Why keep ICs of military personnel?

kobayashiGT

Why keep ICs of military personnel?

sources: https://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/why-keep-ics-of-military-personnel

bp_forum2_100619_21.jpg?itok=EiTRy2yZ&ti

Currently, upon enlistment for national service, full-time national servicemen (NSFs) in Singapore are required to surrender their identity card (IC) and are issued with a military IC, also known as the 11B, for their stint.

Those who have chosen to work in the military service as regulars are also subject to this requirement.

As a result, they do not get to see or use their ICs until they retire from the service.

It is a common practice for companies to issue their own identification passes to their staff. However, the use of such passes is restricted to only the companies concerned.

Likewise, the military IC should ideally be used only within military services.

The retention of the IC has resulted in military personnel using their military ICs for private purposes, such as to collect passports, open a bank account or enter a condominium as a visitor.

Why do these private individuals need to identify themselves as military personnel when the situation does not call for it?

They need to have their privacy, too, as to where they work.

The reasons for retaining the ICs of NSFs and regulars are not publicly known.

The Ministry of Defence should review the objectives of retaining the IC and do away with this requirement if there are no serious implications to doing so.

This will help to reduce the administrative work of safe-keeping and returning the ICs.

Military personnel, particularly the regulars, will also be able to keep and use them when necessary without having to identify themselves as military personnel.

- Goh Kian Huat

During my time, when I am a full-time NS man, i think the surrendering of IC mark as another jorney to my life. I personally don't think having an IC or 11B will affect the regular life. He can still apply credit card using his 11B. But I have a question here for the regular, so when you reached the age of 30, when you need to change IC hor, you will still go and make the IC but you don't get to see the new IC right? haha.  This one i think bo hua. govt ask you pay the $20 for nothing. haha.

yeah, free.  ^_^

No one tell me when i was in NSF le? If not should go and enjoy the free benefit given?!  [laugh]  But during NSF that time, no fall sick lo, but after NSF, fall sick often.  [sweatdrop]

Only free for polyclinic. If you go polyclinic to report sick most likely you won't get an MC and the waiting time is super long.

think nowadays NSFs can have unlimited MC...

Only free for polyclinic. If you go polyclinic to report sick most likely you won't get an MC and the waiting time is super long.

True also, polyclinic difficult to get MC unless you are really sick. This apply to all.   [:p]

Yes indeed 11B is free all the way medical including Govt Specialist Hospitals, good time to get good check up's and collect lots of extra medicines for the family  :D , also duty free beer in those good old days at NCO club and discounted movie tickets (nowadays no more No Free List movies pay only like $2/-) 

Anyway Govt hold for that 2 year period is govt responsibility also to return back too the Original IC, I don't see whats the problem about it     

Yes indeed 11B is free all the way medical including Govt Specialist Hospitals, good time to get good check up's and collect lots of extra medicines for the family  :D , also duty free beer in those good old days at NCO club and discounted movie tickets (nowadays no more No Free List movies pay only like $2/-) 

Anyway Govt hold for that 2 year period is govt responsibility also to return back too the Original IC, I don't see whats the problem about it     

Wasted that i should have go to extract all my wisdom tooth back then. If dental also got free.

Yeah lor. Do this kinda extra military IC waste time waste money.

At the same time reduce the NS to 1 year and ICT to 5 years. All these will also save money at this difficult times. We are not at war or potentially at war with anyone. If the govt cant give proper benefits and allowance for full time NSF then give ppl shorter service to fulfil. We have been over the difficult years and become the wolrd's most expensive city. It's time to make changes for the better.

Wasted that i should have go to extract all my wisdom tooth back then. If dental also got free.

wisdom tooth? my time, most NSFs go extract at the dental centre in the army. Must be buddy with medic so that can try to schedule Monday apt instead of Friday appt.