

Happy five day

Edited by mersaylee

Some funny comments lol.

The other day my usual electrician (in his late 60s) was telling me he is still receiving a lot of jobs nowadays as most people don't know how to handle simple tasks like changing out a wall switch themselves. Even with YouTube nowadays, lots of tasks can be learnt online but people probably rather pay a small sum to let others do it (due to time constraints, laziness, or the lack of interest to DIY).

I'm happy that this elderly gentleman can still make a simple livelihood for himself, just because he has a skillset.

• Praise 10

Some funny comments lol.

The other day my usual electrician (in his late 60s) was telling me he is still receiving a lot of jobs nowadays as most people don't know how to handle simple tasks like changing out a wall switch themselves. Even with YouTube nowadays, lots of tasks can be learnt online but people probably rather pay a small sum to let others do it (due to time constraints, laziness, or the lack of interest to DIY).

I'm happy that this elderly gentleman can still make a simple livelihood for himself, just because he has a skillset.

For me, it’s more about keeping that fellow employed. If I know a good tradesman but if I can do it myself, may not let him do it and also earn from it?

Lol

Daily sermon hahahah

Had a friend giving up his setup

Pm me if u keen to consider takeover

Photography gear? I got lots of gear :)

Anyway, I think most managers also has technical skills.... but going back to from people management to engineer is not easy...

But probably better than grab driver.

Best is double breadwinner and Low commitments... even if two school going kids, not that stressed even if one spouse loses job.

Some funny comments lol.

Just like plumber and ac repair man...not difficult to troubleshoot faulty part but the part replacement can be laborious...I’ve changed out the ceiling light mounting twice myself and my neck sore for a week...

Some funny comments lol.

i remember seeing this app that allows you to call for a plumber or electrician on demand.. but it seems to not take off very well.

my point is, tradesman skills may be something to fall back on now for that extra pocket money but we never know if another UBER or GrabFood will take over this gap.

best is to diversify the skillsets