COE Bidding – 2nd Round of July 2019

Carbon82

Agreed, because 人比人 气死人. Just buy within your means and enjoy.

haha yeah. sake got a lot of means heh 

Actually I kind of agree with you.

We stay in a old heartland condo and I take great pains to explain to my young kids it’s nothing to talk about. The only thing we value is the security and the convenience of a swimming pool downstairs. So I would argue it’s nothing opulent :)

Actually younger kids don't really care about this lah tbh.

I think maybe upper primary or sec school then they start to be more conscious.

It depends how deep is your pocket.

Most importantly, I love driving my 11 months old car with my family.

My family loves it.

By the way, I don't gamble, drink and smoke.

My HDB flat has fully paid.

Did you see our policy makers travel to office by public transport?

They have got unlimited amount of money and perks...we don't

I am just saying that without owning a car, you will be far richer than it is now...  [laugh]

I think just think twice about buying your young child a performance car. Whether what brand doesn't really matter.

Like buying a young son, a high powered RWD vehicle or GTR lol  ...  -_-

U can also argue also that premium brand vehicle likely have better crash test rating than a B&B car.

I think just think twice about buying your young child a performance car. Whether what brand doesn't really matter.

U can also argue also that premium brand vehicle likely have better crash test rating than a B&B car.

Performance  / high power car like GTR, fully agreed, the inexperience driver should not handle it as they may not know how to control it. 

Ermm... Altis scored 5 star NCAP, BMW 3 series also 5 star NCAP

U mean they are difference between the 5 stars? One for asian cars one for American/Euro cars?

Ermm... 216i=performance car?! [laugh]

U mean they are difference between the 5 stars? One for asian cars one for American/Euro cars?

216 is NOT performance, but a safe basic car. That's why it was chosen.

Yeah. But it's only the Auris hor. Not altis hehe.

Then people will say whether u want to be in german sheet metal or thai sheet metal?

B&B cars have come a long way no doubt.

But 99% of people will still think I'd rather be in a BMW for a crash, rather than toyota right? 

? I said 216 is built well, but not fast. So safe lor... Read properly first lah.

People really shouldn't waste their money and spoil their kids.

They will just grow up to be brats.

Better to pass the money to grown ups like me who is already spoilt.

216 is NOT performance, but a safe basic car. That's why it was chosen.

haha easier to drive also. Higher up, good visibility. I've sat in my friend's one.

Easier to drive than sedan.

Though world's easiest car to drive is Jazz. haha when driving, seem like u are just surrounded by windows  [laugh]

haha easier to drive also. Higher up, good visibility. I've sat in my friend's one.

Easier to drive than sedan.

Though world's easiest car to drive is Jazz. haha when driving, seem like u are just surrounded by windows  [laugh]

we also tried Mini. the 216 felt much safer.

Oh mini no lah. 

I think as a class, subcompact SUV is a good size to drive around for ladies. higher vantage point but not too big to worry them during parking.

[thumbsup]

we were looking around for a car and wife settled for the BMW 216 Active Tourer.

she chose the Bmw over Mini, Merc and other Jap/Korean makes as she felt it was more suitable for our 18 yr old girl to drive when she gets her license.  nothing to do with badge/status.

why is a bmw more suitable for a 18 year old girl as compared to other cars? 

see @Lala81 's posts above. my wife shares his sentiments and views.

Edited by sake

I still rem my dad used to have a 5MT Hipporolla 1.6 My sis drove it after she got a licence

Back then no such things as Class 3A. If U can't handle a stick, u fail.. LOL And no reverse sensor too. It was an extra cost option that we don't see the need to have it. ANd of cos no rev cam. 

It surely separated us real men and women from current corps of new drivers who can't drive with rev cam, 360deg cam, blind spot detection, auto brake, lane departure warning etc...  [laugh]  [:p]

They have got unlimited amount of money and perks...we don't

I am just saying that without owning a car, you will be far richer than it is now... [laugh]

You are right. There are so many rich men in Singapore without a car.

Haha yes. I want to be rich so I can drive nice car, not rich because I don’t drive a car.