Worth it to sell 5 year old car (with high COE) and buy new

Wolverine23

May have missed the discussion

What is ur car model? to lose 90k over 3 years?

3 year old car with high coe should still have decent resale value

If paper value is 73K, cant be that highest offer only at 79k for a 3 year old car. Its essentially buying at "cost" for the buyer and very low risk because buyer can scrap the car anytime with little depr at that price even after 1-2 years of driving compared to ur 30k depr/year

Agree with bros here that if u are downgrading it may make sense and not switching to similar makes. 

sorry was typo. 80k over 3.3 years. Still couldn't stomach the loss then.

honda accord.

well it's a car with low numbers on singapore roads. The ones selling then on sgcarmart were just a bit higher as well and they been listed for quite a number of months the last i checked.

Thanks for the numbers output.

I guess for me, it's more about want.

I'm quite happy driving my car though i wish it's a TC instead of NA engine. Won't have much issues driving it until 8-9th year mark (can't say until 10 cos my dad's accord started giving some minor problems at 8 year mark).

Yes it's either change soon or hold it until the next low COE break which may only come another 5 years time. But worst case i may just buy an older car then wait for COE to come down again.

ultimately any B&B car will do 95% of the time. Hence it's more of the subjective and intangibles lol.

one qn :

do u 'love' ur current ride?:)

one qn :

do u 'love' ur current ride?:)

Other than the torque and that its not a wagon and don't have 6 seats at times. Yeah I do enjoy driving it lol

then no reason to change unless its not financially sustainable,

unless there is ano model with the same love and still financially sustainable after changing

thats my take

hope answer to TS too......

above in essence about car ownership decision in sillypore....

then no reason to change unless its not financially sustainable,

unless there is ano model with the same love and still financially sustainable after changing

thats my take

hope answer to TS too......

above in essence about car ownership decision in sillypore....

Not driving the premium brands cars. So all is financially sustainable.

Will do some test driving later this year, if got feeling then see how  [laugh] maybe even a kodiaq  [:p]

If looking for B&B cars, i find no cars that really attracted buyer out there currently to buy now le.

avante too ugly right  [laugh] 

I would probably pick a shuttle hybrid that ticks the most boxes (other than not sure if it has 6 airbags)

aiyo that is y they are classified as b & b mah...

if so, the kodiaq wa group awaits u:)

Civic is the only B&B car I can accept...

1.5 tc or 1.6 na?

bring ur audi to kah, first nego the best net purchase price for the civic

then show them ur audi and ask how much best they can take in

then open up ur excel spreadsheet fill in that number and voila, all the financial numbers for your sale and purchase wld be computed then only will know is it worth it to sell 5 year old car (with high COE) and buy new:)

1.5 tc or 1.6 na?

bring ur audi to kah, first nego the best net purchase price for the civic

then show them ur audi and ask how much best they can take in

then open up ur excel spreadsheet fill in that number and voila, all the financial numbers for your sale and purchase wld be computed then only will know is it worth it to sell 5 year old car (with high COE) and buy new:)

1.6. If want to be economically, go for the cheaper one already...otherwise, dont change... although the 1.5T is a little tempting

sorry was typo. 80k over 3.3 years. Still couldn't stomach the loss then.

honda accord.

well it's a car with low numbers on singapore roads. The ones selling then on sgcarmart were just a bit higher as well and they been listed for quite a number of months the last i checked.

https://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/pricelist/13/2019-06-20.pdf

accord now comes with 1.5TC?

no matter high coe or paper value

we driver sure die one

2 over years old...lost 50%

3 over years old...lost 65%

5 years old...lost 70%

6,7,8 years old ... was given paper plus body

no matter what we drivers are milk dry by lta and dealer  :yeah-im-not-drunk:

avante too ugly right  [laugh] 

I would probably pick a shuttle hybrid that ticks the most boxes (other than not sure if it has 6 airbags)

Ya, i find avante not very nice.  [laugh]  I also find shuttle also not nice. Both avante and shuttle looks like spaceship.  [grin]

That's the reason why everyone is trying to catch the lowest. Tio lowest ho seh...happily drive it for 10 yrs.

That's why I say living in Spore jin stressful.

no matter high coe or paper value

we driver sure die one

2 over years old...lost 50%

3 over years old...lost 65%

5 years old...lost 70%

6,7,8 years old ... was given paper plus body

no matter what we drivers are milk dry by lta and dealer  :yeah-im-not-drunk:

That's the reason why everyone is trying to catch the lowest. Tio lowest ho seh...happily drive it for 10 yrs.

That's why I say living in Spore jin stressful.

so far my luckiest friend got the lowest at thousand plus  :inlove:

drive 10 years and renew some more cos low mileage  [drivingcar]

SiBay Heng lor  [thumbsup]